We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little difficult without a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Reviewed 13 August 2013

To start with, this hostel is NOT in Fort William proper. Chase the Wild Goose is in Banavie. It takes about an hour and fifteen minutes to walk into Fort William. The hostel is close to a bus route that takes you into Fort William and also close to the Banavie train station. So, getting around is still possible via public transport, it's just not nearly as convenient as staying in Fort William would be.

Chase the Wild Goose had a nice atmosphere. The staff was very friendly. The bathrooms were very clean. The rooms were a little crowded feeling and a bit damp if we didn't keep the windows open at night. A continental breakfast was provided for 3 pounds. We paid 5 pounds for WiFi for 3 days.

Overall, I would recommend Chase the Wild Goose if you can't find accommodation in Fort William.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gellen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hostel was clean, friendly staff, good kitchen and common areas. It also had good with toiles and showers. Not the best but good enouth. Buts its greety to not provide free lockers and wifi, I have been to many hostels and this was the first time I had to pay for this services.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank NilsPhilipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here with friends at the weekend and had a thoroughly entertaining and enjoyable stay.
Yes the rooms are a bit shabby but all is clean and the beds are really comfortable - and why anyone struggles making them with the provided linen is beyond me!!
Breakfast is provided if you want and the kitchen / cooking facilities are excellent. Lots of board games, cards, dvds available for when it rains (and it will!!)
Would certainly go again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked online and then realized that they charge 2% credit card fee. I emailed them and asked if they could refund me and I could pay cash upon arrival, which they did and told us, "We would not wish our guests to feel the way you do before setting foot in our establishment, therefore we feel it is best, now that you have been refunded in full, that you seek accommodation elsewhere." We were totally floored. We called and explained our situation, and was hoping that there was a misunderstanding and then they told us to try again online. We did and then we got the same response by email, telling us to "Unfortunately we have decided not to process your booking & advise looking for accommodation elsewhere." We did nothing wrong and was trying to be really nice about it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank greenjenniferwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSpeshul, Owner at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We really believed we had done the best thing, but clearly we fell short. We know it was exceptionally busy in the area and alternative accommodation was difficult to find, but be hope you found something more to suit your needs. We are keen to help any guest who has mistakenly chosen our accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel is a bus ride (1.65 gbp) away from fort william, or a one hour walk. Nearest supermarket is a 20 min walk along main road or half hour along nice canal.
Wifi costs 2 gbp for whole stay but weak signal and slow.
Breakfast offered for 3 gbp.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilonmorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Good location, the railway station and the bus stop are both very close; Neptune's Staircase is right next door and the Ben Nevis isn't far either, not that I could see much of it as it was raining when I got there.
The place is much more relaxed than the military-style rules on the website would suggest and the manager is very helpful (it looked like he was doing everything in the hostel). The rooms and facilities are ok, nothing fancy but acceptable for the price.

Room Tip: Don't be surprised if you end up in a different room to what you would expect. I booked a bed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Room: Road trip with a group of 4, we got a room with two bunk beds and a wash basin. The heater in the room worked quite well. The linens provided were quite strange and slightly restricting when sleeping. Out of four of us, only one figured out how to put them on despite there were instructions on the wall. The room is not very big. Be careful if you are in the lower bunk, you won’t be able to sit up and will hit your head easily. Four sockets are found in the room.

Environment: Nice house, the entrance is lovely. There were sufficient parking spaces. The kitchen is clean and well equipped. There are many lockers in the first floor. Having shower by using the electric heater was enjoyable. Flushing in some toilets may require certain level of patience. Breakfast is not included. Geese are around the hostel! Well…ornament only.

Positives: The manager was a nice and resourceful gentleman who suggested us the attractions around. The hostel is close to a BP gas station and right next to one of the attractions in Fort William – the Neptune Staircase. There is a small Co-operative not too far on the way to Glenfinnan Monument and Glenfinnan Viaduct (two landmarks right next to each other). The car park of the viewpoint of Glenfinnan Viaduct is on the right side of the road from the hostel. 10-15-minute drive to the town centre of Fort William, on the way there are a big Morrison’s (where we had our breakfasts), McDonald’s and a bowling centre.

Negatives: We were worried with the strict terms for arrival and departure at first but in our case it was quite flexible. We checked in at 3pm after coming from Ben Nevis. The blankets felt a bit damp. The hostel is very friendly to outdoor enthusiasts. As the washing machine is inside the kitchen and pass the dining room, some climbers, hikers and cyclists may go in and out with their laundry when you are having your meal. 50 pence will be charged for card transaction.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynphei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
603 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
525 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#15 of 21 in Fort William
240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase The Wild Goose Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £17 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chase The Wild Goose Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can now enjoy FREE Wi-Fi and FREE BREAKFAST at this fantastic recently refurbished hostel near Ben Nevis. Great accommodation for walkers, climbers, backpackers and families. Enjoy a break to the Scottish Highlands. Be inspired by fantastic views of Ben Nevis. Take an evening walk along the banks of the Caledonian Canal and Neptune's Staircase. Above all, share your experiences with like-minded travelers. Quality hostel accommodation sleeping 42. Meals available nearby, with kitchen facilities in-house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chase The Wild Goose Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing