We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fassfern Guesthouse
Ranked #47 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sutherland
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Stopped for overnight stay on our way back from Arran, The guesthouse was excellent very clean and comfortable with a lovely outlook, The cooked breakfast was also excellent. we will definitely go back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    31
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Fassfern for a week in Sept 2010 and give it full marks, very clean, very obliging, helpful, handy location, great value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_sharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

Just had one night stay in Fort William so glad we picked Fassfern. The owners are very welcoming and will do anything they can for you. The B & B itself was spotless and the rooms very fresh and clean, the ensuite lets it down a wee bit. It was a bit small for my husband and son-in-law but that is not a complaint just an observation. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a long while, will be visiting Fassfern again had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great little B&B located opposite Loch Linnhe and within 2 minutes walk of the town centre. Driving into Fort William from the south you will pass a large number of B&B's and I was delighted to find that Fassfern was the closest to the town.
The room was a good size and the whole premises was very clean.
The breakfast was okay but it would have been nice to get a choice of eggs and as a Scotsman, it would have been good to see square sausage, potato scones etc on offer.

However, this was the only fault that I had with our stay.

Overall, I would recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moore1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed here for three nights after walking the West Highland Way, rooms were well decorated and spotlessly clean. Nice comfortable bed - great after lots of walking. Excellent breakfast, lovely gardens and fab view over the Loch, really friendly owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwood
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Fabulous house, warm welcome and beautiful garden and great breakfast.. Stopped just one night, would have liked to stay longer, had the front bedroom overlooking the loch and need not have worried about the road noise as it didn't disturb our sleep. Would stay there again if ever in Fort William.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladygabalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We will be staying again this weekend with clients, it's clean and good value for money. As with most B&B's you arrive collect your key and see the owners when you leave and pay simple, easy and straightforward. Our room was huge and very welcoming on the ground floor, the bathroom however, was more of a cupboard making drying yourself after a shower more of a yoga workout, having said this it was very clean. This room (Ground floor front) has a dining room on one side which is obviously quiet on an evening however the noise did travel too much through the wall of the adjacent room. Which was a shame as this was the only reason for the 4 ratings.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugar_fried_seaweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#11 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Ardlinnhe Guest House
#29 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#2 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balcarres Guest House
Balcarres Guest House
#49 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fassfern Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fassfern Guesthouse

Property: Fassfern Guesthouse
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fassfern Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fassfern Guesthouse Hotel Fort William
Fassfern Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing