We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for three nights and we enjoyed every moment of our stay. Is a perfect place for family get-aways. Located near Ft.William and is easy to find.The host has all details of the nearby sights and locations in the living room of the lodge. Even if you go there without a plan, you can make one with the details in the lodge. The facilities were excellent.

Will go back next year!

Room Tip: All rooms were good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsk8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Six adults and two toddlers stayed in this wonderful lodge for 3 nights and we were in no mood to vacate on the day of our return. It has a spacious living room with a well equipped kitchen and dining room. The bed rooms were cosy and very nice. The location was perfect for touring the Highlands. The kids loved the lighting in the living room and they were provided with nice baby beds as well. The lodge has a wonderful info and entertainment room with DVDs and lot of leaflets about touring in Scotland. We didn't have time to use the leisure facilities and golfing but I'm sure they must have been wonderful too. Thank you, John and Birchbrae! Can't wait to come back again sometime!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaravanaKumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A fabulous find !
Four of us spent 3 nights at Birchbrae and were very impressed , the standard of facilities was excellent , modern , clean , well laid out and decorated with really everything you could want. Very good location for walks and trips to Fort William , Skye etc .
Definitely would not hesitate to recommend .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Second time to the lodges and we were not disappointed. Lodges are spacious and have been updated since we last stayed in them 7 years ago.
Walk down too the Corran Ferry and a walk round to Inchree for fantastic food.
We took advantage of the leisure facilities which were fantastic.

Room Tip: Lodge 2 is a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocoben2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were 7 of us, 3 kids and 4 adults and had a great time at Birchbrae. Our lodge had 3 bedrooms , 2 bathrooms, living room and a kitchen. The wireless internet was great. The kitchen had everything you would want when travelling with kids (including a washing machine). Fort William was only 5-6 miles from Birchbrae. If you have your own transportation this place will be a great option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pkalathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We got this lodge for a snip through a deal. We were in lodge 1, there was room for 6 people as there was 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. the lounge was big and we also had a dining table. In the kitchen were all the mod cons you need including dishwasher and washing machine. You are right next to a forest and i believe plenty of wildlife but we didn't spot any apart from a roe deer on the first night. There are red squirrels and pine martins in the area, just keep your eyes peeled. The corn ferry is across the road with regular crossings to ardour and foot passengers go free, we went to go to the ardour hotel for lunch but it didn't open until 4pm (that annoys me, what impression does that leave on our tourists).
We will definitely be back here.
Oh i forgot to mention all the board games and extensive collection of dvds available, outstanding

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in Lodge 2 at Birchbrae with friends last weekend. The lodges are simply wonderful , spotlessly clean and with every amenity you could wish for. They are also maintained to a very high standard with quality furnishings but at the same time are cosy and welcoming. The communication with the owner John was fantastic , every question i asked he answered promptly .Much better choice than a hotel stay in the area. The area itself is beautiful with lovely walks and stunning scenery , we couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable weekend. We look forward to a return visit to Birchbrae in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SandsL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 30 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
9.1 mi away
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
#7 of 30 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges

Property: Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges
Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchbrae Self Catering Hotel Fort William
Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing