We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here one night on our mad dash to see Scotland. The hotel was attractive, clean and well located. The room seemed fairly priced, and I will say the breakfast was good, not memorable. We would stay here again when in the area. Tip for eating, we ate at "the Old Station Restaurant" about 10 minutes drive away. Our food was soooo good. My wife had the salmon and I had the chicken stuffed with a little haggis surrounded by some really yummiest rich gravy, both served with super good veggies. We couldn't stay for the singing but wish we could have. The price was about 14£ each and worth every penny. We look forward to eating there again. Ask for a window seat for a little nostalgia.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. Dora is very nice and very helpful. The property is a very short walk to the shopping area that also has several restaurants and pubs. We had a room on the main floor right by the reception area. Our room had a sink but you had to go out of the room to our private toilet with sink and shower. The only down side to this was it was the reception area. However, we did not have to climb any steps. The flowers are beautiful and rooms decorated very tastefully.
Scottish breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: I would try to reserve a room on the front with a good view of the water. However with the view com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Myrtle bank B & B for 1 night after our Jacobite Steam train trip to Mallaig. This B & B is in a lovely old building with beautiful gardens overlooking the water, with a 5 min walk to town.
We had room 4 on the first floor which had views of the Loch, it was a good size, clean, lovely decor with a very squeaky double bed !!
The bathroom was clean but very, very small, it had a tiny shower and toilet in it, with a few basic toiletries
The full cooked breakfast was delicious, made to order as well as cereal, juice , tea and coffee.
Dora was very friendly on check in but beware this B & B is cash only and is on a very busy road.
The Myrtle Bank is a lovely B & B for a short stay in Fort William.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a very squeaky bed and tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for one night. It was a last minute booking and we got the last room - a double on the ground floor by the front door.

Inside the room, we could hear people entering and leaving the building and could potentially get noisy but thankfully Fort William is not the kind of place for drunken late night stumbles.

The room was clean and fresh. The breakfast was delicious. Only a short walk away from the centre too.

I would happily stay here again (but maybe in a room further away from the front door).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here one night with my wife whilst waiting to take the Hogwarts Express the next morning!
I was pleasantly surprised by the number of rooms it had as my wife told me that it was a B&B! The view from our room was excellent though we were facing the road but can hardly hear the traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcChuaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Enjoyed our short stay at the Mrytle Bank Guest House in Fort William. The landscaping is beautiful and we enjoyed a beautiful walk along the shore. Comfortable, private room. The only down side was we were on the third floor (would have been fine at the beginning of the trip but the suitcase was getting a little heavy) and our carpeting was a little damp from a recent shampooing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eatlovetravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We didn't spend a lot of time here. However, the woman who checked us in & out was lovely, the room was comfortable & clean, and the view was beautiful. The breakfast was traditional Scottish in a lovely room. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmutt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort William
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing