We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Strict host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #38 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A very Strict host”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location wise this little B&B is excellent. It is just a 5 mins stroll to the little town of small shops and restuarants. Its a quint little town that is slow and easy going.

There are only 3 rooms in this little establishment and it is worth it to pay the extras for the best room. It overlooks the beautiful Ardlinnhe River from the room. The breakfast room downstairs is also beautiful. Everything is clean and very very warm.

However, do note that the host - Pamela is not always the friendliest lady in town. She is not exactly very accommodating and err....can be alittle temperamental at times. So sometimes it does make us feel like she is not exactly very keen to answer our questions and not that enthusiastic about having us around. We noticed another couple from New Zealand whom had ordered something for breakfast but didn't exactly like what was served and was sarcastically told off. Obviously the rest of us just shut up.

The place is great, the rooms are beautiful and clean. I wont skip this place and will return but definitely wont be talking much. If I am not wrong, there are some other reviews that had people having the same problem. its not a huge problem but its like a little flaw. Just a small one. The fact that your host is not exactly loving does make a difference because that's what B&B is different from the larger establishments, its about human touch. And Ardlinnhe needs to work on that, with sincerity and true lovingness for their guests.

Room Tip: pay the top dollar for the room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Singapoorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    26
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We drove into Fort William shortly after arriving here, not realizing that the town center was in very easy walking distance. Restaurants, pubs, banks, shops, and a tourist information center were all quite convenient. The room was comfortable and the breakfast very good. Pam and Ray even let us leave our car parked there after we had checked out, since we were taking a round-trip train ride that day and it was much better than parking the car at the train station all day with all of our belongings in it. We appreciated this very much, as we did the offer to loan us an umbrella (wish we’d taken them up on that one!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wonderful B&B in fantastic location. Warm and welcoming hosts, excellent room overlooking the Loch and scrumptious breakfast. Short walk to the centre of the town and restaurants. A nice day trip to Isle of Skye is easily done from here. My brother recommended this B&B to me and I have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ardlinnhe is probably the best B&B my wife and I have ever stayed in during more than 20 years travelling experience.

Warm, friendly and welcoming from the very start. Beautifully clean; excellent breakfasts with splendid views over Loch Linnhe.

We would have no hesitation in booking here again either if passing through, or for a longer stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_musician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A warm, welcoming stay here. Short drive to mountain and short walk to centre. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area (recommending a local garage to fix my punctured tyre!) The weather couldn't have been better so views from the breakfast area were lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The place was very well run. Very nice owners, clean rooms and very good breakfast. They had the best Orange Juice I had on the trip and us Floridians know their Orange Juice. Anyway will stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldsteel1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my friend from Australia and mentioned before arriving that we might need more blankets for her as she gets cold here!! Well they had heating on full pelt for her and big thick duvets!! I was melted but she was very happy!!! Great welcome. Lovely room and nice breakfast overlooking the loch!! They do go the extra mile for you!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kagsie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#17 of 111 in Fort William
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
#56 of 111 in Fort William
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Leasona Bed & Breakfast
Leasona Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 5 in Torlundy
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
472 reviews
4.0 mi away
Highwinds Bed and Breakfast
Highwinds Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 111 in Fort William
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlinnhe Guest House

Property: Ardlinnhe Guest House
Address: Ardlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ardlinnhe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing