We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, compact bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campfield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #103 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, compact bedroom”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Booked 2 rooms, 1 double and 1 twin. Both rooms were very compact, particularly the very modern, clean bathrooms! Tiny basin that we had difficulty using as positioned right next to the toilet with no room between them. Beds very comfortable and decor fresh. Breakfast very nice. The view at the rear was spectacular and would benefit hugely from an area for guests to sit and enjoy a drink with friends, under cover, to avoid the bugs, and not just a 4x4 square in the middle of a large open garden leading down to the loch!!
Phoned earlier in the day to check the location and to let the owner know we would not be arriving until 9.00pm and had my head bitten off. " you're too early, you can't check in till 4.00pm". When we did arrive we didn't get a " hello, nice to meet you, hope you had a good journey". Before we were shown to our rooms we stood, with our luggage, in a hallway and we were all indivually asked to say what food and drinks we would like to have for our breakfast ! The owner had a laminated sheet which he read from and then ticked off our responses! Not the first thing we wanted to do after travelling all day. Such a pity because the location is so lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    24
    16
    11
See reviews for
18
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

we arrived 2 hours early and it was not a problem at all. location is fantastic and garden overlooks the water. room was welcoming, clean and comfortable.
breakfast was delicious.
very pleasant stay. friendly hosts. would definitely return.

Room Tip: all rooms have a good view and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky620186380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

1. Check-in time at 4 seems a bit late. We arrived there at 3:30 and the host was even not in. 2. No Wifi in the room which did not correspond with the description. 3. Tiny room with no desk no chair no wardrobe: we have to leave the luggage on the floor. There is nothing in the room except beds, all you can do is lying down - not even sitting on a chair to have a cup of tea. 4. Tiny shower in a 'wardrobe' with little shower wash which was never filled - we used our own soap on the third night, btw and the tiny sink - you even have to bend over and bury your head deep down into the sink to brush your teeth. 5. No heater in bathroom, and the heater was not on at all during the first two nights, then we borrowed the plug-in heater outside the room as it was quite cold at night but got confiscated, as the host said: we did not have SAFE CERTIFICATE to use it in our room which was ridiculous and the heating was eventually on at the third night, for about an hour. 6. Bed is not clean, a shoe label sticker was found on the quilt. 7. Very noisy at night - you can hear cars passing by all the time and people talking in the early morning. 8. Having to have breakfast sharing one table with other guests which was quite awkward. Having to have breakfast on time at 7, 8 or 9. Having to decide what food (you can choose 5 kinds of hot food) the night before so in the morning your juice and cereal and milk is already prepared in certain amount on the table, once you finish them the host will immediately take glasses and bowls away leaving you no chance to get more, and more ridiculously, you have to save some milk from cornflakes to make you tea!
Generally it was a nightmare, the worst accommodation ive ever had in uk! Would never recommend it!

Room Tip: Never choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mockingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Danny is a friendly host and he gave us a warm welcome. Views from the property are stunning over the loch. The house is 3 miles south of Fort William, easy to miss. Things people have commented on are factors that detract from an overall positive B&B. Rooms are small, no chairs, bathroom in a cupboard is an interesting experience. Check in @ 4 pm seemed late, and only 2 teabags made us glad we had our own. Communal breakfast on a long table might not suit all, but there were staggered b'fast times of 7, 8 and 9. You havevone choice and if another guest has chosen a time before you than that is tough luck. Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yunghart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We booked this B&B the same day and arrived in the evening to a friendly reception and cosy little room. The beds were comfy and I slept so well! The room was on the small side but it is a B&B after all. The breakfast was comprehensive compared to what you get at most other places and it is situated right on the loch. Great place to stay to break from driving!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Our room was downstairs, overlooking the septic tank and mobile home. By craning our necks, we could see the loch. It was a somewhat cosy room, we had to squeeze between the bed and the wall to get to the bathroom, and extra single bed. Despite a broken light bulb and no heater in the bathroom, and no light working over mirror, it was comfortable enough and warm. Other downside of our room, was that it was next to the front door, so we could hear everyone coming and going, and the outside light lit our bedroom, blackout curtains would help. Breakfast was good, and as not a fan of making 'small talk' lack of hospitality by host not a problem. Would say it has seen better days, but don't actually think it has! Wouldn't stay again or recommend, but not a total disaster either.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We took lots of pictures out the room window at sunrise and sunset of the loch but aimed the camera so it would miss the trailer. This is the only Band B located on the loch side of the road going south from Ft William. The room was spotlessly clean and had a nice view but there was no place to put any luggage but the floor. Even a fold up luggage rack would have helped a lot. There was no nightstand either, and one had to place an alarm clock precariously on the bed headboard. You need a car to get to Ft William, it is probably 2 miles away with no place to walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
5.5 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#14 of 21 in Fort William
19 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
955 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#28 of 111 in Fort William
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
709 reviews
5.7 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campfield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campfield House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Campfield House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Campfield 14 Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6SH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campfield House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campfield House is a friendly, family run bed & breakfast nestling on the shores of Loch Linnhe - just three miles south of Fort William's town centre and is the perfect location for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Campfield House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campfield House Bed And Breakfast Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing