We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and conventiently located accomodation in Fort William” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and conventiently located accomodation in Fort William”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here the third night of our honeymoon roadtrip around Scotland. The Glentower Guesthouse was a sight for sore eyes after a day of driving on our first single-track roads! The grounds are very well-kept and it's conveniently located lochside, just as you pull into Fort William--about a three-to-five minute walk into the town center. The owners and staff were super friendly and welcoming.

Our room honestly surpassed my expectations for a guesthouse/B&B: it was large, nicely decorated and the bathroom was the kind you would find in a modern hotel room. After a day of hiking Glen Nevis, we took full advantage of the over-sized bathtub to warm up and relax. Breakfast the next morning was good, if not my favorite (the haggis still had casing around it, etc.). But other than that, the breakfast room itself was very nice with prompt service, and we had a view of the loch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atxannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    50
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
133
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Having stayed in guest houses all over the British Isles I headed to Fort William Driving along the Lochside towards the town I was struck how many dull grey stone buildings there are.Suddenly I saw a beautiful colourful building.This was Glentower and I hoped that the first impression would last when i entered the building. The inside was fantastic and traditionally Scottish.
The owners are made for the job and create a lovely warm friendly feeling,which transmits to the staff.
This has to be the place to stay when in the Highlands,Its the best .A fantastic place full of history and tradition where the rooms are modern.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjnskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Great B&B first place to call when in ft william freindly great service staff very freindly food great will always call them first owners have made me feel so welcome and nothing is to much trouble for what your needs are thankyou again for a great stay hope to see you again soon .Jeff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed over Easter and had an excellent stay. Friendly and welcoming owners, very helpful, a very attractive and relaxing room with a lovely view, an excellent choice at breakfast. And only minutes from the town centre. Everything we wanted. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great place to stay in a lovely city, the room and staff were amazing. Stayed 3 night in the Family Suite. If you are headed in Fort William and are looking for a place stay, this is it! The bedroom was huge and with 4 bed we still had plenty of room to move around. The bathroom was without doubt the greatest bathroom I've seen in a Hotel/Bed and Breakfast ever. After a long day of shopping, biking, or hiking around there's nothing better than to soak in a huge bathtub.
This place might be a little bit pricier than the other run-of-mill hotels here in Scotland but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birddogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We came to scotland to visit our daughter who was a study abroad student in Glasgow(Stathclyde). We stayed for ten days with the end of our trip ending in Fort William staying at Glentower. Our trip got better at each location we stayed. The place was absolutely serene. Our view was of the loch across the street. Views gorgeous. Accommodations were very roomy. My husband and I and a 21 year old daughter. The bathroom was absolutely heavenly with the claw tub. We stayed 3 nights. Enjoyed every moment. Seen some of the best countryside I have ever seen. Rode the train up to Mallaig one day and hired bikes one day. It was so nice to come back to a spacious comfy room. i would recommend this to anyone. Breakfast in the mornings was excellent. They catered to us so well.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Breadshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Fabulous and highly recommended. Will go again. Rooms are newly refurbished. Bread and breakfast of a high standard. We stayed with family and had no issues. Parking available on site. Site is on they in road into Fort William and overlooks a loch with lovely views

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alokrajani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse

Property: Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing