We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Supberb Myrtle Bank” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myrtle Bank Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supberb Myrtle Bank”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned from 3nights at Myrtle Bank. We booked 2 rooms. My parents stayed in room 2, a small double ensuite ground floor room in the annex accommodation. The room was spotlessly clean and had French doors leading out into the garden. The room had a garden view and was opposite the breakfast room. Myself, husband and 20month old little boy stayed in room3, another ground floor double room in the annex accommodation with ensuite shower. The room was a good size and had huge window which looked out over the garden and had a glimpse of the loch. Again the whole hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The service from Dora and her team is outstanding and nothing is too much trouble. We had arranged packed lunches from Dora for our Jacobite train journey to Mallaig. This consisted of a sarnie, crisps, biscuits, cake bar, banana and a carton of juice for £6.50 each. This made the day hassle free and was enjoyed by all. We would highly recommend myrtle bank to anyone wanting a clean, friendly, and easily accessible guest house next time they visit Fort William. We will be returning again next year.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room with king size bed and loch view in either the main guest house or annex a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NandJCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    146
    45
    7
    8
See reviews for
156
361
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DEVON
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our second visit to this first class B & B and it was every bit as good as we remembered. 5* accommodation and breakfast all at a more than reasonable price. Clean well furnished rooms, we had 2 single rooms and shared a shower and WC. This was larger than average, bang up to date with contemporary fittings and we were the only 2 rooms using it. We stayed 2 nights on our journey up to Skye and are returning for another night on the homeward journey. Always a pleasure to stay here, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyjodevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Generally speaking our stay here was very pleasant. We stayed for two nights on our way to Skye. We booked a room at the top end of their prices and weren't disappointed. The view over the loch to the hills from the large picture windows was magnificent. We had a large, modern bathroom with a good shower and a bright and comfortable room. Breakfast was ok and the staff friendly. The only problems - the free wifi only connected when we were just outside the room and the TV reception was dreadful for anything other than BBC.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

A lovely B & B over looking Loch Linnhe. I stayed here for one night with some American friends while traveling around Scotland. The rooms were clean and beautifully furnished and the house a short walk away from the main town. There are tables set up outside so you can sit and enjoy the stunning views. We were also given some good advise on where to eat.

My only criticism is the sausage that came with breakfast wasn't very nice, they need to buy better quality sausages.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visited Fort William during mid August 2013. We travelled all the way from Canada and wanted to explore the Scottish Highlands. We randomly chose this B&B..which turned out to be the best. The view from our room was breathtaking..we could not ask for more. We stayed three nights. The room was very clean and specious. Dora was very friendly. Dining space also had breathtaking views. Breakfast was really good. Bathroom was very clean. 5 minute walk from the city centre. Our companion (my cousin) had a 16 months old baby. This B&B welcomes babies as well which is really nice. Very well maintained garden. All in all our experience was beyond expectation. I would not hesitate to give it the highest rating in terms of service, location and experience. I would definitely like to go back to this place over and over again. I feel blessed to discover this gem in the highlands.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the loch and the mountains cannot be beaten for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

stayed at Myrtle Bank on the first night of our West Coast holiday en route to Applecross. We had two rooms one on ground floor and one on first floor both overlooking the Loch and mountains. We were met and greeted by Dora who was exceptionally pleasant, our rooms were immaculate and we had a super evening in Fort William.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor with views, ground floor front room occupants can be disturbed by people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Mass
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We drove to Ft William from Edinburgh ...I'm not sure how we found Myrtle Bank maybe from reviews on TA or in a travel book, we made our reservations several months ahead . We stayed on the second floor of the main house , Our room was spacious , with lovely furnishings and a view of Loch Linnhe and the mountains it looked like a photograph . The windows were large and could be open . That was great as the weather was with us . The bathroom was large and modern very clean with a fabulous shower and plenty of hot water . If you had a room that was not En Suite I agree with another review it would not be a problem as the bathroom on our floor
was as nice as the one in our room. The location is also a plus we parked the car and did not have to move it for the 3 days we stayed. The town is really a five to 10 minute scenic walk away. We found the owner helpful , and if she was not around her husband or a helper was
available to answer questions . I would stay here again......location and rooms are great . They also have a very pretty garden in the front with tables and chairs overlooking the loch a nice place to sit and relax .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch no matter what the weather is like the view is like a picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Property: Myrtle Bank Guest House
Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort William
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing