We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite the best!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Chorleywood
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Quite the best!”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Having booked accomdation for a whole tour of the west coast of Scotland travelling with my husband and friends, our last stop was Ft William. "Talk about save the best until last" What a wonderful find Myrtke Bank was. Large rooms, spotlessly clean plently of thought given to seating, lighting etc So comfortable with wonderfull views across the road to the Loch. Anything you wanted for breakfast and very friendly owner and staff. When returning to Ft William I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousChorleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    155
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
168
387
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We became impressed about this place. Big, beautiful and very clean rooms with nice views to the loch. We only stayed there for one night in our travel along Scotland, but I recommend it for a longer quiet break.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Located on the B&B congested main road from the south into Fort William, Myrtle Bank provides an impeccably clean and cosy place to stay. The owner was very friendly and made a good effort to make us feel welcome on arrival.

Our group had five double rooms, dotted across the two sides of the house. Our room was a nicely sized quiet double to the rear and, therefore, without a view of the harbour to the front. We would recommend a room upstairs as the others on the ground floor did complain of noise from 7:30am when breakfast starts; one room was opposite the breakfast room and the other was at the reception/check out area. Another couple had a room without en-suite but the shared bathroom seemed to be fine for them. The most notable feature of MB is the cleanliness of the en-suites which are stocked with plenty of soap products, face cloths, etc. The girls were impressed by the high quality hairdryers also.

Breakfast was a standard choice of cereals and juices followed by a choice of either standard cooked breakfast or a gorgeous 'healthy' option of lots of berries and chopped fruits. Fort William is less than ten minutes walk away where there is a good choice of restaurants and bars including the much recommended Crannog fish restaurant which is on the bypass road to the west of the town. The house has plenty of parking for those with cars.

We figured that the room price was appropriate for the accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr. London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Certainly firmly rooted at the traditional end of the guest house spectrum. Dark wallnut furniture; flock wallpaper thick enough to carpet a floor; pictures of Culloden, Highland cattle, deer stalkers; Myrtle Bank can give a rather sombre impression. Once settled in, you realise that traditional though it is, it does actually do traditional to a high quality. Reasonable sized room, spotlessly clean, very cosy, a good breakfast with great view of Loch Linnie thrown in, it sets a high threshold in quality. For comfort you won’t be disappointed. But personality wise - there isn’t really any. And £75 for a double (single occupancy) seemed steep compared to better places I stayed in elsewhere around the £40- £50 mark (stern notices around the place instruct guests that only cash is accepted!)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingstonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We have included a stay at the Myrtle Bank Guest House since we first started visiting Scotland in the 1980's as a family. The rooms are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The ensuite bathrooms are clean and bright. Breakfast is always good with a choice of traditional Scottish cooked or a lighter alternative of fruit and cold meat. The staff never fail to greet us warmly and courteously. The location overlooking Loch Linnhe is fabulous and we never tire of the views across the Loch.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONTravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was the most expensive place we stayed in our week in Scotland and I was really dissapointed. We were a bit late as we had travelled a long way in bad weather and I had forgotten we should have let them know. We arrived at 7pm and were basically told off but at least our room was still available. Parking was available but a long way to actual entrance of guest house with gravel to go over with suitcases. The lady pretty well brushed us off when we asked for recommendations for a restaurant near by and there absolutely no info in the room at all. Breakfast was a rushed affair with one girl having to serve 40 guests.......... we felt again rushed out of the breakfast room. I will avoid in future any b&b that has so many rooms. Our room was very cold and damp and on main road which was quite noisy as we sleep with window open.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happycrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Our lodging at Myrtle Bank was booked by a coach tour company. In a week's visit to Great Britain/Scotland we stayed in 6 hotels or guest houses. This was by the far the best place.

The location overlooking the Loch and steps away from the small town of Fort William is great.

Breakfast was the best of the week also.

No need to add a photo, the ones I took look almost as good as the ones TripAdvisor has posted for the Myrtle Bank.

The room was the largest I stayed in all week.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbySmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Property: Myrtle Bank Guest House
Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort William
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing