We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious home and care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dailanna Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #58 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gracious home and care”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We arrived without a reservation and Florence graciously invited me in to see her available room/bath. The house and our room were beautiful, the gardens lovely and Florence was great. The house is tucked away off the road, quiet with a view of the loch. A bit on our high side, but well worth it. A convenient spot when traveling to the Skye or Mull ferry.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

If you asked me to describe a quintessential Scottish B&B, this would be it. The garden was filled with flowers, lots of parking upon arrival. The living room was a bit grand-motherly (which could be expected given the age of the hosts), but nice for relaxing.

On the otherhand, the bedroom had very modern decor. The beds were very comfortable, the room was cozy, although a bit snug for two people, and very clean. My only complaint with the room was the shower - while the water was very hot, it was not the best water pressure, and not a great angle.

The best part of this place was the breakfast. You have to order the night before, and it is served promptly at 8, but fabulous. Choice of eggs, sausage vs. bacon, home-made yogurt and jams - all very promptly served, hot, and excellent quality.

Except for maybe the shower, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Wow!! On a long drive we decided we should find a place to sleep. It was by simple luck that we ended up here! And what a pleasant experience.
Andy and Florence are warm and inviting. They are the best hosts we have ever had the delight of meeting. To be honest it is more like going to stay with family (the side you get along with well!!!)
The rooms were amazing, the breakfast was great, and the view was breathetaking.
Having the guest lounge, tv, games, books, a patio, etc made the experience even greater - allowing us to relax and enjoy our holiday. The fact that you can get all of this for a very reasonable price makes it even better! It is clear that Andy and Florence run this business because they enjoy receiving guests, and are not out to make a quick profit at others expense.
We do have one regret though - and a warning - one night is not enough!!!
Thanks :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlene_nzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Not only was the view breathtaking, the breakfast wonderful, and the rooms lovely, comfortable and pristine, but best of all the inn-keeper, Florance, is the sweetest and most hospitable woman I have ever met. She went out of her way to make sure my cousin and I caught our train on time and were comfortable in every way possible. The house is quiet and beautiful, and the atmosphere makes you feel as though you've been invited in as a member of their family. I can't speak highly enough of this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Me and my fiancée booked this accommodation (July 2009) based on the previous reviews in Trip Advisoer. We were not let down.

Nestled between Fort William (about 10 miles) and Glenfinnan (5 miles), the Dailanna is a quaint B&B with a beautiful view of Locheil.

It was also great value @ £28 per person for B&B. The hotels in Fort William would have been about double the price despite being stuck firmly in the 80s!

In general...

Breakfast - delicious, plentiful and made to order!

Rooms - Our room was modern, spacious and the en-suite was immaculate. After climbing Ben Nevis I could have done with a bigger bath but probably wouldn't have been able to get back out!

Location - Although not walking distance to Fort William, the tranquillity of this place more than compensates for the short drive along into town.

Host - Florence instantly makes you feel at home and has a great knowledge of the local area (what to do, where to eat etc).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu-Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
--
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We stayed for one night on our way back from the Highlands. It's truely an amazing B&B with outstanding view. Every thing in the house is nice and pretty. Breakfask is excellent and Florence has been one of the nicest host we have met. Defintely worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveyLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Stopped here on our way to Mallaig and the Isle of Skye. Very comfortable B&B. We had a twin bedroom, not very big but cozy. Gorgeous view from the patio on Loch Eil. Had dinner at the Prince's House Hotel nearby (nice meal but service was slow).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmayor26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
5.1 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
268 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#26 of 111 in Fort William
161 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Lochailort Inn
The Lochailort Inn
#1 of 1 in Lochailort
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
523 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 29 in Fort William
257 reviews
6.1 mi away
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
#6 of 29 in Fort William
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dailanna Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dailanna Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dailanna Bed and Breakfast
Address: Dailanna House | Kinlocheil, Fort William PH33 7NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dailanna Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dailanna Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dailanna Bed And Breakfast Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing