We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view but there are some heating issues”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but there are some heating issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room in the top floor. While it had excellent views, it got very cold at night. We were not informed ahead of time that the radiator shut off at 10:30 pm. I told the staff the next day and they didn't seem surprised that it got to 57 degrees Fahrenheit in the room and said that that was considered warm by Scottish standards (hard to believe). Then next night we used the electric space heater that they provided and it was fine. The breakfast was great and everything else was good, but I do not recommend the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinglefloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    148
    45
    7
    8
See reviews for
158
365
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights in the self contained house just behind the ensuite guest house - we had booked what we thought was an apartment for 3, and what we got was way beyond what we were expecting. House was modern, beautifully decorated and had fantastic views of Loch Linnhe.Had all mod cons, large tv, wifi, the single room was upstairs and had a sitting area which my daughter just loved - didnt want to come home.We had breakfast both mornings in the main dining room in the b&b, which was more than adequate for us, didnt have to wait long and it was piping hot, and my daughter loved the hot chocolate.A 20 minute walk takes you to the station if your going to go on the Jacobite train journey which we did. Plenty of places to eat in the town, we tried both the The Crofter Bar and Restaurant and the Wetherspoons pub The Great Glen and had lovely meals in both.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnfarrelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of two-weeks touring the Hebridian Islands and the Highlands. The property itself is amazing and is a few minutes walk into the centre (shops/pubs/restaurants). We compared it to staying in a stately home! The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy with top quality bedding. The en-suite shower room had an electric shower, which is important as we had a couple of problems with thermostatic showers on our tour! Both the room and en-suite were spacious and we had fantastic views of the bay from our window at the front of the property. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, cooked breakfast and tea/coffee & toast. Service was also excellent at breakfast. We walked to the castle ruins (about 3 miles round-trip) then had a potter around the shops. We also visited the West Highland Museum which is excellent. Fort William is a great place to visit even if you are not planning to walk Ben Nevis! If you do visit, Myrtle Bank Guest House is the place to stay. It definitely deserves to be number one on trip advisor!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meesajarjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Loved it, it ticked all the boxes. Beautiful building and gardens. Lovely clean room, good breakfast with a superb view. Very short and lovely walk to town, pity we couldn't stay longer.
Town is cute and the lock beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays_Trips_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our mad dash to see Scotland. The hotel was attractive, clean and well located. The room seemed fairly priced, and I will say the breakfast was good, not memorable. We would stay here again when in the area. Tip for eating, we ate at "the Old Station Restaurant" about 10 minutes drive away. Our food was soooo good. My wife had the salmon and I had the chicken stuffed with a little haggis surrounded by some really yummiest rich gravy, both served with super good veggies. We couldn't stay for the singing but wish we could have. The price was about 14£ each and worth every penny. We look forward to eating there again. Ask for a window seat for a little nostalgia.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. Dora is very nice and very helpful. The property is a very short walk to the shopping area that also has several restaurants and pubs. We had a room on the main floor right by the reception area. Our room had a sink but you had to go out of the room to our private toilet with sink and shower. The only down side to this was it was the reception area. However, we did not have to climb any steps. The flowers are beautiful and rooms decorated very tastefully.
Scottish breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: I would try to reserve a room on the front with a good view of the water. However with the view com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
965 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,319 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Myrtle bank B & B for 1 night after our Jacobite Steam train trip to Mallaig. This B & B is in a lovely old building with beautiful gardens overlooking the water, with a 5 min walk to town.
We had room 4 on the first floor which had views of the Loch, it was a good size, clean, lovely decor with a very squeaky double bed !!
The bathroom was clean but very, very small, it had a tiny shower and toilet in it, with a few basic toiletries
The full cooked breakfast was delicious, made to order as well as cereal, juice , tea and coffee.
Dora was very friendly on check in but beware this B & B is cash only and is on a very busy road.
The Myrtle Bank is a lovely B & B for a short stay in Fort William.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a very squeaky bed and tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Property: Myrtle Bank Guest House
Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort William
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing