We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HOTEL OF CONTRASTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A HOTEL OF CONTRASTS”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a hotel of contrasts and extremes.

The ultra clean,even sparkly bathroom compared to the shabby, rundown exterior which resembles a holiday camp building. And whilst the bedroom was spacious and clean, many of the lime green dining room chairs were very stained and uninviting. I am surprised the management has not noticed.

The excellent, really helpful dining room team - one of the best teams I have encountered - contrasts with the gentleman on Reception, whose view seems to be 'take it or leave it.' Anything but helpful and welcoming. When I mentioned the loud noise every time I turned on a tap, he said 'well that will be the pipes, they sound like that some days.'

The very good breakfast, with superb porridge, contrasts with the much poorer 'coach party' dinner menu, sprinkled with supplements.

And, yes, the hotel is full of coach parties - often elderly - yet there is no lift. Although help with luggage is offered, this would not be practical when a coach of 50 arrives and I saw a number of elderly folk struggling upstairs with large bags.

This hotel needs to smarten up in many respects, whilst congratulating many of its staff on an excellent welcome.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a view with road noise or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIANECYMRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

At present we have 14 rooms being refurbished as part of our ongoing refurbishment programme. We are also be having new carpets fitted to our Reception, Bar, Restaurant & all bedroom corridors in the main building along with a good number of windows. The Restaurant chairs are also going to be replaced.

The issue with the water pipe was tracked down an air lock which has been resolved.

As you say we offer assistance to all our Guests with their luggage including our Coach Groups which our Porters strive to have all bags to rooms, once off loaded from the coach, within 5 mins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    298
    229
    106
    103
See reviews for
175
365
52
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is not a great hotel, all very tired but not cheap. The bed was tiny, the room cold and noisy from the road. The two saving graces were that it was the only place with a room left and so had little choice and the breakfast was ok.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AliAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we are very disappointed that you did not have a good stay with us and have noted all your comments to help us inprove what we do.

At present we have 14 rooms being refurbished as part of our ongoing refurbishment programme. We are also be having new carpets fitted to our Reception, Bar, Restaurant & all bedroom corridors in the main building along with a good number of windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Overstrand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The reception staff were excellent and went out of their way to accomodate my partially disabled friend by giving us a ground floor room instead of a first floor room previously allocated. Top marks

For the money though, when compared to continental hotels, this one was most definitely poor value. Carpet in the common areas were dirty and needed changing, as did some of the upholstery on the seats in the bar.

Bar prices for drinks, peanuts and crisps were outrageously high. The bar meal was reasonably good and my friend had the cajun chicken which he really liked as well as the banofee pudding.

Breakfast was excellent with tasty food well prepared considering the number of people staying there.

The room was let down by the TV which didn't work due to flat batteries in the remotes.

Finally, I think hotels with this sort of price tag should have wifi in all the rooms. The bar and reception was crammed with people using electronic devices

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zed1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

At present we have 14 rooms being refurbished as part of our ongoing refurbishment programme. We are also be having new carpets fitted to our Reception, Bar, Restaurant & all bedroom corridors in the main building along with a good number of windows.

Once Fibre Optic for businesses is available in Fort William we believe that our Head Office will be looking to have WiFi throughout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very nice rooms and average breakfast. There's probably better value to be found in a local guest house. Wouldn't stay here again. It was all a bit impersonal and we prefer more empathy from check in staff upon arrival. You just felt as though you were the next one in the queue.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hollymarroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we take note of your comments which will be used to help us improve our Guest service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, null, Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My mate and myself stayed here for the weekend. we had booked a trek through Do it for Charity and we arrived on the Friday early evening and we left on Sunday Morning. The room wasn't to bad basic I'd say but we were only sleeping there and the bed was comfortable to sleep in. The food wasn't very tasty quite bland actually but the staff in the dining room were very nice in filling our water carriers for the hard trek ahead of us. I must say the picture you see on line is nothing like how the hotel looks today.

Room Tip: I would only recommend this Hotel if you are used to hostels or tents as it is not a place for famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

At present we have a grat deal of work being carried out on our rooms to improve the quality of stay for our valued Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This stay was not very pleasant. Paid too way much money for a room on the first floor situated directly facing the road with very busy and heavy traffic. The food in the restaurant was very mediocre and although the wine list was very good for British country hotel standards the wine was served way too warm and the inexperienced staff didn't improve the experience. Used for busloads of pensioners on a budget trip. If the price had been half I would have considered dealing with the place again but I can surely say that I will never stay there again.
There was only wifi in the Lobby (as informed) but this did unfortunately work very poorly. Not recommended for any business travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten Hering N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us and note all your comments.

With regards to the WiFi we are waiting for Business Fibre Optic to become live in Fort William which should prduce a more stable connection for our WiFi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The décor is dated and dreary and the hotel appears to be unclean and in desperate need of a makeover with a fish tank of dead fish in the lobby to top it off. Personally I thought the hotel was overpriced as I had paid £140 for an overnight, for which the room rate was advertised with Wi-Fi, but, the Wi-Fi was only available in the lobby/bar and the signal was non-existent. The hotel bar closed at 11pm and it did not accept card payment. Most of the hotel staff were foreign and friendly enough, however I had dealings with a hotel manager who was hostile and condescending after dealing with a complaint. The hotel has an annex which seems unsafe and rundown, at all cost avoid staying there! Last but not least, the hotel staff have zero tolerance on any noise after the watershed, I gathered that there's better hotels within the village, even a budget hotel would be much more pleasant than enduring a stay at this hotel. The only decent thing about this hotel is the free car parking facilities.

Room Tip: There's no A/C in any part of the hotel. Avoid the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellingboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing