We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fassfern guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fassfern Guesthouse
Ranked #44 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2014

stayed at fassfern guest house en route to mull for family holiday.we recieved a very warm welcome from the owner.we were delighted with our rooms which had great views over loch lhinne to wake up to that view in the morning was brilliant.the breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish for cooked to perfection and plenty to satisfy everyone thought it was good value and if we are back in fort william fassfern will be our first choice to stay thanks again to the owners

Room Tip: ask for a front room the view is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely b & b.
Clean, friendly & tidy.
Breakfast was lovely with a healthy option of fresh fruit and yoghurts as well as the full cooked breakfast.
Private parking at the back.
Just a few minutes walk from fort William town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsydoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Looks over Loch Linnhe so best with bedroom facing the front. Excellent breakfasts with good service. A lounge to sit in would make it perfect.It was warm despite poor weather.Would recommend this as an excellent base.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I'll begin with the positives: Good location and lovely view of the loch. Clean room. Polite hostess. Free wifi which worked well. Breakfast was okay but not outstanding.
Now the negatives: The bathroom was extremely tiny. I'm sure there are many people who could not fit into the shower. There was no place to put toiletries except a precarious glass shelf above the commode. No hanger on the back of the door for robe or whatever. The commode sometimes would not flush. The bed was very hard. The television did not work.
I would mention there was no heated towel rack but I would sound spoiled but I really love those things.
The hostess wasn't as warm as other hostess's we have had in B & B's. Again, she was polite but there was an aloofness and all-business air about her. I feel that it was overpriced considering all the limitations. We have stayed in several B & B's and know what to expect and do not mind paying for quality and service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent place to stay for bed &breakfast plus owner does state she can do other meals if need be ,found place very,very clean & tidy , food was excellent far better than most hotels do and owner was really friendly and helpfull also guest house is approx 3min walk from fort william itself will definitely be going back there again next time we are having a break up there

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First the positives (and there are a lot of them). The location is superb; overlooking the loch. The exterior is lovely, well kept, beautiful garden and flowers with chairs and tables to sit in and relax. The interior is very clean, well decorated and well maintained. The bathroom is very small but that is minor - you don't sleep in the bathroom! The bed was comfortable as was the temperature of the room. SO, you ask; Why did I give it a 3? Two words; The Owner!
When we arrived it was raining and we were struggling to get the luggage, and us, in and not get wet. There was no welcome, no offer of help, no friendly comment even on that conversational cliche, the weather. We were rushed to our room and before we even removed our jackets she was pushing us to tell her if we wanted a cooked breakfast or not. She was literally in our room while we were trying to sort out the luggage, jackets, etc insisting that we tell her 'now'. Later we wanted to go out to dinner and, having never been to Fort William, stupidly asked her for suggestions. Her reply was, 'There are some flyers in the front hall'. Breakfast is from 8:15 until 9:00, this is ridiculous. I assume it is to get her 'guests' out of the way so she won't have to be bothered. We stay in B&B's/Guest Houses a lot and this is the first one that gave you no choice as to what you were served or how it was cooked. The eggs were fried, period. No 'would you like white or wheat toast', nothing. Also the sausage was inedible. This is not just my opinion; none of the 4 of us would eat it - it was probably the cheapest available. As the night before, there was no "good morning" or any interaction. After breakfast, we went back to our room to pack; fortunately we stayed only one night. My husband went to pay and she actually followed him back to the room. I think she was trying to get us out so the cleaning could begin. Most people who stay in B&B's rather than hotels do so to meet and interact with people who live in an area. Not here! I really don't know why she is in the business she is; she obviously either doesn't like or is uncomfortable with people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The room was spotless and it was cosy and comfortable. You get quite a few tv channels, free wifi, tea, coffee etc and little sachets of shower gel and shampoo. The shower was easy to work, the room temperature was just right (I'm usually uncomfortably warm when staying in hotels) and the bed was very comfortable. You only get one pillow but you just have to ask if you want more - Debbie was happy to get me extra ones. Breakfast was nice - fresh fruit, cereal, toast, yoghurt, cooked breakfast, tea, coffee and juice.

I had a look through some of the other reviews and felt that I should comment on them. Basically you get what you pay for - if you want a large room with a big bathroom, fancy toiletries, a panoramic view, staff to carry your luggage and an extensive menu for food at any time fork out extra money and go to a hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,051 reviews
1.0 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gantocks B&B
The Gantocks B&B
#39 of 111 in Fort William
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 111 in Fort William
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fassfern Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fassfern Guesthouse

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fassfern Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fassfern Guesthouse Hotel Fort William
Fassfern Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing