We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK...But Would Probably Not Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our fourth trip to Scotland – my wife and I typically stay at B&Bs, but we chose the Premier Inn due to its central location in Fort William near the train station. The hotel was clean and provided a quiet and restful place to sleep for our two night stay. It was a bit expensive, but I knew the costs going in so I have no complaint. There is only one lift (that I know of) and the hallways were dreadfully long...it was quite a hike to our room with luggage. As on all of our trips abroad, I booked the room thru booking.com, and I will only book at places with free wifi service. “Free wifi” at this hotel meant 30 minutes per day. When I asked at the front desk, I was basically told (“jokingly”, I think) to not believe everything on booking.com. I must say that the young lady who checked us in was exceedingly cheerful and helpful, and the staff we encountered was generally helpful and friendly. No huge complaints…but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDavidE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Our main aim is to provide all of our guests with a clean comfortable stay and I am pleased that you feel we achieved this. I am sorry that your room was a long distance from reception though. We do have many guests that request rooms further away as these are typically quieter and guests who request rooms closer to reception, for any future bookings with us or any of our hotels please do not hesitate to call the hotel prior to arrival, the team will be more than happy to allocate a room that will better suit your requirements. As for our Wi-Fi it is currently 30 minutes free each day but please be assured all comments relating to this are passed back to our marketing team. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Basically a good stay with everything you would expect from premier inn. It was expensive but I guess that goes without saying in this popular area. Was much closer to town than expected & great base when we went to Ben Nevis.
Good amenities nearby, supermarket, restaurants & petrol station. Bit dated but otherwise ok.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lizzylee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased your stay with us met your expectations, our aim is to provide guests with an excellent stay and I hope the price of your stay didn’t have a negative affect on your overall stay. Much like airlines or prices will vary with demand and competitors however we do have a team to ensure you always get the best value. We are very lucky here with our location as you said and for guests coming to the Ben its very convenient. Our hotel will be undergoing some work soon and we do hope to welcome you back soon and hopefully this will be complete by then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel covers all the basics well. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, especially the beds. Its conveniently located close to town and the railway station. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our only criticism is the restriction on Wifi to 30 minutes per day. After that you have to pay 3 pound per day for access. It's a bit of a rort in our opinion. No-one charges for Wifi anywhere else that we've stayed. In our opinion, ok value, but next time we'll choose a B&B instead.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fletch45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. It is always good to hear guests enjoyed their time with us and I’ll be sure to pass on your compliments to the team. All comments relating to wifi are passed to our marketing team who will further look into the issue, I am sorry if this negatively affected your stay with us. I would like to thank you for choosing Premier Inn and hopefully you will consider us in the future, keep in mind that booking in as far as advance if you can will guarantee your best rates. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just stayed at the Premier Inn in Fort William for two nights and found it to be a fine place to stay for our visit. We were in Room 118 and it was spotless and looked almost brand new. The linens were of good quality but the towels were rather few in number. We could have called and asked for more as instructed by the lovely girl at the front desk but we made do with what we had. Basically spoiled by too many towels at hotels in the US! The room was very quiet and the hallways are posted as "quiet zones" during certain hours which is a wonderful idea if people comply, which they did in this instance.

Decided to try the attached restaurant but the wait was 25-30 minutes if you didn't have a reservation, but there were tons of tables which we could see. Walked into town (5 mins) and found two places to eat where there was no wait.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We faced the rear and had no problem BUT the Fire Department was back there. Luckily no night calls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grana103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I’ll be sure to pass these comments on to the team who I’m sure will be equally as pleased. The restaurant is actually run by a different management team from the hotel so I’ll pass this over for them. As summer is a very busy time in Fort William we always recommend guests to reserve a table if possible, of course our team are always happy to recommend somewhere nearby!
We greatly appreciate all guest feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here, both because of it’s proximity to the rail station.
At check in the girl on reception was very friendly and welcoming. Interested that we had just completed the WHW ( even although I am sure they have many guests that have done the same thing).
Our room was at the far end of the second floor corridor (144) it overlooked the shinty park and had a magnificent view of the mountains. The bed was big and comfortable with good pillows too, we slept well even although the room was a bit warm. Bathroom was clean and had a good shower and plenty hot water.
It does what it says on the tin – It’s a Premier inn – no frills hotel but all in all pretty good if slightly overpriced at £85 room only. I do feel that at this price wifi should be free and not only the first 30 mins, especially considering that we had just spent a week walking from Glasgow and most of the other places we stayed along the way had free wifi (including the B&Bs).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Many thanks for your review! I’ll be sure to pass your feedback on to the team. Firstly I must say congratulations on completing the West Highland Way, that final walk to you room must have felt like a mile after all of that! We do strive to meet the needs of all of our guests and it’s great to hear we met your expectations on this occasion. Prices can change with demand however we do have a team to monitor this as well as our wifi charges; all comments relating to this are passed back to our marketing team to review.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel, hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here, the only complaint i would have was that the corridors were far too long, i was in room 23 and my father was in room 48, (i have never understood when you book two rooms they always seem to be as far away as possible from each other). but apart from that the rooms were clean and comfortable.

The hotel was close to the centre of town and was easy to get to the main roads to visit other places and there is plenty of parking available here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flopsy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review; we are pleased you enjoyed your room and the fantastic location of our hotel. Although our corridors can seem quite the long the benefit of rooms nearer the end is less people walking past your door and it’s even quieter for our guests. We do always try to keep groups and joint bookings as close together as we can but unfortunately this sometimes isn’t always possible. For any future stays with us or at any Premier Inn please do contact us ahead of your arrival so we can advise on rooms and any other requirements. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

first the positives. comfy beds, good shower, well equipped room. hotel very handily situated a short stroll into town. The breakfast in the Brewers Fayre next door is hearty and good value. There is plenty of parking.

only slight complaints.
there is no secure place to lock bikes, and a sign up specifically banning the taking of bikes into the hotel. considering the location of the hotel, essentially in mountain biking country, a stones throw from Nevis range, this seems very short sighted.
The temperature in the hotel was roasting hot, as mentioned elsewhere, the windows don't open much.
A sign from the roundabout for the hotel would have been useful, my Tomtom essentially decided the hotel was halfway round a nearby roundabout.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank FraserCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review; it’s always good to hear guests enjoyed their stay with us! As you stated our location attracts many mountain bikers and although we do no permit these bikes within the hotel for health and safety reasons we do have bike racks within our car park which is covered by 24 hour cctv and our reception desk is also covered 24 hours a day. We do appreciate that although our location is situation close to town it can be harder to find for first time visitors and are working on ways to overcome this. For future stays with any of our hotel please do contact us at any time prior to your arrival if you have any questions or require directions. We are always happy to help! Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,061 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Fort William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Fort William Hotel

Address: An Aird Road | Loch Iall, Fort William PH33 6AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £45 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Fort William Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Fort William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel Fort William
Fort William Premier Inn
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing