We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull stay!!!!”
Review of Quaich Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quaich Cottage
Ranked #85 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We Joe and Jessie from Malta have viseted this b/b cottage last week with some friends, we are very pleased and suggest this cottage to every one who would like to have a holiday to relax. Both the house and the owners are very nice, good survise and a friendly atmosfear. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jescam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2009

This is a lovely B&B if you would like to relax in the countryside. The proprietors were very friendly, breakfast was excellent and the price very reasonable. I would recommend this spot if you are passing through.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Great Great Great B&B! Wonderful people, wonderful rooms. Stunning views! Everything was just perfect.
Breakfast: really good, especially the fruit platter.
Some reading reviews, and go there!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julyschronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Telephone booking completed with no hassle. Concise direction given over the phone.
On arrival a very clean and tidy family type house, with a very warm welcome, and freesh tea and coffee offered as soon as we were in the door.
Room well equipped for a relaxing comfortable visit.
Breakfast very good and wholesome served round a big family table. Good chat with other guests and proprieter.
Views from location absoluely stunning and very easy access to all local amenties and services.

Definitely a must visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macphersonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I stayed here with my Dad and Uncle (both in their 80s), my cousin and his wife.

Positives: Fabulous views of Ben Nevis from every bedroom, warm welcome by Val and Ian.

Negatives: After booking 3 double en-suite rooms months ago in July, we arrived to find only 2 en-suite rooms - my room had a dedicated bathroom next to it, but access could be seen by the owners sitting in their living room. No discount was offered for this inconvenience.
None of the bedrooms had a lock.
The house is fairly modern, and sound is easily heard between the rooms. My Dad was in the bedroom above me and I could hear every word!
One large table is used for all of the guests at breakfast.
Stodgy porridge (with a hair in it), breakfast OK but not great.

Overall opnion: Quaich Cottage is more like staying in someones own home, not a professional B&B or guest house. This may appeal to some, but not me.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank J-Jo-Designs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardinerFortWilliam, Owner at Quaich Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2009

The rooms which were booked on 2nd August 2008 were 1 double 1 twin and 1 single. The cost of the single (double room for single occupancy) was £40 not £50 as stated in the review. The location of the bedroom & bathroom are adjacient at the end of a corridor with the bathroom for sole use. This room is only used if we have more than one guest requiring single accommodation. The lounge ( for guest use) is at the other end of the corridor and we are at pains to make sure the occasional use of this room does not impinge on the privacy of guests. Sound does carry when doors are left open & TV sound is on high volume!. We always ask if guests have enjoyed breakfast, no adverse comment was made so we did not have a chance to rectify the situation or apologise. We welcome guests to our home and try to offer a truly Highland Welcome. If we got it wrong on this occasion we apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Booked Quaich Cottage by e-mail and telephone. Friendly response to queries. Stunning location and owners very relaxed and welcoming, offered tea and coffee in the lounge in the company of Val on arrival. Suggestions given re eating places locally. Lovely clean rooms overlooking Ben Nevis and breakfast is wonderful. Could not fault anything and value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noel031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Right off the bat, if you are going to Fort William in Scotland you need to plan on staying there at least four days. The landscape is stunning. On to the review. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Quaich Cottage. The rooms/bathrooms were clean with plenty of space. The views were outstanding. What really makes Quaich Cottage special are the owners Ian and Val. From the moment you walk in the door you feel like you are part of there family. They are very helpful and have excellent recommendations for things to do in the Fort William area. The breakfast was delicious. We plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Replevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quaich Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quaich Cottage

Address: Upper Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Quaich Cottage Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing