We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic dated hotel, but nice staff and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Basic dated hotel, but nice staff and good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as I was walking Ben Nevis with my son and it looks a good base. It was, and the leisure club was a god send after the walk. The hotel is a good way out if Fort William so not a short walk to town. The room I had was very dated and cramped, I was sorry the couple who we're sharing rooms this size. The bed was comfy and the room clean. The breakfast was lovely with quality produce. Good choice of foods to. For a budget place to rest, yes I would recommend it. For a wedding or anything other than a budget place to rest, eat and chill after a long day then no, not on my list. Staff were friendly and helpfull, bar area ok but the whole place needs a refit to get to modern standards if they think they can charge £112 a night think again. I got a late rooms des land if not I would have been complaining. Not the best hotel, but by no means the worst.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

You may have seen from pervious replies we have made that we do have a refurbishment programme in place, unfortunately this does take time due to the size of Hotel we are, however this will address the issues you have raised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    285
    216
    95
    89
See reviews for
161
339
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not much to say as i only stayed for 1 night but what i did see i was pleased with.Good choice for breakfast and dinner and in an ideal location for anyone that would like to explore the outdoors.Prices are very reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sim0ng86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, we really do appreciate it. We hope that we can look after you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has a lovely location quite and yet it is in the heart of Fort William ., The spa is lovely only thing I felt was that they are using to much of chemicals may be , the bar is a quite place having a good selection of beers and sprits . The rooms are a bit small but OK will done up.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the ground floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

We will check back on the Leisure Club's testing records for the period that you were with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Attended and the staff were very nice, breakfast was nice too... no wifi in the rooms only in reception, tv was grainy to watch and the room was clean but very dated.. all in all a very average stay. Leisure club was nice but once again tired looking and had various items of equipment not working with notices on them.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

You may have seen from pervious replies we have made that we do have a refurbishment programme in place, unfortunately this does take time due to the size of Hotel we are, however this will address the issues you have raised. We did have an issue with the temperature of the Spa being a little on the low side which has now been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

An initial nice welcome from reception staff, lead us to our family room. It was a little small to be kind only 3 of in the room. All of the fixtues and fittings were very tired looking, the shower was a standout as the water leaked out of the bath taps and shower head simultaneously, making washing tricky border line dangerous. The beds and bedding we're musty and uncomfortable. The sleeping arrangements did not allow for much other sleeping due to the close proximity of the beds and lack of any separation. On the plus side the leisure facilities were really good with a nice sized pool suitable for adults wanting a proper swim or for the kids including smaller children. Had a meal in the bar food was of a reasonable standard however a little pricey 2 adult meals and 1 childs meal over £30. All in all dated and wished I'd shopped around.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mcwhinnies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you stay with us. You may have seen from pervious replies we have made that we do have a rolling refurbishment programme in place which will address the issues you raise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We recently stayed there with a large group of friends and could nt complain about the service or the standard of the meals.the hotel is in a great location for touring the area. Some of our group were in a lower standard room but we had paid the extra for an upgrade ,well worth it!
Parts of the hotel were a little tired and dated but as a base for touring it was ideal and value for money.
A coach party of Australian tourists stayed at the same time, I doubt if they had been in a 5 star resort they would have been any happier!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, we really do appreciate it. We hope that we can look after you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is not exactly an up to date top price hotel, that does not mean it is awful or not worth the stay. I was part of a large group I found the staff welcoming friendly and helpful my room was a single it had tv ( not flat screen not wall mounted but it had a remote and it worked) and coffee/tea with a good adequate clean comfortable. Half board breakfast was very good choice and dinner was very good, serving hot food on hot plates with a reasonable choice regarding dietary needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAl1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

You may have seen from pervious replies we have made that we do have a refurbishment programme in place, unfortunately due to the size of Hotel we are, it does take many years to complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing