We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No.1 B&B In Fort William - For Very Good Reasons....WonderfulHosts, Superb Location, Beautiful Eco- Friendly Accommodation....et”
Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 112 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“No.1 B&B In Fort William - For Very Good Reasons....WonderfulHosts, Superb Location, Beautiful Eco- Friendly Accommodation....et”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

2 Couples stayed 2 nights in May. Pre- arrival booking with Chris boded well - so friendly & helpful. Warm welcome from Chris & Jackie & lovely pot of tea & home baking on arrival. Stunning view of Loch Linnhe from lounge & from our 2 bedrooms. We had the Loch View Room - Ground Floor, King size bed, & The Linnhe Room, First Floor, twin beds. Both Beautifully appointed rooms with amazing views. Loch View has integral en-suite Shower room. Linnhe has private shower room across the hall.
Modern furniture. Extremely comfy beds. Lots of choice with the varieties of Teas, Hot Chocolate & Coffee making facilities in rooms. Fridge & fresh milk for your drinks. Home baked Shortbread biscuits.... Absolutely yummy ! Top quality bathroom shower gels, hand washes, shampoos & conditioners. Fluffy white towels & face flannels. Relaxing chairs in rooms, to sit & enjoy the views. Tv with DVD slot. Finest quality furnishings, fabrics, cotton bed linens, lovely pillows, modern clothes hanging area & chest of drawers. Excellent bedside lights for reading. In the lounge, masses of interesting books to enjoy, DVDs to watch, Music CDs to listen to, wide variety of Board Games, etc, to play, & comfy sofas &/or tables to sit at. Lots of lovely art to enjoy, too - pictures & paintings in the Lounge, Hall, & in our bedrooms. Breakfasts to die for! Great choice of cereals, including porridge, if desired, fruits - home made rhubarb & ginger, - berries, etc., to add to your cereals or enjoy on their own; yogurts.
Home made jams, marmalade & other spreads. Full Scottish looked & tasted great, including "Tatties Scones" & black pudding . Delicious creamy Scrambled eggs with bacon or smoked salmon ! Lovely toast - brown or white. Best of all - magnificent views - sitting having breakfast overlooking the Loch & the lovely garden, all kinds of birds at the many bird feeders around the garden, flowers, apple tree in full bloom....Magnificent ! Chris served our breakfasts, which Jackie cooked to perfection. We were very kindly chauffeured by Chris to the station for our amazing "Jacobite" Steam train experience from Fort William to
Mallaig. That is a "must do". Amazing trip. Spectacular Scenery. Beautiful "nostalgic" trip on old steam train.
The Loch View Room - £200 for 2 nights B&B, (2 people),The Linnhe Room - £170 for 2 nights
(2 people). Excellent value for this outstanding B&B. We highly recommend it & will definitely be back for some more "home comforts, home cooking, the great views, & the lovely "TLC" provided by Jackie & Chris. "Hosts with the mostest"!!!! Thank you so much for
everything. A really wonderfully enjoyable stay at "Hunting Tower Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VETTRIANISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much Broggini for your review, you have no idea how much we value the reviews written by our guests, it is always lovely to get a pat on the back and we are very grateful. By the way, would you like the job of doing our marketing for us?

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your trip on The Jacobite so much, it is a wonderful way of seeing the stunning scenery in the area and you were blessed with the weather!

It was a pleasure to meet you all and when you return I will make sure that there is a fresh supply of those shortbread biscuits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
341
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When we heard that my wife's family would be coming to the UK for 2 weeks in April and wanted to visit the Highlands, there was for us only one choice when it came to a B&B. This was our 4th stay at Huntingtower Lodge, in the lovely "Loch View" room, and I am remiss for not writing a review for our other stays. Hopefully this will go some way to addressing that.

The rooms are modern, spacious, clean, cosy and just wonderful to relax in. The breakfast menu offers a wealth of delights, all of which are delicious and prepared with love by Jackie. There are also a wide selection of cereals and yoghurts, homemade preserves and compotes. Essentially you can eat lighter if you wish, or if like me you want to fuel up for an attempt on a local Munro or a long drive I promise you your appetite will be satisfied. Chris is a superb host, who not only makes the best tasting coffee this side of the Atlantic but also understands the delicate science of toasting gluten-free bread. For those of you who don't understand quite how tricky that is I have been told cold nuclear fusion is somewhat easier.

Chris and Jackie always make us feel welcome - like home away from home. They always have a suggestion at hand for what to do on a day whatever the weather and whatever your interests. I cannot recommend a stay at Huntingtower lodge highly enough. I will simply say that having stayed in many B&Bs and hotels in the U.S.A, Africa, and Europe they are still by far the best I have ever had the good fortune to find and we will be back.

C&B

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocGibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Well, DocGibbo your lovely review has left me speechless and, as you know, that doesn't happen very often. You were our first ever guests when we took over Huntingtower Lodge and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back and I hope it won't be too long before we see you both again. We were delighted to finally meet B's parents and hope that they enjoyed the rest of their holiday in the UK.

Chris's eyebrows have only just recovered from your last visit so he is delighted to have finally mastered the tricky task of toasting your gluten free bread and he does look so much better with eyebrows!

Haste ye back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Huntingtower Lodge B&B for 3 nights in early March, in the suite. The room was great - modern, clean and with fantastic views over the loch from the huge dormer window in the lounge. The breakfast was fabulous - everything was local, organic or homemade (often all 3!), and the hosts very friendly and knowledgeable on the best local places to visit, hike and eat. We would highly recommend Huntingtower Lodge to anyone looking to stay in Fort William

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabrucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much Dabrucie for your lovely comments about our home. We really do appreciate it when our guests take time to write a review for us and recommend Huntingtower Lodge to other travellers.

As you may have realised we enjoy good food which is how we know so many of the good places to eat locally! We were delighted to be accepted on to Visit Scotland's Taste our Best scheme earlier this year and we believe that it is much easier to produce good food with great ingredients. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back here before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed here with a friend of mine and we both throughly enjoyed our stay. We turned up at the B&B and hadn't really planned where we would go whilst we were there, and the owner, Chris, was really nice, offering us guidance and tips of where to go- (you should definitely take the ferry across to The Boathouse restaurant-amazing landscape). The room, we had the twin room, was airy, light and spacious. The breakfast is all fresh and locally sourced- amazing bread! Be sure to use the binoculars and look out the window at breakfast, as we saw seals! I would definitely stay here again and recommend anyone visiting the area to stay here too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Hen121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you Travel_Hen121 for your lovely review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Linnhe, the view from the window looking down over the loch is one of my favourites and is a perfect viewpoint for spotting otters, as well as seals, near the shore.

We love The Boat House and are delighted that you enjoyed the experience as much as we do, the trip out to it is amazing whatever the weather. We go there for a treat from time to time and crossing over the ferry at Corran makes us feel as though we've had a mini holiday!

Thank you for recommending us to your fellow Trip Advisor travellers and I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Have just spent 3 nights here as a break for our 10th wedding anniversary. A really excellent standard of accommodation with a super view of Loch Linnhe.
Breakfast offers a huge choice and all the options we tried were delicious, a great start to each day!
Chris and Jackie are really thoughtful hosts who make you really welcome. They were most helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit and we're happy to make dinner reservations for us.
The card and wine we found in our room for our anniversary was an unexpected and delightful surprise.
We really enjoyed our short stay, many thanks

Paul and Kim

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belatu58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much Paul and Kim for your first class review! It was lovely to meet you both and to be part of your 10th anninversary celebrations, it's a shame that we could n't lay on the hot, sunny weather that you had 10 years ago on your wedding day.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts each morning. We are very proud to have been accepted on to the Visit Scotland Taste our Best scheme for businesses who "are passionate about delivering a quality eating experience". I hope that the Marmalade Tea Loaf turns out well for you Kim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

One of the few B&B's we have stayed in that I could genuinely not fault in any way.

Chris and Jackie are extremely friendly and made us feel like guests in their home rather than customers. The location is fantastic and the house and rooms are of a very high standard.

When we return to the area again, Huntingtower Lodge will be our first choice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you AllenFoster for your very kind review it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you both felt like house guests here at Huntingtower Lodge because that is just how we want our guests to feel and it means that we are getting it right. Take care and we hope to see you back here before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Took my girlfriend here and around Scotland as a surprise.. Had made quite a few requests from Chris and Jackie which they did for me and I couldn't thank them enough. They're hospitality was brilliant, very friendly, the room was perfect for us to be in with a brilliant view over the loch and hillside, spacious and comfortable. The menu/food was lovely.. And again I couldn't Thank them enough for what I had asked of them. Everything was perfect. Very much recommended and we will likely return.


Thankyou

Craig and Jesica

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much Craig W for your review, it is really appreciated. We are so pleased that your suprise weekend worked out so well for you and it was a pleasure to help you put it all together. I'm so glad to hear that you finally got home safely. Chris and I look forward to welcoming you both back to Huntingtower Lodge before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 112 in Fort William
519 reviews
3.9 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 112 in Fort William
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Property: Huntingtower Lodge
Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing