We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Annex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Annex”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in the annex. Very modern, clean, luxurious bathroom with bath tub. A perfect stay with view over the loch. Approximately 5 minutes walk to city centre. A beautiful beach walk passing the house.

Room Tip: we lived in a room in the newly built Annex which was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    50
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
41
138
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My mother, wife and I had a very nice room for two nights. The owners were great to talk with about history of the B&B and the daughter was also helpful with some bus info in town better than the tourist information in the city center. Nice short walk to town with a lot of great pubs to eat in. The breakfast we had each morn was top notch. Thank You.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently.
Room lovely, good bathroom. very quiet.
The overall service from the owners was great and they were very friendly.
On the negative side one of the nice things about staying away from home is that someone else does all the food side of things.
And on this side the standard of the cooked full breakfast was very average, almost poor.
My wife stayed at a place in Bournemouth last weekend which was cheaper and the breakfast was way better than what we had here.
Which is a shame as everything else was tip top.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, lovely room well appointed, great breakfast and friendly owner and staff, situated close to town centre. Views from front of building are fabulous.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toftywofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bardfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here Wed 23rd to Sun 27th Oct. Although there were only two of us we were given the Linnhe Suite - Room 2, a large family room (double bed, two singles) on the ground floor with a lovely bay window overlooking the loch with large ensuite bathroom. A table and two arm chairs were placed in the bay window and binoculars were thoughtfully provided so one could view the wild life on the loch. Excellent breakfast every morning. The B&B is a 5 min walk from the town and there are excellent restaurants close by. The Lime Tree two mins walk up the street on the corner (expensive and a bit nouveau cuisine) The Crannog Sea food restaurant on the pier - superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our tour of the Highlands, and were very happy with the accommodations. Our host was most welcoming, the room was clean, comfortable, and beautifully appointed. It was an easy walk into town for dinner, and our breakfast the next morning was delicious. The Guest House is in a beautiful location, right along the water. We would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zazzup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a 2 night break on 8th Oct with my boyfriend. Sadly he didn't ask for a loch view room, but none the less the allocated room was quiet, well equipped and relaxing, despite looking over rear garden and properties beyond. Bed was so comfortable and we slept like a log. I recently lost my mum and this was a much needed rest. Hosts were attentive but not intrusive and the tasty breakfast was served quickly, I would have eaten a lot more but tried to be ladylike haha.
Hope to be back soon as my boyfriend a Munro bagger, tho on this occasion we went on more gentle walks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse

Property: Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing