We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Campfield House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Innseagan House Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lime Tree(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Highland Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
23
21
24
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
21
24
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge breakfasttwin roomstayed here for one nightlochbnb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have just read the reviews for this B & B and after staying here for a night recently I can say the owners were polite and friendly, especially Margaret she chatted to us for a while both in the evening and after breakfast.
The room was comfortable and the bed was excellant. There was a bathroom off the bedroom which was fine. Beautiful views onto the Loch. Yes there was a mobile home in the garden but it did not bother us.
We took the car into Fort William at night for a meal - about 3 miles- no problem.
The breakfast was excellant- great porridge. We had the dinning room to ourselves. Booking breakfast the night before was not an issue. Cannot fault anything-

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here on a spur of the moment trip away on the motorbike, on booking never looked closely enough to realise that although listed as Fort William it is indeed out of the town itself, okay i suppose if you have a car and dont want to indulge in a few highland drams, we had neither as we were touring on motorbike and fancied a dram or two! It cost us £10 each way into and back from town in a taxi and a big part of me wished i'd booked in town. More than that though the host's attitude on our arrival, on a motorbike, cold, soaked to the skin and 1hour and 15mins early, really did little to put warmth into me as i jumped off the bike to see him continually looking at his watch, His opening line of greeting being 'you are a bit early for check in' Hidden well was his empathy for two soaked bikers who had anticipated better weather for the trip, which would most likely have saw us arrive much later than the 'Correct' check in of 4pm, unfortunately for us and much to our hosts distaste, mother nature decided to pour with rain for the last hour of our 5 hour journey. Us being Scots anticipated that an early check in or even a bit of empathy for soaked bikers would have been available from our host, wrong we were. On the up, despite informing us 5 times between the driveway and the room, that the room may not be ready, we were actually 'quite early' and of the correct check in time, our host showed us to our room where my partner had asked if we could at least drop our luggage, (at this point feeling like an intruder in someones home) he let us check in an hour and 10 minutes early. Host swiftly took our breakfast order, left our key and left us to it.
Room in itself was compact 'a bit DIY tastic' but clean, good sized tv and small ensuite which was perfectly serviceable. Beautiful setting for B and B.
The next morning we made our way downstairs to breakfast to find a table set for 8, myself and my partner sitting side by side facing an italian family and a czech couple at my side, unable to engage in converstaion, even with each other as we were sat side by side. Breakfast in itself was good, hot and edible. Met the 'lady' of the house who was much friendlier than her husband (maybe she should do the meeting and greeting).
left as soon as breakfast was over.
Would not stay here again due to poor hospitality (not what i'd expect in the highlands and dissappointed that visitors to our country may face such a poor welcome).

Room Tip: we had a view of front of house, main road. Would advise if you really had to stay here (if everywhere else was full)ask for view of loch as that was nicest thing about B and B.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brashleyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Would have liked to have said more, but was unable to stay there as my travelling companion was unable to travel. Had to pay the full amount since the owner decided it wasn't worth trying to re-let the room, despite Fort William being short of rooms that week. Easy money - gives Scotland and Scotsmen a bad name.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Cute little house a few miles outside of Fort William. We had a car and it's probably too far to walk into town. The owner wasn't overly friendly but wasn't rude either - just took a little time to soften up and he was a nice, informative guy. We had the best room in the place with a window looking out on the loch and amazing scenery. The bed was SUPER comfortable and the breakfast was also quite good.

The only negatives were 1. the eyesore (trailer) in the backyard, and 2. the house looked very lived in, not quite messy but you definitely felt like you were staying at a friend's house instead of a paid room.

Overall it was a good value for what we got. Would we stay here again? I think we would try to stay closer to Fort William for easy access to restaurants, etc. However, if there is a big price difference we would stay here for the good value and nice service (only if we had a car though).

Also, a tip - to turn on the shower you need to pull down the string hanging from the ceiling. :)

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of the loch!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvisser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

PROS: great view looking on Loch Ness, very comfortable bed, affordable, quiet atmostphere, parking

CONS: hosts aren't friendly/social, average breakfast, no wi-fi :( , cold bathroom, electric heater for room, difficult to find in the dark.

Personally the worst B&B I've ever stayed at but it was cheap on Expedia

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews