We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our retirement includes spending as much time as possible at the very special place called The Glen Nevis Campsite.

We discovered this site about 16 years ago and knew straight away it was always going to be special and a place we would always return to and a place that would play a big part in our retirement.

My husband had several strokes in 2009 and we were given an early retirement different to the one we planned.

My husband is disabled and we reserve one of the 4 pitches that the owner/ management have provided to help disabled people. These are close to the excellent well stocked shop and the facilities.

The shop on the campsite is incredibly well stocked. You can honestly buy anything from needle and thread to chemicals for the toilet to electrical bits and pieces the caravans may need (and that I do not understand)

The shop has fresh bread and milk, a good variety of food can be bought in the shop to provide a meal ….. Disposable BBQ stuff can also be bought along with the essential bottle of wine!

The campsite…. It is my opinion that it is perfect!!! And it is ONE thing my husband actually agrees with me about!

The campsite is very caring of the environment. Feeding the birds is encouraged with lots of bird tables. Recycling point of glass and paper is provided.

Practicalities – Very good Laundry room, plenty of washing machines and dryers and the rare bonus of a spin dryer. The cost of using the equipment is VERY reasonable and the equipment works well. The pot wash always has loads of hot water and the showers and toilets are cleaned and maintained to a high standard and lots of hot water. If you have forgotten to pack the practical stuff it can of course be bought at the shop.

Close to the campsite is the excellent Glen Nevis Restaurant where you can buy lunch or an evening meal or call in for coffee through the day or call for a glass of wine after an evening walk. It is nice to call in on an evening and have the personal touch of staff remembering your tipple and ask about your day.

A little further along from the restaurant is the Café Beag.

Walking into the centre of Fort William takes around 40 minutes from the campsite.

This week we had a crisis of our motorhome leaking in water and the bed/seating not able to be used. I made enquiries to move into a static on the holiday park part of the site as staying in the van was impossible.

Management and staff did absolutely everything they could to help myself and my husband.
The static caravan we stayed in was excellent and had everything we needed. Staff took away our drenched bed from our motorhome and dried it out for us and helped me sort out the repair of the leaking window. The holiday home part of the park also has a laundry room and small shop.

We are now back in our motorhome on our favourite pitch and I am typing this long overdue review of this excellent site.

I highly recommend the Glen Nevis Campsite and would like to give a special mention to ALL staff and a huge thank you for all support and help.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    154
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
171
229
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We planned to stay here on a Friday night, walk up Ben Nevis on the Saturday and then head home. After over eight hours walking, when you're tired, hungry, dirty and sore, it doesn't take much to make you stay another night. The surroundings are beautiful, everywhere is well maintained and the pitches are well drained. To wake up in the morning and see Ben Nevis behind you is quite something and, after a very tiring walk, i stepped into the best shower I have had on a campsite, with proper taps! So many campsites have the push button showers where you push a button to get some water and then, 10 seconds later, press it again to get some more. In these showers, turn them on, get the temperature as hot as you want and just stand there for as long as you want. Priceless. On top of this, the staff are top notch - very welcoming, very helpful and the prices was great. When we got down off Ben Nevis, we all said never again. Now, with muscles feeling a little better, we can't wait to get climb up again and, when we do, we'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Everywhere on this site seems good. It's well spaced out and very well drained so great if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amlwch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here in August, the whole experience from arriving at the reception through to the fantastic breakfast van and exceptionally clean facilities was brilliant. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This campsite is one of the best sites my two daughters and I have stayed in. The amenities are clean and very accessible, with great facilities. On arrival at the campsite, I realised I left my tent poles 700 miles away at my home.....wooops....the staff at the campsite were extremely helpful and helped us get the poles we needed for our tent.

The snack bar was by far the best and cheapest snack we had had all week travelling around the highlands.

We will definitely be returning, even if it just to take in the scenery that we woke up to every morning......breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great site with excellent and very clean facilities. Probably the best site we have stayed in having toured quite a bit around Scotland. Only problem we had was an arrival after midnight who pitched their tent 1.5m from our tent despite us having pre-booked a pitch with electric hookup. Even if the staff had asked them to move the next morning would have been sensible. Some control over where late arrivals pitch would be a good idea. Also we had neighbours who insisted on running their van engine from 8 am until 8.45 for no apparent reason!

Shame these issues to an extent spoiled an otherwise great stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from a lovely stay in one of their static caravans... excellent value...excellent location...definitely stay again...thanks for a lovely stay the only thing I would suggest would be to provide recycling facilities ...brought mine back home with me :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianriding78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This campsite was one of the best of our experiences in Scotland, it is clean, spacious, and the scenery around is wonderful, with great views of the surrounding mountains especially at sunset. Price is also moderate and there is a very good restaurant nearby.
The only downside is that Fort Williams is not so close to go to the town centre and a vehicule is needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikoubun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
794 reviews
9.1 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Glen nevis, Fort William PH33 6SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Nevis Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Fort William
Glen Nevis Caravan And Camping Park Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing