We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Horw, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were visiting the area around Fort Williams on our round trip through Scotland. Chris and Jackie were really nice, friendly, welcoming and supporting hosts. We felt at home from the first second of our three night stay.
The room we´ve had had an incredible view on the loch. It was a very spacious room (ardgour) with a big ensuite bathroom. Even binoculars can be found in the room for bird watching. The fotos on the internet a very good. They really show what to expect.
We will definitely be back if Fort William is on our route again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmopolit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hello cosmopolit100. We are delighted that you felt so at home here, that is exactly what we want for our guests. We love the views too and never tire of them and often use the binoculars ourselves to spot the wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
351
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in the suite at Huntingtower Lodge and really enjoyed the hospitality extended to us by Chris and Jackie. The suite was really spacious and is highly recommended - particularly so in a place like Fort William where mixed weather can be expected, and it was nice to be able to settle down in the lounge with a DVD / book with the rain lashing the windows, with great views over the loch and glens. Excellent breakfasts, and good recommendations from Chris on restaurants and walks. It was also very nice that Chris offers free lifts into town in the evenings - with charitable contributions to Kirstyskids encouraged. Also I particularly like the 'eco' approach to running the lodge. Highly recommended - good value for money. An enjoyable stay, and if we are visiting the area again, we will be sure to stay at Huntingtower Lodge

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHHumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hello Simon. Thank you for your kind review. The weather was n't great was it? We are pleased that you were comfortable and dry in the Suite. We were delighted that you chose to spend some of your honeymoon here with us and wish you both all the best in your new life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Huntingtower Lodge is the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. The location is fantastic and the owners Chris and Jackie were very helpful. They took the time each morning to ask what our plans for the day were and were more than happy to assist with information regarding activities in the local area.

As we didn't have a car with us Chris gave us a ride to town each evening which was very kind and unexpected. Jackie's breakfasts were amazing and the service that Chris and Jackie provided was second to none. The room was very spacious and extremely clean, plus we were also able to use the lounge room to relax and listen to music (there is a good collection of cds and dvds available to borrow for the stay). I would recommend this beautiful B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

I doubt there is a better B&B out there and hopefully I can return to Huntingtower Lodge in the future. Overall I could not find fault with the accommodation and the service provided by Chris and Jackie.

Thank you very much for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyRR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Hello HayleyRR88. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. I hope all is going well with your European trip and that Amsterdam was n't too scarey!! Happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worsley, Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Huntingtower Lodge from Fri 22nd March - Mon 25th March 2013. We decided to go to the Highlands to celebrate two birthdays within our group. I picked this B&B as it was modern and had up to date furnishings. We booked the Ardgour (Red room) and Linnhe (Twin room). Upon our arrival we were greeted by Chris & Jackie. They are a very warm and friendly couple. We sat in the lounge and they offered us warm drinks by the fire.

Our journey to the Highlands was crazy as we set off on our 6hr journey from Manchester in the snow. We were expecting to get stuck or snowed in but when we arrived it was amazing, there was no snow apart from driving through the Glencoe Mountains. The wind was like blizzard conditions near 'The Ben Nevis Inn' but we made the most of our weekend.

The rooms in the Lodge were immaculate. They were cleaned each day and fresh towels were put in the bathroom. All rooms come with tea & coffee making facilities inc. sachets. The soaps in the bathroom are by 'The Highland Soap Company' - visit the shop in Spean Bridge.

In the morning Chris would come in and take our breakfast order and then bring out the most amazing food ever! Jackie is a brilliant cook and also caters for fussy veggies like me :0) She makes her own jams/biscuits/bread, most ingredients are local produce. We sat watching the wildlife in the garden whilst waiting for our breakfast. The lounge has a huge window with a brilliant view of Loch Linneh. All the bedrooms also have a loch view.

Chris is really helpful in advising you were to visit for food/days out/local trips.

We visited.

• The Ben Nevis Inn - the food was amazing. We had tea Fri & Sun
• The Grog & Gruel pub - great food and local beers , Kelpie Seaweed Ale
• Loch Ness & Exhibition Centre
• Oban Seal Sanctuary
• Local FREE sightseeing Glenfinnan viaduct (Harry Potter), Loch Ness, Mallaig, Morar (white beaches)
• Ben Nevis Distillery

The only activity we couldn't do was the Ben Nevis Gondola ride - this was shut due to the bad weather.

We really enjoyed our stay at Huntingtower Lodge. the hosts, food and rooms were amazing.

Chris & Jackie - "Thanks for a making our weekend one that we will always remember, we will be booking again as we had an brilliant trip."

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdt1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Hello cdt1984, thank you for taking the time to give us such a full and detailed review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had forgotten just how much you managed to squeeze in during your short time here in the Highlands. We love watching the wildlife too, the pine marten has popped down to feed from the bird table this evening. Chris and I hope that you are all well and that the pink giraffe is going well and look forward to welcoming you back to Huntingtower Lodge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a 3 night stay in the Waterfall Suite which is absolutely beautiful. From the immaculate designer bathroom to the comfortable lounge, huge bedroom with dressing room, everything was absolutely stunning, even the hairdryer provided is fantastic - same as my own one at home - and not one of the silly hotel-style dryers with the annoying curly cord! The provision of a fridge in the room is brilliant along with the supply of home-made shortbread which we thoroughly enjoyed. The views from the room were outstanding as it overlooked Loch Linnhe. Breakfast was perfect every morning, cooked to order. My husband was even given some of the home-made bread to bring home after he raved about it. The icing on the cake - hosts Jackie and Chris who are an absolutely lovely couple, Chris even provided transport into town each day which was very much appreciated. Thank you Chris & Jackie for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Waterfall suite is a must, although each room seems to be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0b0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you b0b0s for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the newly fitted dressing room in the Waterfall Suite, I love it too! There is a fridge in all of our rooms to keep the milk fresh and guests find them very useful. Being a GTBS gold award holder we do all we can to help our guests who arrive by public transport and are happy to give lifts in to town whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My hubby and I spent 3 nights at Chris and Jackies lovely B&B in the the very spacious, clean and comfortable studio room. Beautiful views through the huge windows out to Loch Linnhe and the Ardgour hills, our own parking spot right outside our door and most importantly easy access through our own little entrance to the lounge/breakfast room - oh my word - the breakfasts are amazing - we didnt have to eat again till mid afternoon!! Thanks Jackie!!

As it was our first time to the highlands and Fort William we weren't too sure where to start with our day trips or eating out places but we needn't have worried as Chris is the fountain of knowledge for the area (and beyond) and he helped us make the most out of our 2 days there with some fantastic tips! Thanks Chris!!

We had a really lovely stay and can highly recommend the Huntingtower Lodge - we will definitely be returning!

PS - thanks for the prompt postal return of my iPhone charger - i knew i would leave something behind! :)

Room Tip: Any room is fab!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you very much NikkiD1979 for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Studio. We love the view from the window too, especially at the moment as we are enjoying a beautiful sunny spell of weather. I'm glad to hear that you and your iphone charger are now re-united! Chris and I look forward to welcoming you back to Huntingtower Lodge some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Highly recommend this absolute gem of a B&B. Chris and Jackie the owners are warm friendly hosts, and attentive to your needs. Went there to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary and to have some real quality time in a beautiful setting. Thats exactly what was provided. The Lodge is lovely and the rooms are stunning, large, roomy, and absolutley sparkling clean - sheets egyptian cotton...... I have not slept as well in years.
Chris & Jackie are great listeners they take in what you say, this manifests itself in tailor made advice about where to go and what you might want to see. They add small but significant unexpected touches, here and there, bottle of bubbly, card and glasses all unexpected treats. I dont exegerate when I say they try and meet your every need. Fantastic hosts made our break relaxing and trouble free, even gave us lifts into town each evening, amazing service. Breakfast awesome, everything you can imagine freshly made to your liking.
Many thanks Chris and Jackie you deserve all the praise for giving us a wonderful break, top marks are not enough. Derek & Allison Newcastle

Room Tip: Pictures on their web are superb, the views of the Loch brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hello Derek and Allison. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a relaxing time here. We are always delighted when guests choose Huntingtower Lodge as a place to stay when celebrating special occasions. We love exploring the area ourselves and this enables us to help our guests with suggestions for days out, places to eat etc. All the best for the next 24 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
7.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Property: Huntingtower Lodge
Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing