We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here one night with my wife whilst waiting to take the Hogwarts Express the next morning!
I was pleasantly surprised by the number of rooms it had as my wife told me that it was a B&B! The view from our room was excellent though we were facing the road but can hardly hear the traffic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcChuaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    148
    45
    7
    8
See reviews for
158
365
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Enjoyed our short stay at the Mrytle Bank Guest House in Fort William. The landscaping is beautiful and we enjoyed a beautiful walk along the shore. Comfortable, private room. The only down side was we were on the third floor (would have been fine at the beginning of the trip but the suitcase was getting a little heavy) and our carpeting was a little damp from a recent shampooing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatlovetravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We didn't spend a lot of time here. However, the woman who checked us in & out was lovely, the room was comfortable & clean, and the view was beautiful. The breakfast was traditional Scottish in a lovely room. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmutt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We came to Fort William for the Tour de Ben Nevis (mountain bike race) but only decided quite late that we were going. Most places I tried for availability online were fully booked or expensive, and I was getting quite frustrated trying to find somewhere reasonably priced. Normally I only check availability and book online, and so avoid places where you email for availability. But after seeing this guest house ranked no.2 on trip advisor, I thought it worth a shot. I'm so glad I did!! Dora got back to me straight away, confirming availability and price, which was great for 2 nights. What a lovely place to pull up to, plenty of parking, and we were able to leave the bike in their garage too, so that was a bonus. We were in room 1, one of the double rooms with a shared bathroom, opposite the breakfast room. This was great for the first morning, as we needed to be up early anyway, but thank god we didn't have a late night on our 2nd night, as people were so loud going in and out of the breakfast room (and as the door was open to it, you could hear everything going on and people talking inside). This was the only downside to our stay. The room was gorgeous, with a lovely view over the loch and we were lucky to have a bit of dry weather to sit outside our window in the garden. The centre of the town was about a 5 min walk, so easy to get to. If we were to come again, I'd definitely be looking at staying here again ( although would ask for a quieter room, probably upstairs).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyGal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed one night at this b&b/guest house in the second house. The house was well decorated and had a hotel feel. Quiet and spacious rooms. Breakfast was nice to have it made hot to order, we were accommodated in our special requests with no issue which was very kind. The views from the house are amazing as was the gardening!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aslondon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for one night during September 2013.

Our groups twin room was modern, well decorated, very clean and a reasonable size. Although it did not have an ensuite we had our own sink. Our 3 rooms were all located in the annexe building, this did not cause any problems.

The two single rooms booked were both reasonable in size, again very clean and modern.

On arrival, who I assume to be the owner, was very friendly and helpful.

I had the healthy option for breakfast and it was a very good selection of fruit and yogurt. I was hoping to have the porridge on the menu but it wasn't offered. The cooked breakfasts looked very average with very cheap sausages. This is one of my pet hates (Scotland has such great produce and we so often give tourists average to awful breakfasts, how about Stornoway black pudding, venison or beef sausages or arbroath smokies or similar!!)

Anyway I couldn't really fault this place and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSJAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

For a two day break in the Highlands we couldn't have had a better base. The staff was friendly and helpful on arrival, escorting us to our room and making certain that all was as we expected. The large double room itself was beautiful - on the ground floor with views of the magnificent grounds through 2 very large windows. En suite shower room, hospitality tray, large flat screen tv, comfortable bed and a couple of easy chairs completed the relaxing environment. Everything very clean and pristine - no worn out carpets, towels etc. Breakfast was excellent, as was the view over Loch Linnhe - either a traditional cooked breakfast or a delicious healthy option of exotic fresh fruit and yogurt, Usual options of drinks, cereal, toast and oatcakes.
Only drawback was the lack of insulation between bathrooms - our neighbours might well have been in ours (with the door open)!
We certainly intend to return and recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reid c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Property: Myrtle Bank Guest House
Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort William
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing