We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit August 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Great location (between the mountains) with good facilities (clean!) for a reasonable price. Nice place to stay when you wanna climb Ben Nevis. Its only about 10mins away from the start. Keep the amount of rain in mind though.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elleiram1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I first stayed here in the late nineties and at that time I thought this was the best campsite in the world. But others have caught up and overtaken. It is still a very good campsite. Reception is friendly and well organised. The site is well kept and spacious. The location is very good for local walks, kayaking, cycling etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SidBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have stayed at this site every year for the last ten years during the Mountain bike world cup which is held each year in Fort William in June.

I have yet to be disappointed the site is well laid out and they don't try and cram it to bursting point as this is always a busy week for them and normally full. The onsite facilities are well stocked and well maintained and clean with enough to go round. Little tip if really busy go to the showers in the caravan area saves queuing :O)

There is also a descent onsite shop that sells most essentials and also pub just a 2 minute walk away which is pretty well priced.

For what you get in terms of the per night for a tent and car you can’t go wrong really, you can pay more for a lot less at others sites I’ve stayed at in the UK and Europe.

Now be warned this is midge central but I’m not knocking the site in any way for this as it is the highlands after all and it’s just nature showing you who I s boss, but be warned there like little dive bombers so take your replant and keep ya zips closed on your insect screen on the tent and pray for a slight breeze.

Now the 4 star and not 5, after this year I have noticed a large price increase on the onsite catering van and also the shop, now i know there is inflation but there is a limit and weather this is just during the week i go each year im not sure, but we were shocked this year as were the people i was staying with. But please don’t let this put you off as hay Fort William town centre is within 2 miles and your camping so get the pots and pans out and the super noodles and away you go.

All in all you will not be disappointing as just waking up to the views in the morning is enough to make you fall in love with this place nothing better then unzipping your tent to see the sun rise over Ben Nevis and the hills.

Happy camping and its a thumbs up from me for this place

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here Ina camper van without a reservation. The field we were in was fairly quiet with excellent facilities, including toilets, hot showers, scullery, water taps and electric hook ups at an extra cost. The site itself has its own shop and snack van. Surprisingly, it also had very few midges for its location. Great place to stay if you plan on climbing Ben Nevis.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Super place to stay - excellent, clean and free showers and toilets. Campsite set in gorgeous scenery - perfect location for climbing Ben Nevis. Onsite shop and pub nearby means you have choices for dining. Will definitely return!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 292ChristopherJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stopped here for 4 nights in July 2014 with our two children (12yrs and 16yrs) in our caravan.
The site is absolutely beautiful, literally right at the foot of Ben Nevis with fantastic views and access if you're wanting to climb it.
The site is exceptionally clean and staff were extremely polite and helpful.
We were very lucky with the weather and therefore were able to simply cross the road and paddle in the River Nevis to cool down.
Only down side was that we pre-booked for 3 nights and therefore when we wanted to stay an extra night we had to move to a different part of the site that cannot be pre-booked. Had we known that such a large proportion of the site was unreserved, it would have been better to have just turned up and then stay for as many nights as you liked.
Also, there did only appear to be one set of toilets, showers, facilities etc. which could be a trek depending on whereabouts on the site you are, but it didn't cause us any problems.
Overall a fantastic site in a beautiful, peaceful part of the World, that I would recommend to anybody and we can't wait to visit again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank natashalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in our campervan here and found the facilities were great. This is a huge park but as it is laid out in many different sections, it still felt cosy. It is beautifully nestled in a basin with fantastic views of the mountains all around. We arrived in the evening and so chose to have tea from the on-site caravan takeaway rather than the restaurant down the road. There was a reasonable choice of food and what we had was nice and of good quality and price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
525 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#8 of 21 in Fort William
516 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
889 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#9 of 33 in Fort William
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Glen nevis, Fort William PH33 6SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £66 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Nevis Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Fort William
Glen Nevis Caravan And Camping Park Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing