We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but traditional”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Certainly firmly rooted at the traditional end of the guest house spectrum. Dark wallnut furniture; flock wallpaper thick enough to carpet a floor; pictures of Culloden, Highland cattle, deer stalkers; Myrtle Bank can give a rather sombre impression. Once settled in, you realise that traditional though it is, it does actually do traditional to a high quality. Reasonable sized room, spotlessly clean, very cosy, a good breakfast with great view of Loch Linnie thrown in, it sets a high threshold in quality. For comfort you won’t be disappointed. But personality wise - there isn’t really any. And £75 for a double (single occupancy) seemed steep compared to better places I stayed in elsewhere around the £40- £50 mark (stern notices around the place instruct guests that only cash is accepted!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingstonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Myrtle Bank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

We have included a stay at the Myrtle Bank Guest House since we first started visiting Scotland in the 1980's as a family. The rooms are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The ensuite bathrooms are clean and bright. Breakfast is always good with a choice of traditional Scottish cooked or a lighter alternative of fruit and cold meat. The staff never fail to greet us warmly and courteously. The location overlooking Loch Linnhe is fabulous and we never tire of the views across the Loch.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONTravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was the most expensive place we stayed in our week in Scotland and I was really dissapointed. We were a bit late as we had travelled a long way in bad weather and I had forgotten we should have let them know. We arrived at 7pm and were basically told off but at least our room was still available. Parking was available but a long way to actual entrance of guest house with gravel to go over with suitcases. The lady pretty well brushed us off when we asked for recommendations for a restaurant near by and there absolutely no info in the room at all. Breakfast was a rushed affair with one girl having to serve 40 guests.......... we felt again rushed out of the breakfast room. I will avoid in future any b&b that has so many rooms. Our room was very cold and damp and on main road which was quite noisy as we sleep with window open.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happycrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Our lodging at Myrtle Bank was booked by a coach tour company. In a week's visit to Great Britain/Scotland we stayed in 6 hotels or guest houses. This was by the far the best place.

The location overlooking the Loch and steps away from the small town of Fort William is great.

Breakfast was the best of the week also.

No need to add a photo, the ones I took look almost as good as the ones TripAdvisor has posted for the Myrtle Bank.

The room was the largest I stayed in all week.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbySmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Within walking distance to town. Great gardens! We had the garden room and the view of the loch and garden was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We have just returned form Myrtle Bank Guest House and we enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and clean with a fantastic view over the Loch. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. If we returned to Fort William would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artarn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We loved our stay at Myrtle Bank - the locations was stunning and a short stroll from the centre of Fort William. Could not believe the price as this place has really made an effort to make you feel welcome. The little touches - from the gorgeous flowers in reception to the exceptionally clean and beautifully furnished bedrooms. Breakfast was lovely too...

Well Done to the owners of Myrtle Bank.

This is a Gem and we hope to return very soon

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisalou789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
718 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort William
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing