We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birchbrae Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alltshellach(North Ballachulish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballachulish Hotel(Ballachulish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Leven Hotel(North Ballachulish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencoe House(Glencoe Village)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
119
34
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
34
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorran ferryfoot passengerssurround soundwell equipped kitcheninformation centrehighly recommend these lodgesben nevis hoteltravel cot and high chairboard games and dvdsinchree fallsbrilliant breakinformation packmain bathroomsized bedroomsferry tripwheelchair accessthree bedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The lodges are in a beautiful, peaceful setting. Inside, the lodge was very clean, very comfortable, warm and well equipped. But, not so perfect we were afraid to touch anything, relax and enjoy ourselves! Everything was as described on the website with the bonus of thoughtfully provided folders on where to eat and what to do. There was also a cabin with plenty of DVDs (decent stuff, not all old and out of date), games and folders of menus from local restaurants. I don't know what qualifies for "Luxury" but this was by far the nicest lodge we have stayed in - no showers only giving a trickle of water here, we were certainly more than happy with everything. My teenaged sons were both very happy with the Wi Fi which they made good use of! The local pub the Corran Inn was closed down, but you are right by the Corran Ferry so the Inn at Argdour served just as well as our local. We liked it so much we went 4 times! All in all, we ate well, slept well and explored the beautiful local area by foot, car and train. I wouldn't hesitate to book again as we all enjoyed ourselves so much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sylvia646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We recently spent three nights here and were completely satisfied with the accommodation and all the utensils provided. However, these are sometimes referred to as 'luxury' lodges and we do not think that they qualify for this description. They are perfectly adequate but nothing really special.
They are situated some miles outside Fort William being nearer Onich but this is an advantage as the situation is very quiet and peaceful. We would agree with the comments of others that there is a very useful folder of ideas provided by the owners although we did not at any time meet them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in Early May. A beautiful setting in a stunning part of the world. The owner is excellent and everything we could have possibly required in the lodge was supplied in advance. He was very accommodating when he had a last minute adjustment to our plans.The lodge was spotless. The guide folder very useful. A great location 10/15 minutes outside Fort William, within driving distance of Oban, Loch Ness, Skye and Mallaig. The added bonus of the leisure club at the nearby hotel was very handy on our rainy day. I would agree with a previous reviewer that one area of improvement would be the sofa in the lodge, which was a little hard for my tastes.

On the whole though I would wholeheartedly recommend these lodges. We'll be back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Moroni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed here as a party of 4 adults and 2 kids, as part of a groupon deal. Paid extra for kids and weekend, but you expect to with these deals. We were allocated lodge 1. The booking process was easy, and even although we cancelled our first booking, the owners were helpfully and accommodating. The lodge was spacious for us all. It was warm, and cosy, and very well equipped. We took things that we felt would not be supplied, but they were. Ie, dish washing tablets, tea towels, bin bags etc. the beds were very comfy, and there was plenty of storage. Bedding was of good quality, as were towels. Good supply of DVDs, kids games available, which was very nice of them. The lodge was roomy, and comfortable, all except the corner sofa, it really was like sitting on a sack of potatoes. Lumpy, hard,worn and threadbare, which was a shame, as it let down the overall relaxation experience. The kitchen is great, everything you could need is there. We used leisure facilities at Ben Nevis hotel, free of charge, and included, this was a nice way to spend a few hours. The lodges are in a lovely setting, and the surroundings are gorgeous. We could not really go out exploring due to the weather tho. I would defo return here, on a deal tho, I'm not sure about paying full price. I have stayed in lodges before, and would describe these as 3* chalets.
Can I just say, they are spotless, and not a speck of dust was found.
Keep up the good work. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank suzysnoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband, myself and our dog stayed at birchbrae lodges for two nights last weekend.
Our every need had been considered and everything we may have needed was at our finger tips. They have pit together a really handy folder full of ideas for days trips/walks/beaches etc. (we took the personal recommendation in the folder and found a beautiful beach for a long walk. )

The DVD library, and use if the facilities near by was the icing on the cake for our relaxing weekend.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmkay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews