We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Arrived at Huntingtower to be greeted by the most friendliest 'Host's' staying in the studio with wonderful views over the Loch, a large comfortable bed with clean, pristine fresh bedding, Flat screen TV our own lounge with a door adjacent to the dining room. After we settled in our host Jackie made tea and biscuits for us and sat chatting for a while explaining the BB and the area and attractractions, most welcoming. When Chris arrived home he offered different eating places for our evening meal, ending up at The Nevis Inn down a long lane at the base of Nevis but I shall write my review for this later it was fantastic and different totally unpretentious.
We had a really comfortable sleep in the large bed, waking refreshed ready for breakfast, no dissappointment there, lots of choice on the buffet and the cooked food to order was superb. We stayed for three nights and were dissappointed not to be able to continue our stay for three further nights as the House was fully booked.
This B B is most definitely a five star, every thing you could require for a brilliant stay.
Thank you Chris and Jackie Brilliant

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic choose any you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobev_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
351
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Spent a few days at the lodge and it was fabulous. The rooms were spacies, spotless and had amazing views. Breakfast was amazing a lot of choice and was gutted I could not spend all week there to try all of the cooked options.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Morgan_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A friend and I stayed at Huntingtower Lodge for 2 nights as a base point for hiking Ben Nevis. I cannot say enough great things about Huntingtower. Our room was clean and bright with some very thoughtful touches--like binoculars for checking out the fabulous view of the lake. The owners of the Lodge, Jackie and Chris, were super accommodating, even picked us up from the train station late at night and dropped us off at the base of Ben Nevis early in the morning. This is definitely the best gem in the Fort William area and I would recommend to anyone planning to hike Ben Nevis. This is the perfect B&B to relax after the long hike.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCtravel1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Apologies for the delayed review - we actually stayed at the end of September last year (2011).

What an absolutely amazing B&B - cannot praise this enough. We stayed for two nights in the Ardgour Room which was stunning with views across the Loch. Very spacious and a nice big fridge for the Champagne. (Jackie and Chris noticed this and left out some flutes for us too). The bathroom was amazing and modern, complete with luxury accessories. On our second night, we were the only guests and so I asked if we could see the other rooms...they are all fantastic but when I have the chance to go back, I would stay in the Waterfall Suite. It is truly amazing. The breakfasts were fantastic, and again overlooking the Loch which is wonderful.

There was homemade cake and tea and coffee for our arrival which is a fantastic touch.

Jackie and Chris were both knowledgeable about the area and keen to give advice and tips on where to go. Fort William is a wonderful place and when we return, I hope the weather is fairer so we can finally climb Ben Nevis.

We had been hoping to return here earlier on in the year but unfortunately been too busy. I would definitely recommend and will be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Loved the Ardgour room, but the Waterfall Suite is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We received a warm welcome by owner Chris. The highlight of our stay was without doubt Huntingtower lodge's superb, top quality breakfast with a standard of preparation (by wife and "Chef" Jackie) far exceeding most B&B's. Generally there was a very pleasing attention to detail which left us feeling welcome while giving our stay just this little bit extra.

We always found Chris and Jackie helpful with advise and genuinely interested in us as guests. By the way, thanks again guys for lending me some of your raingear to climb Ben Nevis.

We found Huntingtower lodge to be a good startingpoint for mountainbiking and hiking with good bike storage facilities. We had a nice spacious room. Clean and quiet with a big modern bathroom and great views of the loch. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My Wife and I wanted to Ride the Jacobite Steam Train and chose to stay 2 nights here. We had a nice large room with fantastic view. Chris and Jackie were great host, assisting us with dinner reservations and looking after our every need. The breakfast was fantastic. If our travels bring us back to Fort William this will be our choice for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I went here for a small honeymoon break and it was absolutely fantastic!! The hotel itself sits right next to the most beautiful view, that I have ever seen... Absolutely stunning!! The weather was awful but doesnt take anything away from our break here.. We had the upstairs suite and I cannot fault it at all.. Immaculate and huge, with a superb view of the Loch, and very comfortable bed.. The service from Chris and Jackie was superb. They are very welcoming and friendly in everything that they did.. The breakfast will last you all day, wide range of food.. Its classed as a 4 star hotel but its definitely 5 star service that you get.. I would definitely recommend it and my husband and I are already planning for another trip for an anniversary...

Room Tip: Attic suite is the best for a romantic break.. Light, airy with a beautiful view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
7.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Property: Huntingtower Lodge
Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing