We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good overnight stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed one night 21st August. It was a rather long haul up from Glasgow. The room was spotlessly clean with everything that we needed, with en suite. Beautiful gardens and sea view, excellent location and easy to find. Good breakfast. Good parking to rear.
Had evening meal in the hotel next door after having a stroll round Fort William - literally 5 minute walk from hotel to Town centre.

Room Tip: Book a sea view. Dine at hotel next door- good fish and chips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanmoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at Myrtle Bank for only one night and I wish we could have stayed longer. We had an en suite room with views (the loch and the mountains) and it was delightful. The room and the bathroom were large and very clean, and the beds comfortable. The view from our window was just great. The breakfast was good and the wifi signal was decent. I highly recommend this guest house and I hope to stay there again someday. Great value for money, beautiful place!

Room Tip: Ask for an en suite room with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This guest house looks impressive - a big building with beautiful stonework and nice gardens, with beautiful views to the front and ample parking at the back BUT having stayed in a number of small, cosy, friendly guest houses in the previous weeks, we found this impersonal, less impressive overall and comparatively expensive.
We had a double room with an en suite - both really very small. The room seemed quite airless even with the window open but, to be fair, the weather outside was very hot. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was fine. Breakfast was OK, nothing special (hats off to the one very efficient lady run off her feet serving many tables).
Another family member (adult female) was given "an apartment" at the side of the building, as you go around to the car park at the back, consisting of a small bedroom upstairs and a large bathroom downstairs. She awoke near midnight to the sound of someone drunk outside -shouting, and trying to get in using a key. Being alone, she was very alarmed. When she called Reception, after a bit, the proprietor did come straight away to direct the offender to his own accommodation. She settled down again after a while, to be woken again at 6 a.m. to the sound of catering staff preparing the breakfasts in the adjacent rooms. NOT a good night's sleep for a holiday-maker.

Room Tip: This large property has spacious rooms and poky rooms, rooms with en suites and rooms without! Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyntum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a lovely place. We had a large room at the front. It had a great view, wasn't noisy, a very comfortable bed and bedding but no en suite. The house has recently been well decorated and furnished. The breakfast was just OK. I would stay here again. There is lots of parking once you realize that the guest house is on both sides of the lane.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. We were given a family room in a separate building at the back of the house. This had been advised to us at time of booking so we had no issues with this. The downside was there was no WiFi signal at all, I gave up trying to get one after day one. Our room was large, on two levels and had three double beds and a single. The ensuite was upstairs but was just a shower room no bath. As other reviews have said, you are left to your own devices here much more than other B&Bs. The only contact we had with the owner was paying the bill! Breakfast was ok, nothing special. A very small selection of cereals which you could help yourself too other than that you were waiting for the waitress who was very busy all the time. A positive is the short walk into town. Only about ten minutes and there is lots to do in the area. We went on the Crannog boat trip which was great, walked to Steall Falls and drove to Mallaig and Eileen Donan. The scenery is spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrykersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had just come from a guest house where we were made to feel really welcome, but our experience with the hosts here was that they wanted to spend as little time dealing with the guests as possible. That doesn't make a material difference to your stay, but certainly is an area I'd recommend they improve upon.

In terms of value, it is neither great nor poor. We had a nice view from our room of the loch and mountains. There is a lot of traffic on the main road outside, but the room has pretty decent noise insulated. The bed is comfortable too, but the bathroom was cupboard sized, and only a shower. The outside of the building is pretty enough, and parking isn't bad. The location is good for the better end of Fort William.

Breakfast is okay. Not a great selection, and not of brilliant quality. That said, the 'healthy alternative' of yoghurt and fruit was a pleasant surprise.

Overall, there isn't anything that makes this accommodation particularly stand out, but it is fine. Stayed in worse.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We only stayed at the Myrtle Bank one night, when we went to Ft William to take the steam train to Maelig. Wish we could have stayed longer. The Myrtle Bank is very charming with a beautiful garden and colorful flowers. We had a lovely room with very comfortable beds, a gorgeous view of the water, and en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was exceptionally good too. They offered a great selection of fresh fruit along with the cooked foods, and I had been craving this. Before our visit we got some very helpful advice from the owner, who was very kind to us during our stay as well. All in all, a perfect stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the building do have an incredible view, so do get one of these if they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoBeachnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
602 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,060 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort William
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing