We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huntingtower Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Imperial Hotel(Fort William)
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$209
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distillery House(Fort William)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Caberfeidh Lodge(Fort William)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
US$24
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ossian's Hotel(Fort William)
US$87
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
502
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschris and jackiehunting towerstudio roomtea and homemade cakewonderful hostsamazing viewsporridgered squirrelsloch linnhetwo nightsloch view roomperfect place to staythe ground floorstayed longerfort william areabed and breakfastvisiting the area
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Huntingtower Lodge for five days this July, and it was truly a great place to be. Everything was perfect, the accomodation was luxurious (we had the Waterfall Suite, which consisted of a living room, a dressing room, a bedroom, and a bathroom), the view was splendid, and the hosts Chris and Jackie were very friendly and extremely helpful.

Maybe the only non-ideal point about the Huntingtower Lodge is its location if you don't own a car. While it's only a few minutes to Fort William by car, it's quite a long walk next to a very busy motorway. However, Chris and Jackie repeatedly offered to take us to town with their own car, so even that point wasn't really a problem.

One thing I need to mention: the Huntingtower Lodge definitely had the best breakfast I've ever had in a B&B and it really deserves a five star rating. There was Greek yoghurt, fresh fruit, fruit yoghurt, toast, home-made jams and marmalade, home-made muffins, lots of different cereals, etc. And then, in addition, there was cooked breakfast; full Scottish breakfast, delicious porridge with cream, honey, and raspberries, different kinds of scrambled eggs and omelettes, and even more. I just can't even begin to tell how good it was. And did I mention the porridge? I had it every day.

One more thing. If you stay there without a car and don't want to take a taxi for dinner every day, consider eating at the Clan MacDuff hotel's restaurant. It's only a two minute walk, and we quite liked their food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you very much Fabian S for your lovely comments, we are always very grateful when our guests take time to write us a review. The Waterfall Suite is great for those travellers who want a bit more space and privacy. As you say, we are two miles out of town but are happy to help out with lifts in to town for those who arrive here using public transport. I am delighted that our breakfasts made such an impression on you, especially the porridge! We like to think that guest leave us in the morning ready to face the day.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Huntingtower Lodge if you ever return to Fort William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This B&B was just fantastic. Chris and Jackie were the most welcoming and informative hosts we encountered on our trip, nothing was too much trouble. The room was stunning with lovely views of Loch Linnhe and the breakfasts we sampled were beautiful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HR53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you very much HR53 for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope that we may see you back here before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here over the weekend of 4th July 2014. It was the perfect base from which to attempt a climb of Ben Nevis.

Chris & Jackie are splendid hosts - the food is superb, the facilities spotless and nothing is too much trouble. We were offered lifts into town, recommended the best places to eat and they even sponsored us for our night climb of Ben Nevis - raising money for the Alzheimer's Society.

The attention to detail is what makes this place superb. I particularly liked the "Ben Nevis" book filled with stories of previous guests.

The location is perfect & the scenery is stunning. I will definitely return (& I rarely say that about anywhere!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Congratulations AngelaM on your successful midnight climb of Ben Nevis in aid of the Alzheimer's Society, an amazing achievement, well done!

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a very upmarket B & B, more like a Boutique Hotel. Wonderful location, clean & comfortable accommodation and an excellent choice of food for breakfast. We also enjoyed the little touches like cookies in the room and the muffins for breakfast. Chris & Jackie were very obliging and welcoming. A definite must if we are ever in the area again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you ChristopherF for your very kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The breakfast muffins are always popular and tomorrow our guests will be sampling home grown rhubarb and white chocolate muffins, my favourite!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again if you ever make it back to Fort William.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We normally stay in hotels but Huntingtower Lodge has changed our minds. With a very warm welcome from Chris and Jackie we enjoyed our stay in the suite overlooking the lodge. The breakfast was superb. The additional service provided - lifts into Fort William- was a welcome bonus. Just a pity we missed the sheep race! We would definitely return and recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheila55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much sheila55_10 for your review. We are delighted to hear that we surpassed your expectations, B&Bs are often able to offer their guests those little extras that hotels are unable to.

It was a pity that you missed the sheep races it was great fun and there was a fantastic atmosphere in the town, if you take a look at our Facebook page you can see a few photos that I took that afternoon, we are hoping that it will become an annual event, so maybe we'll see you back again next year.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews