We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you, Chris and Jackie”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belem, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Thank you, Chris and Jackie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I guess that's the best way to describe your B&B. The perfect hosts, in a perfect location with delicious scotish (and non-scotish) breakfast. thak you so much Sir Chris and Lady Jackie. Thank you so much for making everything with so affection. We will be back with our sons.
Nara and Paulo

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hello Lord Paulo K, thank you for your very kind review, it made us laugh. Chris wants to be called Sir for ever now! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Huntingtower Lodge soon. Kind regards Lady Jackie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
329
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were very warmly welcomed with a much needed pot of tea and slice of cake after our long journey from the South!

We stayed in the Loch View room - and the views are amazing. In fact the views from anywhere in the house are amazing - the big picture window in the communal/breakfast area is fantastic.

The rooms are very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was spotless and the shower gorgeous.

Chris is extremely helpful and his local knowledge of best walking/cycle routes was invaluable.

Jackie's breakfast was simply divine and is possibly the best we have ever tasted. The choice was fantastic, the fresh fruit and yoghurt on offer delicious and the cooked breakfast options were cooked to perfection.

A very tiny fly in the ointment was that the Loch View room is located right next to the communal/breakfast area so if you are not an early riser (we're not) then you are disturbed by other guests going to breakfast and there is a feeling of a slight lack of privacy because of this.

But this should not put you off from going but perhaps if we were to go back we would try and get a room on the upper floor - although if it were the same room or nothing we would still definitely go back.

Only other thing to mention is that the B&B is slightly outside of walking distance to the town centre - but Chris/Jackie do offer lifts into the town in the evening if you would like to take them up on this and then it is a short taxi ride back. We didn't do this and just drove which wasn't the end of the world - but it would have been nice to have the choice of walking in. But we knew the location before booking so this isn't a complaint - but just something worth noting.

We cannot recommend highly enough and they definitely deserve their ranking as #1 B&B in Fort William.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you Diefa for taking the time to write such a full review and for all your lovely compliments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast choice and that we were able to ensure that you made the best use of your time here. We serve breakfast until 9.30 because, like you, we enjoy a late breakfast when we are away for but unfortunately some of our guests prefer an earlier start and we can only apologise for "the tiny fly in the ointment" but are relieved that it won't prevent you from returning to Huntingtower Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here after doing a few days walking on the West Highland Way. Chris and Jackie very kindly picked us up - saving us a painful walk! The room was spotless, light, tastefully decorated and had beautiful views of the loch. The bed was very comfortable and the walk-in power shower was just what we needed after 23 miles of walking! There were many books, DVDs and board games available although we were too tired to make use of them. There was shortbread, chocolate and a variety of teas waiting for us in the room - th ehot apple drink was just like having an apple pie!
Breakfast was stunning - we were particularly impressed by the rhubarb compote and the omelette with a fried egg perfectly cooked into the centre. The homemade rhubarb and white chocolate muffins were some of the best muffins we've ever had.
Chris and Jackie were very welcoming and went to whatever lengths they could for us. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you Kevin P for your lovely review. It's good to know that you have got home safely and I hope that you are both fully recovered after your walk. The rhubarb and white chocolate muffins are new on the menu this year and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed them, maybe if you get the chance to get back up this way I'll make you some lemon and Scottish raspberry muffins to try, they are always very popular in the summer. I hope all has gone well with the results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

When you use trip advisor to sort out where you are going to stay it is not surprising you will normally rate them well. This Studio Room was very comfortable and the Breakfasts produced by Jackie were the best we had on our trip. They were always perfectly cooked and presented. The jams and the curds home made - it made breakfasts the highlights of the days around Fort William. Chris made great efforts to ensure we had good restaurants in the evening and went to the main attractions. Great hosts and a great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
DaveB100 thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Studio and that you enjoyed all the home made jams and curds, I do n't make the lemon curd often because Chris and I enjoy it too much as well! Making suggestions for days out is always great fun, matching peoples interests with what is available locally while taking into account the weather forecast for the day. With so many good places to eat nearby we can usually make suggestions to suit peoples tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at huntington lodge after my partners son's wedding on Sunday 12th May 2013
What a delight Chris & Jackie were the perfect hosts and could not do enough for us.we stayed in the loche view room which was perfect and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was 1st class and you had so much choice we were spoilt.
If you are thinking of booking dont hesitate Huntington lodge is a gem ...you wont be dissapointed

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol-Annesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and recommendation Carole-Annesmith. I hope that the newly-weds had a good time on Skye. It's good to hear that you are home safely. Are you still dining out on your Rum adventure? You had quite a day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

A friend of mine and I spent a couple nights here while doing some hiking and climbing in Glen Coe. Chris and Jackie were absolutely fantastic host and helped with logistics from having a meet us in Glen Coe to take us to the start of the Aonach Eagach ridge to arranging dinner reservations. The house itself is beautiful -- nice clean lines with a Scandanavian flare. Not over fussy like some B&Bs can be. They also have beautiful framed art works on dispay of the Glen Coe area by John Harris. They even helped me work with a local shop in Fort William to get a copy of one. When I return to the Highlands, I will stay at Huntingtower Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Von H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Many thanks Von for taking the time to write us a review, it is much appreciated. We were delighted that you were able to accomplish the Aonach Eagach ridge and were very impressed that you did it on the day that you flew in to Glasgow. I hope that your climbing in Skye was successful and that the weather was kind. Rest assured that there will always be a warm welcome for you at Huntingtower Lodge. Haste ye back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were visiting Fort William mainly to try out the skiing at Nevis Range. We had a wonderful stay in the lodge and a great day's skiing. The lodge is a beautifully situated on the loch, it's reasonably priced, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean and tidy. The welcome from Chris and Jackie is warm and friendly and the breakfast superb. We will definitely stay again when we return this winter.

For those interested, it's about a 10-minute drive to Nevis Range and the skiing there is pretty good. There's a fairly wide variety of pistes and a reasonable network of lifts.

Room Tip: We had the Loch View room which, as its name suggests, has an incredible view across the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajax1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you Ajax1987 for your kind review. We think that Fort William and the Highlands can be especially beautiful in the winter. A winters drive through Glencoe can be stunning and the red deer are so much easier to spot aginst the snow! We look forward to seeing you again next winter and hope that you will be able to make the most of our Winter Break offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Property: Huntingtower Lodge
Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing