We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Night in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fassfern Guesthouse
Ranked #44 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We landed up at the Fassfern by accident. We had booked at another B&B but for some 'technical' reasons we were shifted to his B&B instead. I must say we are not disappointed. Far from it! We could spend just one night at Fassfern, and it was very pleasant.

We were warmly welcomed by the proprietor, Debbie, who took time to discuss our breakfast preferences, gave us some idea about what we could do in own and then left us alone...

We were given a room with a splendid view of the Loch Lnnhe and my wife and I spent quite a bit of time first walking by the shores and then looking through the window in the evening and sitting out in the beautifully manicured lawns in the morning. The B&B is also very close to the town centre. Its location is very convenient. The room was clean and fairly spacious.

Breakfast was good with ample servings. We did not try anything out of the ordinary and we were very satisfied with what were served.

This was the best B&B of the four we had stayed in, in Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debpk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Well we stayed here on our yearly round Scotland bike trip and will DEFINATLEY return. We were recommended to this place by a previous B & B as they were full - and what a favour that was! Great off-road car park for our bike, with good level surface. Our room over-looked the loch and was nicely decorated and immaculate. The place is located very close to the main shopping and eateries area of Fort William, and so we were please that we could stroll out for drinks and food. Breakfast was good

Room Tip: Try for a Loch view at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank North_Starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had booked a two nights stay and were confirmed a room with Loch view, but when we arrived we were told that they were overbooked and that we would have to take a tiny room in the back with a wall view and some exhaust pipe noises, or look for another B&B. The host was very apologetic, but this did not change the fact that the room we got was not very inviting. However we spent the evening with a glass of wine in their front garden and enjoyed the view from there.
Breakfast was fine, and service was efficient. Internet was working well, and there is a parking lot behind the house. The owner seemed a bit reserved. All in all not a bad place, but we were disappointed due to the room problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngryGerman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Spent two nights at the Fassfern Guesthouse last week, and found it to be warm, comfortable, clean and good value. The breakfast was well organised, and well cooked. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone staying in Fort William, especially as it is less than a five minute walk to the centre of the town

Room Tip: The rooms with the loch view are worth paying a little more for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent a couple of nights here back in July 2012. My Wife and I were blown away by how helpful and friendly the staff were and how clean, tidy and comfortable the accommodation was. The breakfasts that were provided were second to none, they were absolutely first class. I had originally planned on a foreign holiday next year, but the experience that we had is making us think about going back to Fort William, and without a doubt we will be staying at Fassfern again.

A wonderful experience overall... thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddyB1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at Fassfern for 5 days as a base to explore the surrounding area. Bedroom had great view of Loch Linnhe. Room was comfortable and very clean, which was important. Ten mins walk from the train station. Breakfast was lovely. Debbie, who runs the place was very friendly and accommodating. She encouraged us to request a variety of cooked breakfast in case we got bored of the usual - all was tasty and on our last morning, she showed us the kitchen to help ourselves as we had an early start before breakfast which was very kind. I would encourage you to stay. One very tiny point is that it would have been nice to have the bed sheets changed twice during our stay. But this is not a hotel so this may be slightly unfair in expectation as it was a pleasure to spend time there and we would definitely return - which we shall. Incidentally, the Mallaig Jacobite train journey is a must as is the Nevis Range cable car trip, Inverlochy Castle walk and the Fort William Museum is a treasure. Crannog Restaurant appears the only worthy restaurant in Fort William - do pre book.

Room Tip: Request Loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed there for one night. We paid £5 extra for a lochview and it was worth it. Beautiful, clean room. Really nice and helpful staff, tasty breakfast. Location of this B&B is about 7min on foot to the city centre. We can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,051 reviews
1.0 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gantocks B&B
The Gantocks B&B
#38 of 111 in Fort William
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 111 in Fort William
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fassfern Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fassfern Guesthouse

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £79 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fassfern Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fassfern Guesthouse Hotel Fort William
Fassfern Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing