We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel over New Year, the Hogmany package. 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast and also 2 days skiing. Will not discuss the skiing other than this was resolved very quickly. The hotel where do I start. I have read many of the reviews and you get what you paid for is so untrue. We asked to not be put in the annexe. Guess where we were put? Yes in the annexe. The room was up on the third floor with no lift! The bath panel in the room was hanging off and the bathroom had not been cleaned. Previous guests had left a deposit in the toilet! The room smelt very musty and the bedding was the same. We had to pay a supplement as there were 3 of us. The third person was placed in a room on their own that would only fit a single bed. Why the supplement had to be paid I do not know. Waited ages to be served in the restaurant and also had to ask if we could order drinks. Did notice the manager of the hotel having a meal at the same time as us and on one occasion had a least 3 people serving his table. Good customer service for him then. When we eventually received our evening meal the waitress dragged her serving cloth through my husband's meal. No apology and my husband subsequently was poorly the next day. The staff were so unfriendly, unhelpful and so disinterested. We arrived on Sunday 30th December and returned home the next day. My husband went to the reception desk on the Monday and asked if we could pay our bill and the person behind the desk never showed any interest or questioned as to why we were booking out early. I have contacted the hotel on a couple of occasions and I have now had to contact the Head Office. Needless to say I am still waiting for a reply.
The hotel is definitely in need of updating and I would not rank this as a 2 star. And yes as I have previously said you get what you paid for but this was poor beyond belief. Do not stay here.
Oh yes and a message to the Director it would help if you got back to people that complained rather than hide your head in the sand

Room Tip: Do not bother with any of them. Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    290
    223
    97
    96
See reviews for
166
352
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed 3 nights,whilst participating in Ben Nevis rocks, perfect location to enjoy concert, close enough to walk into town and convenient for meet to trek the mountain. Very comfortable, room was spacious and we requested ground floor, accommodated our large German shepherd well enjoyed the view of Ben Nevis from bed, although only saw summit very briefly due to mist. Food could have been better, breakfasts good. Excellent value, managed to get good deal. Didn't get the opportunity to use the pool and spa but looked very welcoming. Would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here for a 3 night break DB+B with my hubby who was doing a 2 day winter skills course. I booked direct using the hotels website and got a fantastic deal which included a bottle of bubbly on arrival. The hotel is about 1 mile from the town centre on the road to Inverness. Our room was a good size and very clean with a comfortable double bed. The bathroom had a great power shower over the bath. No real views to speak of as only the rooms at the front look out to Ben Nevis. The modern leisure suite at the hotel is excellent with a well equiped gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Fantastic after a day out hiking or hill walking. Dinner was an excellent three courses which changed every night of our stay. The buffet breakfast was the best that I have had for a very long time with a very good continental selection and a cooked breakfast on offer. (Try the Stornoway black pudding and Locharber Game Pork sausages - fantastic). The only downside I found is that the decor in the hotel and in the bedrooms is a bit worn and dated. I also found the noise from the corridor and the bathrooms adjoining our bedroom a bit noisy, also the TV in our room was too small and Wifi is only available in the lounge/bar area. All the staff were friendly and welcoming - but hats off to the cleaning staff the place was spotless - well done guys!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to Ben Nevis
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G-Carlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Had 3 nights here across Hogmanay and had a good time.
Rooms are OK although we did feel as if we were miles away from reception staying in room 527 which is the furthest room from the main bar etc.
Dined in the hotel one of the nights and the food was very good. The spa area is also very good along with a very nice and clean reception and bar area.
There is free wi-fi for reception and bar area only and we felt that it should really cover the rooms also.
The bar prices were OK also and the entertainment on the two holiday nights was very Scottish. Ceilidh isn't my favourite form of entertainment but it wasn't too bad.

The staff were very polite and courteous throughout our stay

It does need a little TLC around the hotel, for instance, carpets, showers, toilet doors not closing properly etc. We stayed here three years ago and it certainly hasn't been looked at since then!!

Overall 14 out of 20

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, otherwise its a wee walk from reception, especially if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southboundman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed for three nights over New Year and thought overall it was good value for money with the food being particularly good.The pool was very good but feel for us perhaps a games room with pool and table tennis would have been better for us as a family. As usual the weather was a bit grim but cannot blame the hotel for that.

Room Tip: Try for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed here for two nights, week before Xmas. We had decided to bring our dog along and go walking. The hotel was nice, agree it needs a spruce up but we took into account the food which was plentiful and very good, the fact that its pet friendly, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is near the town centre and the pool and spa were excellent for relaxing after a long day out in the cold. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road can get noisy but the road quiets down during the night. For the price we paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed here 4 days couldn't say anything bad about the place other than needs a spruce up . There is a pool and jacuzzi and a small gym all modern equipment in gym and clean . Also wifi but only in bar outside resturant area

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
796 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing