We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site with excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great site with excellent views”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This campsite is excellent. The shower and toilet facilities are clean and practical. We stayed in the benview area of the site, with stunning views right up ben nevis. There is a reception, shop, a takeaway van and a 5 min walk to a pub/restraunt. We went here every night and the food and drink was nice but pricey. Everybody in there are mainly campers too and everyone is friendly. The place is also very quiet and everybody respects that. All in all a great site and i will be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jonomac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    157
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
177
241
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I camped here for 2 nights when climbing Ben Nevis. We didn't need to reserve or pre-book and had no trouble finding a good pitch. Ample parking is also available next to the pitch sites. The toilets and showers were clean and hot water was available. There is a hairdryer in the female toilet block. Lots of on-site facilities and fort William is just a short drive away. Perfect place to stay if you are taking the mountain track up Ben. Friendly and helpful staff too! Highly recommended campsite.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Isabel54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing camp site totally beautiful location. Reception and shop staff so friendly and go above the call of duty. They arranged the right hook up plug and the caretaker went to his home for a fuse for our motor home..wouldn't take our offer of money either.
Ate at the burger van and had delicious fish and chips. Whole campsite clean and tidy toilets clean and showers the same. Campsite closed to vehicles at 11pm so quiet too.
Only gripe was the immensely rude shower block cleaner. As I was going into the shower block she nearly knocked me over and made it clear in broken English that all the showers were being cleaned. She then stuck a plastic cleaning sign in my face. I got the message so went to the toilet block to brush my teeth and there was a wee lonely shower looking for an occupant..hopped right in and heard the tuts of said cleaner who must have followed me in. Five minutes later my 12 year old daughter and her friend came in to the toilet block and they sounded upset. Turn out they had tried to go for a shower and were told the same as I was and as they walked out she tapped them and held up the small sign to their faces she had showed me and told them to go away..they were really upset and as she had been less than pleasant with me I dread to think how she sounded to them. Such a shame as everyone else was so lovely. This lady needs to take direction from the other staff employed here as they could teach her a lesson or two.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

GReat site, well laid out, lots of pitches even in the height of 'summer'. No need to reserve a pitch. Facilities were good, warm showers etc.
Staff were very friendly.

Great location for climbing Ben Nevis, ideal for the slightly shorter route by walking up to the youth hostel and cutting off about a half hour walk.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What are the Gillick place, camping next to the river, in view of the mighty Ben Nevis, I'm surrounded by a glorious Glen. You couldn't ask for more.
The minute is more than glassful, and the adjacent holiday cottages and lodges look magnificent.
The site is very well maintained, very friendly staff, an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great campsite. Good price, friendly staff, good facilities; toilets, showers, scullery, shop and a hot food stand. Well organised site so it doesn't become crammed even in the busiest of seasons and events.
Great location, stones throw from the foot of the mountain and a few pubs on the route too.
Definitely take some insect repellent for the midgies as they are particularly vicious in this area, keep your zips on your tents closed.
The only reason I haven't put it as excellent is because open fires are not allowed on this site, personal preference as I have been on others where they are allowed and it is a great part of camping.
Would recommend this site.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

In the shadow of Ben Nevis with all of the facilities you would expect from this highly rated campsite the showers and toilets were clean and tidy bins emptied very regular great location as a base which is what we used it for to explore western highlands and the Cairngorms!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
1.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
539 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
477 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
9.1 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
6.8 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Glen nevis, Fort William PH33 6SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Nevis Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Fort William
Glen Nevis Caravan And Camping Park Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing