We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
25
23
24
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
23
24
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge breakfasttwin roomstayed here for one nightlochbnbcereal
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

A really quiet accommodation with spacious room and clean bathroom as well. The view is wonderful, from one side you can see the mountains and from the other you can see the sea. Certainly a good choice to stay in Fort William. The only negative is the distance from the town centre, it is 10 minutes driving, you will need your own car or to call a taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antoncarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked this B & B for a one night stay to start a tour around Scotland. The owner met us at the door with the paperwork in his hand. He showed us into the dining area and the first thing he did was to ask for payment. I could see why he did this as when we were shown our room (a double), it was quite small. A double bed against one wall, which made it difficult for one of us to bet out of bed easily in the night, one chair, a set of drawers (the size of a bedside set) and no wardrobe, just a bar about a foot long with a couple of hangers, over the tea making area. The bathroom looked OK but, as we discovered from the adjacent room later that night, the electric shower makes a terrific noise when switched on. We were also asked to make our choice for the next days' breakfast being told we could choose only five items from the list (this didn't matter as at breakfast he told us he had no hash browns so we had four items with no alternative being offered). It did seem clean but the bath towels were little bigger than hand towels and the bedroom door rattled every time another door off of the hall was opened. Really glad we didn't stay any longer. Shan't be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house will be quieter away from the main road.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Perfect stay for just one night, with and excellent breakfast! delicious and so filling. The cook was also really talkative and nice!
Rooms very well decorated but we had 2 rooms booked and 1 was upstairs and the other downstairs.
Locations is 10 minutes driving away from Fort Williams but one of the few on the loch side so dont need to look over the road to have great views! Loch is right there.

Room Tip: Super quite rooms... in the middle of nowhere...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LetitflyGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of June after booking mid January. We were greeted at the door by the owner stepping outside, closing the door and saying, "You are not staying in here. We have double booked so I am putting you out here." 'Out here' turned out to be an on site caravan, some distance from the main house. The owner was more concerned that we pay him immediately.
We had no option but to take it as he had our C/C details and if we left we would have been charged. It was late and a Sunday, we were left without a choice. The beds were virtually camp beds, the room (I use the term loosely) I had to occupy was less than 6' wide and there were 2 beds (again a loose term) crammed in there. The bed was just over 2' wide and I actually rolled out several time during the night. However, there was no room to roll onto the floor.
It was cold, he told us it was warm and we would not need heating, and the noise from the traffic passed through the thin walls easily. Not impressed with the brown water coming from the taps and the bath towels (again a loose term, more like a worn out hand towel).
At one point we looked out of our window to see a man emerge from a nearby caravan in his underpants and stood there laughing as we realised what we were seeing. After this we felt rather uncomfortable and needed to close all curtains, eliminating any view we had from the front window. The owner had also told us there was nowhere in the house we could go to use the wifi. One of the reasons we chose this place was due to the advertised wifi availability.
The next morning at breakfast we noted a couch in the breakfast room we could have used. The owner's wife was over attentive after we had commented that we needed to discuss our stay.
She said she would get her husband. His manner was immediately uncooperative. He claimed we had been upgraded to luxury accommodation and it was worth 100 pounds a night! He adamantly stated that we were not getting any sort of refund and he was not registered so we could do want we wanted as far as complaining goes. When I commented on the man in the nearby caravan he claimed it was not responsibility even though he was staying on the property. He behaved in a very dismissive, belligerent manner and was just outright rude. I have photos of the caravan, the rubbish outside the windows, the beds and the sign indicating that this was a caravan for hire.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sisteract2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiance carrie arrived on fri 27th sept we were met by a warm welcome from the owner shown to our room and were well pleased with our room view was amazing room spotless bed very comfy. Breakfast was fabulous,house was spotless and we slept well definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews