We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squirrels, rain and gorgeous scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchbrae Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Although I am writing this review nearly 3 years after I went here (i believe the properties may also have changed owers by now as well), but i just thought i would write a quick review...

Lovely, clean property which was well equipped. Good walking and scenery (although we did go in Dec and this was our first time to Scotland, we got caught out by the lovely rainy weather!). I would recommend avoiding December as everything is mainly closed in Fort William and the weather isnt that great. This property is ideally suited to reach most areas, we went to Oban, Inverness, Fort William, Glen Coe Visiters centre and visited a hydro-electricty place which was great!

We went to Scotland last year in October (and drove past Birchbrae - happy memories) and the weather was much much better, sunny, crisp and cold.

Great place, would highly recommend and would stay again (but not in December!).

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2009

We stayed for five nights in May. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped with three bedrooms and two baths. Our unit even had a washer/dryer. Everthing was provided as described on the website and we would recommend Birchbrae to anyone who would like a lovely, quiet stay in the country.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbppat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Due to building a house at the same time as our wedding, we opted for a short break away to Birchbrae to relax after the wedding... sort of a mini honey moon.

We stayed at Lodge 6 at Birchbrae. We were not disappointed with the lodge which was spotlessly clean, warm and inviting. The lodge owner was on hand via text message or phone call to sort out the only problem we had - a broken fuse to operate the oven which he sorted in less than 5 minutes.

The location was good, a very quiet area just off the main road.

We were a little disappointed with the walks close to the lodge the road to the lodge and further on from the lodge is a little poor, and the 3 walks we tried as described on the website either took us to a dead end or made us walk along the main road. We tried to walk down to the lochside via Bunree as described on the website but could not find a way down without walking through someones garden or a field with an angry bull in it! This was a very minor issue however.

As described on the website there was wireless internet access in the lodge which we accessed via a laptop. This worked without problem for the entire week.

We did see the red squirrel too the very first day at the lodge as we arrived!

One thing we would suggest is taking your own towels despite the website saying they will provide. They do provide 2 body towels and 2 hand towels, but they do not like you washing the towels... I'm not sure what we were meant to do for the whole week (reuse the dirty towels?). We really should have bought new towels at Morrisons in Fort William to do us for the rest of week but we forgot, so we felt we had to wash the towels which the owner questioned after we left the lodge. We have not received a bill for the towels yet, so I think he may have let us off with this grevious offence!

Overall we would highly recomment Birchbrae.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colourjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Booked at the very last minute and the owner could not have been more helpful. He patiently answered all my questions and queries. Fantastic location, easily accessable. Just the right amount of lodges for a peaceful experience. First impressions were excellent. Lodge was spotlessly clean. Although it was quite cold when we arrived, we turned on the heating and by the time the kettle had boiled and the tea had been made, we were warm as toast. The "little" extras made a huge difference to this self catering experience. The website tells you that you only need bring food and personal toiletries because everything else is provided and this is true. Washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs, hand soap, towels and even toilet and kitchen roll are all ready and waiting. The kitchen has everything and more than you need. The beds were very comfortable. The wildlife on the doorstep "literally" was a real bonus. We put out the jammy toast, as advised, in the early evening and we were rewarded with a visit from a Pine Martin, who seemed quite at ease and was undaunted by the photo taking. Red Squirrels visited the peanut feeders throughout the day and these could be watched from the big comfy sofa in the Lounge. We had a marvellous 4 night break and would definitely like to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ReidclanCarnoustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Long weekend at Birchbrae was a great success. Lodges are well appointed and immaculately kept. Walk in the forest and up the Inchree Falls from the doorstep. Location gives easy access to Lochaber, Ardnamurchan (via nearby Corran Ferry) and Glencoe as well as further afield.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RRRRR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2007

Stayed in Birchbrae self catering chalets for two night had booked two chalets for my mums 80th they were excellent. We had a party of 12 age range from 15 up to 80 and everyone enjoyed it. Went to the Four Seasons for dinner on the Saturday and had a lovely meal. Will be back in the New Year and hopefully stay for longer.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank TulipScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2007

Myself, my wife, our 3 year old son and our parents have just returned from a weeks stay at this self catering accomodation. Our first impressions were that these are very well equipped cottages in a beautiful location. They were extremely clean and deceptively spacious. The location is great for nature lovers as there is plenty on offer to see including Pine Martens and Red Squirrels. Great base also for exploring the surrounding sights including Ben Nevis and Loch Ness. Also check out Isle of Mull and Aviemore which are both within easy access of this base.Overall we were more than impressed with the place and will definitely be returning in the near future. We cooked at home some nights but also tried the Ben Nevis in Fort William - not great from outside but do a great Fish and Chips in the restaurant upstairs also tried the Crannog Seafood restaurant also in Fort William which has a lovely atmosphere.

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank Cyrus0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.9 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
161 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
517 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
997 reviews
8.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 33 in Fort William
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchbrae Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchbrae Highland Lodges

Address: | Onich, Fort William PH33 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £99 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven luxury self catering Scandinavian style holiday lodges set in a peaceful and secluded woodland clearing eight miles south of Fort William in the Highlands of Scotland. Sleeping up to six people in luxurious comfort, Birchbrae is the ideal well-being self catering holiday destination whether it be to explore the Highlands, walk and climb the spectacular mountains, play golf, relax from the stresses and strains of everyday life, have a short break, ski at a choice of two resorts, spend Christmas or New Year in Scotland, watch the unique Scottish wildlife, go mountain biking, go whale watching, visit the beautiful Inner Hebrides or just have a cosy Winter break. All of these are possible at Birchbrae luxury self catering lodges in Scotland. The lodges all have three bedrooms with two bathrooms. The kitchens are fully fitted and the large lounges have comfy furniture and a surround sound home cinema TV system. A DVD and CD library is provided. Outside, you can sit or dine on the ver ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Birchbrae Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchbrae Self Catering Hotel Fort William
Birchbrae Highland Lodges Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing