We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, despite minor flaws”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, despite minor flaws”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very beautiful B&B, a short 5-minute walk the main street of Fort William.
Lovely view of the loch.
Dora, the owner, was super nice, friendly and helpful.

Only two flaws:
1. There was no wi-fi connection in our room.
2. The breakfast was very delicious, but they neglected to mention that there were two options on the menu -- a cooked breakfast, and a healthy breakfast -- with yogurt and fruit

Room Tip: Remember to ask what are the breakfast options
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    153
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
162
378
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Myrtle Bank consists of 3 seperate houses but each one is truly beautiful inside and out, the grounds are manicured and you can tell the establishment is run by a perfectionist.

The furniture and decor are gorgeous.

Breakfast was good but perhaps not as good as befit the overall excellence of the houses.

Room Tip: Our room was number 4 which was lovely but you could hear the sound of the boiler around 6.30am kick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our third stay at the Myrtle Bank and, as always, a faultless experience. Lovely rooms, excellent breakfast and impeccable service. Highly recommended and surely the best place to stay in Fort William?!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great but if you don't like stairs, ask for a ground floor room as some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyjodevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Myrtle Bank is a beautiful house (in fact there are several adjoining houses), tastefully furnished and with fabulous views over Loch Linnhe. Everything is immaculate - even the very beautiful garden over which you can view the loch. The breakfast and service are excellent. Our hostess was friendly and efficient offering tremendous value in a guest house of such very high standards. We would recommend this guest house as one of the very best.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have the most fabulous views. All rooms are beautiful, well equipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were fortunate enough to be given a lovely loch view room overlooking Loch Linnhe. Our room was very comfortable, equipped with an ensuite bathroom.

The breakfast room was overlooking the loch as well. The ladies were there to prepare a nice hot breakfast, or if preferred a health breakfast was available. The service was very friendly and personable.

The location was very convenient as there was about a 5 minute walk into the village of Fort William. This is very convenient for the Jacobite Steam Train Station.

Dora was very welcoming and a great hostess for the B & B.

One aspect that was very disappointing was that the WIFI was rarely working properly in the 2 nights we stayed. I was bumped off so many times and that can be quite annoying. Not sure what was the issue here??

All in all, our experience there was very good and I would recommend a stay at this B & B.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The views from the front of the house and the breakfast room are magnificent. Unfortunately our room looked out the back so it was less impressive.
Our room was clean and comfortable. The B&B is in a good location. It faces the loch and is a short walk into town.
It is a fairly large B&B so it didn't have the usual homely sense I'm used to in a B&B.Service was fine but not particularly friendly (although Sandra who gives you breakfast is lovely).
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Fort William it is good but not outstanding accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
256 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here through a Viator excursion and felt very fortunate that this was our selected B&B. It's set facing the Loch and has gorgeous rose gardens out front, making for such a picturesque scene. Our family of six had a building in the back to ourselves, and there was a nice cooked breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Property: Myrtle Bank Guest House
Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort William
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing