We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing worth the money ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacobite Steam Train

Jacobite Steam Train
Book In Advance
Top Rated
More Info
US$492.46*
and up
3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Independent Train Operating Company - along some of the UKs most famous and beautiful routes inc, The Jacobite "The greatest railway journey in the world". Travel along the Glenfinnan Viaduct to see the most beautiful scenery.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing worth the money ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

What can I say you will
See mixed reviews people saying
Too expensive we booked online in advance and it was well worth it - what a way to see the beautiful countryside and meet new people very enjoyable ride amazing views and allows you all to enjoy an outing together - drinks fairly priced on the train too- guard fab informing you all that the viaduct where part of Harry Potter was filmed so you can prepare for some photos - so glad we did this trip and would do it again too !!!

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    577
    236
    104
    54
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2015

Bit of a rainy day but still had amazing views! Seats were comfy and staff were pleasant.
Hadn't expected the "Afternoon Tea" to be worth the money but was still disappointed. I'd recommend bringing your own sandwiches! Also, I know it isn't the actual Hogwarts Express but a chocolate frog or some jelly beans on the trolley would have been a nice touch!
Overall, my boyfriend and I had a lovely day, took some great pictures, and went on a nice boat trip during the stop in Mallaig, recommended by the Jacobite.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahcf94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2015

Whilst on a group coach tour of the area, we were booked on the "Jacobite " Steam railway. What a truly wonderful day. Weather perfect, just what we wanted.
As rail enthusiasts, my friend and I were overjoyed at the whole experience..
The carriages on the train were clean/comfortable despite being fairly old. Their condition was first class, and had plenty of character.The loco on duty was one we had not ridden behind before, and worked hard to Mallaig and on the return.. Plenty of chances to take photographs, both from the windows and at the stations visited.
Train stops at Glenfinnin Station on way to Mallaig, chance to take a look at the small but interesting museum.
The scenery is spectacular, and well worth the cost of the fare. Would recommend the return journey.
Staff very informative, and patient. Footplate crew, very obliging for photographs etc.
Shall return before long.

Nigel Dallison
Anglesey N.Wales

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2015

We had seats in one of the traditional "Harry Potter" type carriages which was fun. The scenery from the train is beautiful and it all ran to time. On arrival in Mallaig we took a boat trip for an hour which left us time to pick up sandwiches for lunch before boarding the train for the return trip. It is possible to book afternoon tea on the train, however, on seeing what was offered I felt this was over priced for what it is. In the first class carriages complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits was offered on both journeys.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Morag W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun excursion on historic train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2015

I reserved a table for two in the first class coach for us, but was a bit dismayed upon realizing that we would be on the same side of the train on both legs of the excursion, therefore the same views from the window. I realize they can't "turn the train around", but it would be nice if there were a way to have passengers switch sides on the return. The best views were on the side with the tables for four. Otherwise, the trip was enjoyable and a break from driving around this beautiful country. The train is lovely and seems very well cared for.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank VItraveler242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacobite Steam Train also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Jacobite Steam Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing