We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenshian Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this B&B for one night in the twin room. Glenys welcomed us on arrival with a cup of tea in the conservatory that has great views of the Caledonian canal at the bottom of the garden and up to Ben Nevis. The room was spacious and nicely decorated with one double and one single bed, both the room and the en-suite were very clean. The large and tasty breakfast selection is very good. There are a couple of places to eat within walking distance or it's a short drive into Fort William (The Ben Nevis Inn is a great choice for good food and good atmosphere in an old converted barn).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 93Matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi to you both. Thanks for writing your review - it is very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Congratulations on climbing Ben Nevis. Hope your legs were not too stiff after driving down to Sedburgh on your way home to Somerset. See you again sometime. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Glenshian Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

A fabulous B&B in an excellent location. Caledonian Canal at end of garden, 7 locks of 'Neptunes staircase' just yards away. Iain and Glenys superbly hospitable with lots of information, fab food and transport from station. Could not have been better!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 456Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi to you all, Thanks for writing such a complimentary review it is very much appreciated. Congratulations on the ascent of Ben Nevis - a great achievement for some-one so young. Sorry your stay was so short - until the next time Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed two nights this week at Glenshian Guesthouse and it was truly first class. We arrived dishevelled and within minutes Glenys had steaming coffee and biscuits on a tray for us, which was so very welcome. The room was immaculate with a hospitality tray, a folder with info such as wifi password and a good-sized en-suite. We slept soundly with no disturbance to wonderful breakfasts - it was difficult to decide from such a truly exceptional menu. The breakfast was served in the conservatory with views of Ben Nevis and their beautiful garden. Over breakfast we chatted with Iain who was very helpful and provided us with all the information we needed. We also had access to a sitting room with TV, books, games if needed. The location is excellent - right on the Caledonian Canel with Neptunes Staircase a two minute walk away. The Great Glen way is on the doorstep and the Jacobite railway passes Banavie station which is about a 7 minute walk away. A local, well-priced hotel about 5 minute walk away is a good place for dinner. Glenys and Iain were welcoming and helpful but not intrusive and we had an excellent stay. Next time we're in that part of the Highlands, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tinac173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi to you both. Hope the journey home wasn't too arduous and that the first class rail ticket was worth the extra!!! Thanks for writing your review - it was very kind of you. We are very pleased when people stay and what we provide ticks all their boxes. It would be nice to see you again but this time please don't look like a couple of drowned rats standing at the door. Never mind you were soon welcomed into our home and warmed with some hot coffee and homemade biscuits. Did you enjoy the gondola on your way to Inverness - the weather was pretty kind to you. See you again soon - next time on the sleeper perhaps. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our second visit to Glenshian Guesthouse and on both occasions we have found Glenys and Ian to be extremely welcoming. We were greeted on arrival with tea and biscuits. Our room was on the front of the house but there were fantastic views from the conservatory of the Caledonian Canal and I am told Ben Nevis - on both our visits it was unfortunate that the mountain was covered with cloud! The conservatory and lounge area with TV was purely for the B&B guests use which meant we could relax in comfort after a long day out.
It was great that we could walk down the side of Neptune's staircase for our evening meal meaning that both of us could enjoy a drink with our meal.
My husband, John thoroughly enjoyed his chat with Ian about trains and we both loved his books of train photographs. Breakfast was excellent, cooked by Glenys and served by Ian in the conservatory whilst we looked at those wonderful views.
Thank you for a lovely stay. If we return to Fort William we will definitely return to Glenshian.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meryl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi to you both, Thanks for writing your review it is very much appreciated. Since you left Ben Nevis has taken its hat off most days. A lot of people enjoy the walk along the canal for something to eat and drink. Saves another drive into Fort William after what can often be a long day. Iain can chat about trains and it is nice to meet someone with the same passion. The 2014 Train book is on its way. If you get to Arran next year really enjoy it and don't forget we are only 2.5 hours away. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A warm welcome from Glenys awaited us at this lovely B&B in Fort William. Our room (with ensuite) at the front of the house was quiet and cosy and decorated in a modern style. The view of Ben Nevis from the large sitting room and glassed-in breakfast room at the back of the house was stunning and the passing boats along the Caledonia Canal near the Neptunes Staircase just a stones throw away. Evening meals are available from 2 hotels within walking distance and the 3 mile trip to town can be taken by bus which is close by. Free access to WiFi and off street parking is available. Thankyou Glenys and Iain for a lovely stay at your B&B. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SusannahWodonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi to you both. Thanks for writing your review. We really enjoyed your company and the conversations we had. Have you looked at the web site on Tiree. Pleased that you seemed to enjoy everything we have on offer here. I must admit the view is hard to beat. Regards Glenys, Iain and Beja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I would recommend this guesthouse to friends vising Fort William. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was very good in terms of quantity and quality. The location is on the lake so you can stay there and enjoy the views without leaving the area. It is also very quiet at night so you could get a good night sleep. Ample space for parking and fully accessible to people with mobility problems. The hosts made an extra effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I would definitely go there again when visiting Fort William.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi to you Both. Please you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to your friends. As you say our home is in a quiet area so a good night's sleep should be enjoyed. Glad you liked the food and the views from the house. We try to make everyone welcome. Until the next time. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We simply enjoyed this guest house. The rooms were clean and comfortable (and this coming from someone almost obsessed with cleanliness). The breakfast was far way superior to the ordinary (albeit ok) ones served in other guest houses. I would definitely recommend this to a dear friend:) Location is very quiet and we loved it (we had a car).
When we visited Fort William it was very hot (we were really lucky). We had used up all our summer clothes and were in some panic. We asked the owners if they could kindly wash the clothes for us... our clothes were washed and dried by the very next morning.
Great guest house, great breakfast, excellent service. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lula_Vella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for writing your review. It is very much appreciated. The weather has changed since you left us. Your winter clothes would do fine now. We were pleased that we could help out with washing, drying and ironing the few summer clothes you had. It will be good if you recommend us to your friends. A warm welcome awaits for you and anyone else that wishes to stay with us.
Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
712 reviews
1.3 mi away
Torcastle House B&B
Torcastle House B&B
#1 of 4 in Banavie
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
#34 of 111 in Fort William
144 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leasona Bed & Breakfast
Leasona Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 5 in Torlundy
103 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
#64 of 111 in Fort William
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenshian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshian Guesthouse

Address: Glenshian Glenshian Glenshian | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £28 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenshian Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our peaceful country home, set on the banks of the Caledonian Canal and only three miles from Fort William where you can come and unwind in the Highlands of Scotland, breathe the fresh mountain air and relax in this family run 4* bed and breakfast. Guests can enjoy the Highlands at any time of the year as each season has something to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenshian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenshian Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing