We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like very average, two and a half.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More like very average, two and a half.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

An initial nice welcome from reception staff, lead us to our family room. It was a little small to be kind only 3 of in the room. All of the fixtues and fittings were very tired looking, the shower was a standout as the water leaked out of the bath taps and shower head simultaneously, making washing tricky border line dangerous. The beds and bedding we're musty and uncomfortable. The sleeping arrangements did not allow for much other sleeping due to the close proximity of the beds and lack of any separation. On the plus side the leisure facilities were really good with a nice sized pool suitable for adults wanting a proper swim or for the kids including smaller children. Had a meal in the bar food was of a reasonable standard however a little pricey 2 adult meals and 1 childs meal over £30. All in all dated and wished I'd shopped around.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mcwhinnies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you stay with us. You may have seen from pervious replies we have made that we do have a rolling refurbishment programme in place which will address the issues you raise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    290
    223
    97
    96
See reviews for
166
352
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We recently stayed there with a large group of friends and could nt complain about the service or the standard of the meals.the hotel is in a great location for touring the area. Some of our group were in a lower standard room but we had paid the extra for an upgrade ,well worth it!
Parts of the hotel were a little tired and dated but as a base for touring it was ideal and value for money.
A coach party of Australian tourists stayed at the same time, I doubt if they had been in a 5 star resort they would have been any happier!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, we really do appreciate it. We hope that we can look after you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is not exactly an up to date top price hotel, that does not mean it is awful or not worth the stay. I was part of a large group I found the staff welcoming friendly and helpful my room was a single it had tv ( not flat screen not wall mounted but it had a remote and it worked) and coffee/tea with a good adequate clean comfortable. Half board breakfast was very good choice and dinner was very good, serving hot food on hot plates with a reasonable choice regarding dietary needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAl1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

You may have seen from pervious replies we have made that we do have a refurbishment programme in place, unfortunately due to the size of Hotel we are, it does take many years to complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Carpet thread bare on stairs, stain on bedspread and sheets, missing bits from taps, carpet and skirting board filthy behind door. Travelling with tour group, husband and I were told we would have to have twin room as no doubles, 5 single travellers all had double rooms. The bar did not have enough chairs for all patrons. Dinner and breakfast was delicious. Tv and light not working in our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, may we offer our apologies to you as we did not come up to the grade that you expected.

As you may have seen from previous replies we have made, we do have a refurbishment programme in place, which in time will see TVs replaced, bathrooms refitted etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

I was really looking forward to a few days away and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights over Easter weekend. I wasn't disappointed.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room was available when we arrived (even though this was about an hour and a half before the designated check-in time.

Other than breakfast, we only had one meal in the bar (lunch) which was very good, large portions and handy for me by specifying which dishes are gluten-free. Breakfast was great. A large choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastries, rolls etc and cooked breakfast, as much as you wanted.

I would agree with some of the other reviews that the décor could do with being updated. Some of the carpets in the corridors are almost worn through and the walls could do with a lick of paint.

Parking is not a problem and we were able to park easily with the car right underneath the room window. Our room was facing the mountains which was a lovely view and the bed was huge.
The bathroom was fairly small - The only problem was that the shower went hot & cold (possibly when others using taps etc nearby?)
Wi-fi connection in the hotel wasn't great.


We used the leisure club facilities twice during our stay and loved it. The gym is well equipped, very well air conditioned and the pool lovely. The leisure club staff were friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room looking towards the mountains, obviously closer to main road but were were not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suisaidh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking them time to post a review of your recent stay with us, we really do appreciate it. Hope that we can look after you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We weren't sure what to expect because of the mixed reviews on trip advisor. But we were pleasantly surprised.

Parking was easy on arrival and the main reception felt very traditionally Scottish, tartan carpet and dark wooden furniture and a lovely revolving door. Although it wasn't very modern I quite enjoyed the charm of the place.

The hallways are quite 80's in appearance and the room was quite dated too. However the room size was massive and it was clean and full of storage, so if you forget the design aspect and look at it from a practical point of view it fits the bill perfectly.

It also has a lovely indoor pool, which is clean and quite modern. The jacuzzi was lovely and a great place to unwind. My boyfriend did get a little obsessed with the steam and sauna rooms, there was also a small gym which we didnt use but it looked well equipped.

Having free access to the Leisure facilities really made this stay for us, its a great was to wake up before a days snowboading on the slopes.

The breakfast wasn't of high quality but there was a good selection of a full scottish buffet, pastries and fruit. And I ate a lot of it, so it can't have been that bad.

There was WiFi but only in the main reception, it would have been better if we could have got it in the rooms, so we didnt have to go downstairs to check the weather reports.

In comparison to what else was available in the area I think it was great value, and if you can look past the dated room interior you're on for a winner, the leisure facilities swung it for me and the close proximity to the Nevis range.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for takingthe time to write a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate it and we hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a two night weekend stay at the Ben Nevis Hotel.
We found the staff friendly and polite, we ate in both bar and main restaurant and the food was very good and not expensive.
Ample car parking available very close to the rooms.
Twin room was clean, well laid out and the beds were comfortable so that we'd a restful sleep both nights.
The leisure club looked nice and clean but I didn't get a chance to make use of unfortunately.
There are a lot of areas of the hotel showing their age but my opinion is that the management are focusing on maintaining key health and safety, hygiene and comfort areas as priority. Some worn stair carpets and window frame flaky paint are examples of work needed, although there was some roofing work in progress when we were guests so evident maintenance is operating.
I reported at reception desk that I'd a very small water leak weeping from fittings under the sink in our room. I was impressed at the immediate response of two suited gentlemen standing nearby who shot away to investigate. When we later returned to the room the leak was fixed.
We only have one complaint, we were disappointed with a starter of chicken pakora in the bar restaurant which comprised three tiny thumb sized pieces of pakora with a drizzle of salad leaves. Price was £5.50, it looked worth about £1. We were gobsmacked when we saw the starter. To balance the criticism the main course was good portion and food quality good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRankinDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We do indeed have a referbishment programme, which is set by our Head Office, however we deal with the small day to day items in house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
796 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing