We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stuck in the 1980's - but prices up to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel stuck in the 1980's - but prices up to date!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in urgent need of an upgrade - right down to the threadbare carpets and stale unpleasant odours in corridors and rooms. Keeping the window open for some good air means very loud noise from a busy road and even busier carpark. Staff did not make up for the really dated atmosphere - Only the housekeeping staff were very polite and friendly, waiting staff and reception surly and unhelpful though. When I stepped out of the shower I discovered there was no hairdryer in the room - when phoning the reception, rather than apologising and bringing one up I was told I had to go down and pay a £5 deposit to get one!

Definitely not value for money.

The area is so beautiful, it is a shame that this really let's it down.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are part way through a refurbishment programme at present, which our Head Office sets for the whole Group; it does include new bathrooms, windows, TVs, bedroom furniture etc.

This unfortunately does take time and even more expense practically as we have over 700 bedrooms as a Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    298
    229
    106
    104
See reviews for
175
366
52
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Spent 4 Nights, Dinner ,Bed and Breakfast with a Group of 17 from Aird Tong Isle of Lewis this week ,all elderly and some Disabled ,we cannot praise Hotel Staff enough ,went out of their way to meet all our needs . Dinner fantastic ,also Breakfast ,dining room Staff lovely especially all the young waiters ,so efficient ,always had a smile for us .
Very nice Leisure Club ,some of us used Pool and Jacuzzi every day ,we all came away saying ,yes we will book for our next holiday

Room Tip: Book early especially rooms for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Good to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. Looking forward to looking after you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here 3 weeks ago at the end of August.
It was a bit of a last minute booking for somewhere like Fort William.
Picked if I'm honest, purely on it's price.
Hotel is about 1 mile from the town centre so I decided just to walk there. Receptionists at check in were lovely and gave me all the information I'd need for my stay including leisure facilities.
Our room was a good size plenty of space to spread out and had a nice seating area to relax with a cup of tea after my journey.
Dinner in the restaurant that night was lovely. Was a bit disappointed in the soup but not a huge complaint really. Five of us ate and don't think there were any complaints. Staff were extremely patient as we did drag on a bit after service had finished.
Plenty of selection at breakfast the next morning and help yourself to the bits you like. Ideal.
All in cant really find anything to complain about. As far as Fort William in August goes this place was a bargain and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Good to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here last night with my wife and had a great time. We hadn't booked we just turned up whilst out driving and the staff were very welcoming to us. We were given a great room which was clean, comfy and had a great view of Ben Nevis. We then took full advantage of the leisure facilities, and were very relaxed afterwards. dinner in the restaurant was lovely and the staff really nice, the same as breakfast this morning. This is a great hotel with friendly staff and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay we really appreciate it. Hope to be able to look after you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

To start this review will not be positive. This hotel was part of my CIE tour which stated superior first class hotels. I didn’t think first class meant 1 star hotel. If CIE listens to the other 47 people on our bus they will be dropping this hotel. My room was very old and smelt like wet carpet. Paint was peeling off the walls and ceiling in the very small bathroom. No vanity to put bath inessentials on, no luggage rack for suit case. The view from my small room was of a flat roof, outside fire stairs and more of the hotel on the other side of the roof. Good thing the downstairs lounge area was nice I spent my time there until I was tired enough to just sleep. They did make out as I did leave a very nice night dress there so I am in hopes it went to a clothing charity and not a housekeeper’s drawer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvmuffin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your comments. As you will see from our pervious replies the Hotel does have a refurbishment programme that we are part way through, hence the half painted external wall seen in a couple of your pictures.

Unfortunately, as with all Hotels, some rooms will be at the side or rear of the property and not have a view.

If you would like to contact our Reception Team with a description of the nightdress that you left behind, they will be able to confirm if it is the one we found and have in our lost property. If it is will have it posted to your home address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed 7 nights had fantastic time, room looked straight on to Ben Nevis range, breakfast was brill good choice of food and the service was excellent. We walked into fort William took about 20 mins. Also on direct road to all other beauty spots. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room cleaned every. leisure centre was great, lovely pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Had 1 evening meal here was very nice. Bar food is available but we didn't try.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room looks over mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stantons1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Good to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed here for two nights before and after climbing Ben Nevis for Scottish Huntington's Association. Breakfasts are buffet style with a wide range on offer and plentiful tea/coffee and toast. Evening meals are 3 course set menus. We had a spacious twin room in the annexe which was a bit of a walk from the main hotel and unfortunately there was no lift. We weren't bothered by any traffic noise but did hear the couple in the next room talking. We used the swimming pool and jacuzzi which were good, especially after a long day hiking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazaspooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.

Hope you raised plenty of money for Scottish Huntington's Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing