We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The b&b, location, hospitality and food are fantastic. Chris ensured we had a fantastic few days for a birthday trip in December 2011 (the Tripadvisor dates don't go back that far!). He made us feel very at home and gave us plenty of local information, which was particularly helpful in a dark mid-December. More than happy to recommend it - and to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oparebea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We are delighted Operabea that you have such happy memories of your birthday trip to Fort William. It can be very beautiful up here in the Winter and if the weather is n't kind we have a selection of books, games etc to help pass the time. We would love to see you again and if you fancy another winter break you might like to take advantage of our 3 for 2 Winter Break offer from Jan 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We unfortunately only had the opportunity to stay here for one night on our tour around Scotland – wish we could have stayed longer! We were on our way to Isle of Skye and stopped in Fort William on the way from Glasgow. Huntingtower Lodge was the best B&B we stayed at on our week in Scotland. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in all our travels and the rooms were comfortable, large and spotlessly clean. Recommendations were given for dinner and bookings were made on our behalf. I can’t fault Huntingtower Lodge. Delightful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you very much auscnd for your kind review. We do n't usually accept single night bookings and you were lucky that we had a gap that night. We run Huntingtower Lodge as a sustainable and eco-friendly business and we like to encourage people to stay a bit longer in the area, the scenery is very beautiful here and there is a lot to do. I hope that you had a great time on Skye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and recently stayed here and I couldn't be more pleased. The overall location is excellent: the Ft. William area is a great jumping off point to much of the Highlands. The B&B property itself was also excellent: it has a very modern feel with huge windows that provide excellent views of the loch. (We stayed in the "Ardgour" room, which I recommend, but obviously each room will be unique.) Everything was clean and beautiful.

But not only did the location and room exceed my expectations, but the owners are just unbelievably helpful and kind. I don't even want to enumerate all of the things that Chris and Jackie did for us, because I don't want to set unrealistic expectations for them with every guest. I will just say that did everything they could for us to make our stay pleasant. From recommendations on where to go and what to see, to small personal kindnesses, to their wonderful morning breakfast service.

I would give this place my absolute highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you David O for your lovely recommendation, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay in Fort William and you are right it is an excellent base for exploring the Highlands because as you found there is so much to do around here. It was a pleasure to meet you both and if you are ever back in Scotland we hope to welcome you back to Huntingtower Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is by far the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. The spotlessly clean room was amazing with stunning views over the loch. Breakfast was plentiful with homemade muffins as well as the other usual breakfast items. The hosts were very welcoming. We will be recommending this place to everyone and will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you very much HBovill for your lovely comments, we really do appreciate it when guests take the time to write us a review. I hope that you both had a good time over in Aviemore and that you got some great photos. We look forward to welcoming you both back if you are up this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights hoping that we'd get one good day for taking on Ben Nevis. Room was great, B&B was an excellent mix of private and common areas with other guests. Our room was spacious, modern, and had all the amenities we needed.
We saw Chris most mornings and he was a very warm and cheerful fellow. He did get serious when we contemplated climbing Ben Nevis in iffy weather. Even when we did climb the next day with better weather he wanted us to call when we got down to let them know we were alright - very genuine.
Jackie's breakfasts - we had several different varieties during our stay and all were better than we could hope for, and much better than top hotels we stayed at.
And if you go to climb BN and the weather is not favorable Chris is a fountain of info on other ways to enjoy your day. Really can't miss B&B - thank you Jackie and Chris!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you maxfood for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We try to help guests as much as we can to ensure that they make the most of their time here in Fort William, there are so many things to do and places to see that it is easy to make suggestions. When the weather is poor we are always cautious when guest are going up the Ben, even experienced hill walkers can get disorientated when the mist comes down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here two nights and will plan on staying longer on our next trip. Rooms were amazing - so comfortable. It was clear that alot of thought and time had been put into the details of every room. The breakfast was made to order and was wonderful - the selection was great too. Chris was especially helpful in giving us ideas and tips to help us in our travels - everything he suggested was exactly as he described and we really enjoyed it. Thank you so much to both Jackie and Chris - we will see you again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanOly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Many thanks SusanOly12 for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast so much, we try to use the best ingredients and source seasonal food and it is good to know that we are getting it right. It was a pleasure to meet you both and your son and we hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed one night and should have spent more time in this area since it is lovely and a lot of things to do and see. We hade a very large room with a beautiful view of the sea. Chris was very helpful and friendly. Looking forward to go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agneta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Hello Agneta14 and thank you for your kind review. I hope if you come back to visit that you will be able to stay a little longer because there is so much to do in the area. We have such beautiful scenery here and there are some fantastic walks to suit everyone, the Jacobite steam train is a very popular attraction and we have some good restaurants in the area too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
162 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £83 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing