We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B - location, comfort & breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenshian Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Convenient for Fort William or even Banavie train stations, beautiful location on the edge of the Caledonian Canal with views into the corries of Ben Nevis. Comfort, friendly and a warm welcome with a great breakfast choice

Room Tip: bedromm overlooking out over canal to Ben Nevis
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willllwynbedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

What more can we say other than to thank you for writing the review. It is much appreciated. See you soon. Perhaps to ride the Jacobite train next time. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Glenshian Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

We arrived, after a long journey, to a friendly welcome and hot drink. We stayed in the 'Fern' bedroom which had stunning views across the Caledonian Canal to the Nevis Range. The room had everything you could need and the en-suite was also well equipped. The guest lounge and conservatory provided comfortable and relaxing surroundings with a supply of books, magazines, guides and a television (sky). The only problem we had was deciding what to choose for breakfast!! The choice was so varied and a few extra days there would have allowed us to try more of Glenys' good cooking. Eating breakfast in the conservatory gave us the chance to watch the numerous breeds of birds feeding in the well stocked garden. Through the back garden we found ourselves on the canal banks and only 3 minutes walk from Neptune's Staircase (Amazing to watch). We were made to feel very welcome and Glenys and Iains local knowledge made our visit even more enjoyable. Definitely worth another visit.

Room Tip: Excellent views from Fern Bedroom.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skellys_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi to you both, Thanks for writing your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope the car rally went well. Look forward to seeing you again either on your way to Skye or on another rally. There is much more to explore in the area and a warm welcome awaits. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed here this week with my son for the canoe trip along the Caledonian Canal. The house is lovely and ideal for anyone contemplating this trip. It is beautifully kept, the room was en-suite with everything you need definately a home from home feeling, beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with a good choice for all tastes.

We were welcomed with tea and biscuits, and Iain helped us get the boats and the gear into his garage ready for the trip. and likewise to the canal at the start!

We had tried to get two nights but it was already booked. So we kept to the plan and travelled on our original day and spent the night in the car. When Glenys heard that, she said we should have let them know we were in the area and they would have got out an airbed or let us put the tent in their garden.....how good is that!

Iain and Glenys are a lovely couple with a beautiful home, and were helpful with lots information helping me plan the trip.

Thoroughly recommended and I will be back with the rest of my family again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here?
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi, Glad you enjoyed your canoe adventure. You would not like it today - it is lashing down and very windy. It is our pleasure to help you where and whenver we can. Your fellow canoeist made the trip too but not in such good time as yourselves.A few stories to tell. We look foward to meeting the rest of the family. Thanks again. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

It's a few years since we stayed in a B&B and didn't know what to expect but if the Glenshian is anything to go by we'll be staying in them a lot more often. However I suspect that this B&B is at the exceptional end of the market! From the pleasant decor, good food, helpful owners to the amazing view you can't go wrong. I sat all evening in the conservatory watches the sunset over Ben Nevis and if I got bored there was always the Caledonian Canal and beautiful garden with the birds and duck family. The breakfasts were excellant with good choices and I recommend the smoked salmon and srabbled egg. The owners were pleasant and helpful and there was always a welcome at the door when we returned from a day out plus a pot of tea and biscuits.
I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolihullCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for writing your review. Is was very kind of you. Pleased we were able to give you a great experience at our B & B - unfortunately not all do. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was our second trip to Glenshian, and it felt like we were coming home. Glenys and Iain give a lovely warm welcome - and don't bat an eyelid at muddy boys and muddy bikes! The rooms are exceptionally clean,comfortable and stylish, with a great lounge area for chilling out in the evening. The Caledonian Canal is a few yards away at the bottom of the garden and it's just a short stroll down the towpath to the locks of Neptune's Staircase. The tasty breakfast is served in the conservatory with a spectacular view over the canal and Ben Nevis. Would not hesitate to recommended to anyone, and fully intend to return very soon...xxx

Room Tip: The 'green' room (think it was called Fern) has the view over the canal and Ben Nevis.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boobiedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi Sorry it has taken this long to reply to your review. We have been very busy. Hope the boys did not go home too wet and muddy and did not injury themselves. The weather was not that kind to you. Atleast you had to do the washing and cleaning up!!! It was very good to see you again and a shame I couldn't accommodate all of you for all the time. Thanks for the review it is very much appreciated. See you again soon. Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Amazing views, friendly owner, clean & tidy with an excellent breaksfast in the morning. Stayed here while doing the three peaks and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for writing your review. It is very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the surroundings. The views are pretty good we must admit. See you again next time. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Have stayed here on 2 seperate occasions and have left with the same high opinion each time! Would recommend without hesitation. Stunning views of Ben Nevis and Neptunes Staircase.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shorwell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thanks for the review. There must be something about a Thursday at the moment. It thundered and lightened yesterday too. Not quite so bad or critical this time mind. See you again next year - we hope. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
713 reviews
1.3 mi away
Torcastle House B&B
Torcastle House B&B
#1 of 4 in Banavie
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
#34 of 111 in Fort William
144 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leasona Bed & Breakfast
Leasona Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 5 in Torlundy
103 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
#65 of 111 in Fort William
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenshian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshian Guesthouse

Address: Glenshian Glenshian Glenshian | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £28 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenshian Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our peaceful country home, set on the banks of the Caledonian Canal and only three miles from Fort William where you can come and unwind in the Highlands of Scotland, breathe the fresh mountain air and relax in this family run 4* bed and breakfast. Guests can enjoy the Highlands at any time of the year as each season has something to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenshian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenshian Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing