We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pieceful little break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pieceful little break”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a two night weekend stay at the Ben Nevis Hotel.
We found the staff friendly and polite, we ate in both bar and main restaurant and the food was very good and not expensive.
Ample car parking available very close to the rooms.
Twin room was clean, well laid out and the beds were comfortable so that we'd a restful sleep both nights.
The leisure club looked nice and clean but I didn't get a chance to make use of unfortunately.
There are a lot of areas of the hotel showing their age but my opinion is that the management are focusing on maintaining key health and safety, hygiene and comfort areas as priority. Some worn stair carpets and window frame flaky paint are examples of work needed, although there was some roofing work in progress when we were guests so evident maintenance is operating.
I reported at reception desk that I'd a very small water leak weeping from fittings under the sink in our room. I was impressed at the immediate response of two suited gentlemen standing nearby who shot away to investigate. When we later returned to the room the leak was fixed.
We only have one complaint, we were disappointed with a starter of chicken pakora in the bar restaurant which comprised three tiny thumb sized pieces of pakora with a drizzle of salad leaves. Price was £5.50, it looked worth about £1. We were gobsmacked when we saw the starter. To balance the criticism the main course was good portion and food quality good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRankinDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We do indeed have a referbishment programme, which is set by our Head Office, however we deal with the small day to day items in house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    290
    223
    97
    96
See reviews for
166
352
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed for two nights last weekend. Really nice situation. Staff extremely helpful. Leisure facilities are ok. Decor was a bit dated and needing a wee bit tlc. Piped music was very dated. Food was really nice and reasonable prices. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Booked a room with a view of Ben Nevis but unfortunately the weather meant we never actually saw it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you stay with us. It's good to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that we have the pleasure in being able to look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The perfect stop-over for us on our trip to the Highlands. Best night's sleep in ages as bed so comfortable and room clean and warm. The Leisure club with good gym and swimming pool/jacuzzi, provided a relaxing place to unwind after a long journey and the restaurant and bar offered good quality meals without the need to leave the hotel in the evening. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: our room was toward the back but still had a view of the Loch--the staff try and' spread' gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gradmum26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a view on your stay with. It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can look after you again some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend here.

The leisure facilities are excellent and a great place to relax. Our room was nice and cosy with great views of the mountain. Food was excellent apart from the sausages at breakfast which were off :( We received a complimentary bottle of wine and a pass to visit Treasures of the Earth - which was interesting and something we probably would not have visited.

All in all great value for money and we will be returning the next time we fancey a wee break away,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeljimmys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have taken note of your comments and have already, as you know, taken action.

We hope that we are able to look after you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just got back from a 4 day stay hear and found it to be excellent value for money the food was brilliant and we stayed in a very large family room with views of the mountains it's lovely and quiet at night . It's only 10 minutes from the nevis range where the skiing was fab! I'd definitely recommend this hotel especially for skiers .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMSRME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed you time with us and thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Staff friendly and helpful.Breakfast buffet.Waiter brings your tea/coffee and toast.Plenty choices fruits ,cerials,juices and hot food...always kept hot.Hotel is kept spotless.From the rooms to the swimming pool.Dinner meals are well presented and delicious.I thought this was a 5 star,and we have stayed in many hotels all over the world.I have no doubts about recommending this hotel.Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 104 ground floor near restaurant.Round the corner from leisure facilities.Very quiet overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed you time with us and thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel has no redeeming features with the exception of the mostly young, inexperienced, and innocent staff.

The corridors are dirty, damp and smelly. The room was threadbare and grubby (the bed linen, towels were clean or I would have left). I had to push through 10 doors to reach Reception/Dining Room. I left all of my food bar the soup as it was of very poor quality. Even the self-service breakfast items were cold.

In my room the TV didn't work, the shower was faulty, the single glazing allowed all the, considerable, road noise from the main road to keep me awake.

I spent a miserable night in this hotel and I'll never go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Alantstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we offer our sincere apologies. If you would like to contact us direct so that we can discuss the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing