We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Lodge / Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant Lodge / Location”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Thanks for a brilliant weekend, everything you need for a comfortable and trouble free stay.
We had a great time and being only 30mins from Glencoe Mountain Ski it was ideal
Thanks again and look forward to coming back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My family and I stayed in lodge 2 and had an amazing time. The lodge was lovely and clean and provided all amenities that we needed. The shed which provided dvds etc was a great treat. The only negative was the windows were easily opened from the inside which my toddler loved to do. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamandAndyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Birchbrae 5th to 7th Feb in Lodge 7. The lodges are in a fabulous location quiet but ideally situated for those wanting to take in Argyll's fabulous scenery.The lodges are spacious and well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Would not hesitate to recommend. Owners maintain the lodges to a high standard and the local info packs have some great recommendations for things to see and do. The walk up to Inchree waterfall and a trip to Cuill Bay and Port Appin were fab.The local is the four seasons bar and restaurant which was friendly and welcoming with a cosy fire and a choice of real ales. Loved Birchbrae and will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drewster1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just back from a weekend at birchbrae with friends. The lodges are so spacious and comfortable and spotlessly clean we had such an amazing time and are going to visit again in the summer with our 4 children as I think they will love it here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Just spent the weekend with my family at the lodges and it was great. Considering there were 6 of us and 2 dogs (albeit chihuahuas :0)) the lodge was extremely spacious and comfortable. Kitchen had everything we could possibly need and a dishwasher was a wee godsend.
The DVD and games library were a great added extra and having free passes to the Ben Nevis hotel leisure centre was a nice relaxing way to spend a few hours. After a recent family bereavement a stay at the lodges provided a much needed and
relaxing break.
Owner John's communication has been great. Made to feel very welcome and myself and my family would most certainly not hesitate to stay here again. We loved it!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lrh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as a group of 6. The cabin looked good on the website but was actually even better in reality. Spacious and modern and set within a fantastic woodland location. Overall I couldn't find a single fault. I'll be staying here again for sure. DVDs and games are available for the kids at no charge and the surrounding area is perfect for the little ones to explore.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for a week with my whole family. We ranged in age from 4 - 81 and all had a great time.
A good location for walking with miles of trails from the back of the lodges (obvously the previous reviewer didn't have a map of the area).
Corran Ferry is just down the hill and you can go across as a foot passenger for free and have a drink or meal in the pub on the other side.
The lodges themselves are great. We had 3 over the week. The ones at the top and bottom of the site got good sun but the middle one was a little dark. Well equiped and John couldn't have been more helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobS_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
146 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,198 reviews
4.7 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
9.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges

Property: Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges
Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchbrae Self Catering Hotel Fort William
Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing