We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding place to relax as though it were your own home”
Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 November 2009

I should have penned this review months ago; alas the pace of work took over. I was inspired to add my voice to the many before me on this site, simply to assure those reading these reviews that all the compliments are TRUE. Huntingtower was part of a magical weekend that I bought for my husband for Christmas. We arrived late on a Friday night after a long flight and drive north. Despite being after 9 p.m., we were treated to a warm welcome of tea and homemade cake: Heaven. What a lovely couple Chris and Jackie are. Both my husband and I felt that we were treated like friends that they had not seen for some time. The welcome was just the tip of the iceberg, the room looked EXACTLY as it did on the webpage and the food was even better; everything is local and organic. The cakes and biscuits are just what a hill walker wants. Breakfast is breathtaking, as you look out across the loch and enjoy the gourmet selection of food for all diets and tastes. Frankly, I need to come up with another reason to go back to Fort William again, just to stay there. I must finally add a few comments to demonstrate how well Chris and Jackie care for their guests; they checked around restaurants for us, they let us chill out all day if we wanted and even told us about a special one off speedboat ride that was on offer. Please see the pictures and see what an exclusive time that we had. You must complete the Ben Nevis book if you climb the mountain! Happy Travels everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, and Jackie and Chris make you feel like you're staying with friends. The house is great, just 4 rooms, and really well done! Clean, comfortable, but with a great sense of style and simplicity. The breakfast is cooked to order, and is also fantastic!
The view is hard to beat, its directly across from the Loch, which is spectacular. The location is about 2 miles from Fort William, which makes it easy for a nice meal or pub, and Jackie was happy to drive us into town at night, and we took an easy cab "home". Don't stay anywhere else in the area. :)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncoutroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Stayed here overnight and it was exactly what we were looking for. Such friendly owners, great food and gorgeous room overlooking the Loch. Everything was immaculately clean and wished we could stay another night. Can't recommend it strongly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach6569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Wow!! What more can I say? This was such a lovely find. We stayed here for 2 nights recently and wished we could have had longer. We had just moved from a 4* hotel in Stirling and I can honestly say Huntingtower Lodge beat that hands down!

Jackie met us when we arrived with tea and homemade cake and then showed us to our lovely room. We had the Waterfall suite which is up in the eaves and consists of a lounge with 2 leather sofas, large TV and amazing views out over the loch with binoculars for wildlife watching. The bedroom had views out over the garden and waterfall (we saw a deer in the garden on the first afternoon!). There was a separate dressing room and large bathroom. In our room there was handmade shortbread waiting for us and a great selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. There was free wifi for all guests to use and if we hadn't taken our laptop we could have borrowed theirs.

Jackie and Chris were knowledgeable about restaurants to visit and trips to go on. On our first night there we had booked to go to a restaurant out of town and wanted a cab. When the cab didn't turn up Chris jumped into his car and drove us there so we didn't miss our night out.

Breakfasts were lovely and all freshly cooked. Much better than the standard breakfasts you get in hotels.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone! We just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadameMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Little things make all the difference. A welcome with hot drinks and cake, lifts into town, restaurant bookings and recommendations, free wi fi, books, games and DVDs to borrow and loads of choice at breakfast on top of all the things you would expect from an excellent B&B. We stayed in the Studio which is big and bright with great views over the loch. Jackie and Chris are great hosts and we are already looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed one night in the Huntington Tower Lodge. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, modern decorated, very clean with a fabulous viuw towards the Loch. Free WIFI was available. Also binoculars were present to see the wildlife in the garden. Breakfast was excellent. Home made toast, home made strawberry jam ( delicious) as well as an enormous choice of fresh fruit. The bathroom was also spacious and claen and modern, too.
If we go ever again to Fort William, we will not look further and stay again in this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnekeLeidschendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed for one night after completing the WHW - glad we did as it was superb. The folk who own this are so nice and go that extra mile for you. I would recommend this place to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BordersBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
7.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £82 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing