We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is by far the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. The spotlessly clean room was amazing with stunning views over the loch. Breakfast was plentiful with homemade muffins as well as the other usual breakfast items. The hosts were very welcoming. We will be recommending this place to everyone and will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you very much HBovill for your lovely comments, we really do appreciate it when guests take the time to write us a review. I hope that you both had a good time over in Aviemore and that you got some great photos. We look forward to welcoming you both back if you are up this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
325
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights hoping that we'd get one good day for taking on Ben Nevis. Room was great, B&B was an excellent mix of private and common areas with other guests. Our room was spacious, modern, and had all the amenities we needed.
We saw Chris most mornings and he was a very warm and cheerful fellow. He did get serious when we contemplated climbing Ben Nevis in iffy weather. Even when we did climb the next day with better weather he wanted us to call when we got down to let them know we were alright - very genuine.
Jackie's breakfasts - we had several different varieties during our stay and all were better than we could hope for, and much better than top hotels we stayed at.
And if you go to climb BN and the weather is not favorable Chris is a fountain of info on other ways to enjoy your day. Really can't miss B&B - thank you Jackie and Chris!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you maxfood for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We try to help guests as much as we can to ensure that they make the most of their time here in Fort William, there are so many things to do and places to see that it is easy to make suggestions. When the weather is poor we are always cautious when guest are going up the Ben, even experienced hill walkers can get disorientated when the mist comes down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here two nights and will plan on staying longer on our next trip. Rooms were amazing - so comfortable. It was clear that alot of thought and time had been put into the details of every room. The breakfast was made to order and was wonderful - the selection was great too. Chris was especially helpful in giving us ideas and tips to help us in our travels - everything he suggested was exactly as he described and we really enjoyed it. Thank you so much to both Jackie and Chris - we will see you again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanOly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Many thanks SusanOly12 for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast so much, we try to use the best ingredients and source seasonal food and it is good to know that we are getting it right. It was a pleasure to meet you both and your son and we hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed one night and should have spent more time in this area since it is lovely and a lot of things to do and see. We hade a very large room with a beautiful view of the sea. Chris was very helpful and friendly. Looking forward to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agneta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Hello Agneta14 and thank you for your kind review. I hope if you come back to visit that you will be able to stay a little longer because there is so much to do in the area. We have such beautiful scenery here and there are some fantastic walks to suit everyone, the Jacobite steam train is a very popular attraction and we have some good restaurants in the area too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our second visit to the Huntingtower Lodge B&B and it won’t be our last. It’s a perfect base for the west highlands, the Nevis range, Glencoe and the surrounding area. The rooms are really comfortable and clean with quality bathrooms and all the facilities you need for your stay. We had a big picture window with beautiful views of the loch and over to the mountains on the other side. Jackie’s breakfasts are excellent. She and Chris have everything well organised and they clearly source outstanding ingredients, making their own bread, jam and biscuits. Chris also has a great knowledge of the area and will happily recommend walks, drives, cafes, restaurants and help with times of local ferries.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLong214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you Robmeister_II for another fantastic review. It seems a while since you were here with us and I hope that life has been treating you both well in the meantime. It was lovely to see you both again this year and we look forward to your return visit. Haste ye back as they say up here. You will be pleased to hear that the hens are laying more eggs now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belem, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I guess that's the best way to describe your B&B. The perfect hosts, in a perfect location with delicious scotish (and non-scotish) breakfast. thak you so much Sir Chris and Lady Jackie. Thank you so much for making everything with so affection. We will be back with our sons.
Nara and Paulo

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hello Lord Paulo K, thank you for your very kind review, it made us laugh. Chris wants to be called Sir for ever now! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Huntingtower Lodge soon. Kind regards Lady Jackie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were very warmly welcomed with a much needed pot of tea and slice of cake after our long journey from the South!

We stayed in the Loch View room - and the views are amazing. In fact the views from anywhere in the house are amazing - the big picture window in the communal/breakfast area is fantastic.

The rooms are very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was spotless and the shower gorgeous.

Chris is extremely helpful and his local knowledge of best walking/cycle routes was invaluable.

Jackie's breakfast was simply divine and is possibly the best we have ever tasted. The choice was fantastic, the fresh fruit and yoghurt on offer delicious and the cooked breakfast options were cooked to perfection.

A very tiny fly in the ointment was that the Loch View room is located right next to the communal/breakfast area so if you are not an early riser (we're not) then you are disturbed by other guests going to breakfast and there is a feeling of a slight lack of privacy because of this.

But this should not put you off from going but perhaps if we were to go back we would try and get a room on the upper floor - although if it were the same room or nothing we would still definitely go back.

Only other thing to mention is that the B&B is slightly outside of walking distance to the town centre - but Chris/Jackie do offer lifts into the town in the evening if you would like to take them up on this and then it is a short taxi ride back. We didn't do this and just drove which wasn't the end of the world - but it would have been nice to have the choice of walking in. But we knew the location before booking so this isn't a complaint - but just something worth noting.

We cannot recommend highly enough and they definitely deserve their ranking as #1 B&B in Fort William.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you Diefa for taking the time to write such a full review and for all your lovely compliments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast choice and that we were able to ensure that you made the best use of your time here. We serve breakfast until 9.30 because, like you, we enjoy a late breakfast when we are away for but unfortunately some of our guests prefer an earlier start and we can only apologise for "the tiny fly in the ointment" but are relieved that it won't prevent you from returning to Huntingtower Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.1 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Property: Huntingtower Lodge
Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing