We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the best moment of my whole trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacobite Steam Train

Jacobite Steam Train
Book In Advance
Top Rated
More Info
US$492.46*
and up
3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Independent Train Operating Company - along some of the UKs most famous and beautiful routes inc, The Jacobite "The greatest railway journey in the world". Travel along the Glenfinnan Viaduct to see the most beautiful scenery.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“One of the best moment of my whole trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2015

I did not expect such an experience.

First of all, we paid for the VIP (well worth it) and on the ride out, we were - as well - disappointed with the lack of Harry Potter info.

There is a (TOTAL) upswing:
1) This is not a "Harry Potter Attraction." It's a "train enthusiast" attraction. It's one of the very few steam trains that still run. Many of the employees are volunteers, just to have the opportunity to operate a steam train. Any references/locations are incumbent on the passenger to research as they aren't "tour guides."

2) The little town you visit is quaint and has it's own personality.

3) On the way out, they did NOT warn us about the upcoming viaduct. You have to be prepared for it, and get a good window, as only one side has the best view. Paying for VIP was totally worth it.

4) I understand they are booked all the way through to next June! So plan (months) ahead! Buy your tickets ASAP.

THE BEST FOR LAST
5) We're pretty friendly and chatty people and spoke to the souvenir person, the woman running the cart, everybody ... and they were SO GREAT! We had them sign our book at the end. We even were able to talk to the gentleman who shoveled the coal! (total highlight) The engineer was so amazing. He even spoke to me about how he started on the Jacobite ... I would totally ride it again.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    577
    236
    104
    54
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2015

Was given tickets for this trip as a present. Really enjoyed the journey, and a rare sunny September day helped to make the scenery even more spectacular. I agree with other reviewers that the carriages are in need of a face lift but I didn't go on the trip to look at the carriages. The lack of any references to Harry Potter didn't bother me as I took the trip to enjoy the scenery and also the nostalgia of a steam train journey - soot and all!

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Grovygranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you like steam, you'll enjoy this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2015

This is a real must for steam buffs and those who like to admire Scottish scenery. Although I had already booked a seat there appeared to be some seats available on the day. By not pre-booking you can try to take advantage of any good weather that might be available. The short stop along the route at Glenfinnan gives the opportunity to stretch the legs and get a dring and snack at the Glenfinnan railway restaurant car. There's a couple of hours layover at Mallaig when it's possible to take a short harbour cruise. Very reasonably priced and well worth the money, although some younger children did appear to get restless during the trip.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank 2800trucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2015

Lovely train with steam engine. We travelled first class and it was worth the extra money. It was a lovely day and the views were spectacular.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2015

We booked our tickets before we left home to visit Oban. The trip on the steam train was to be the highlight of the week as we are both Harry Potter fans.

We had expected some references to H P but not so. There was no commentary so no info given. The only announcements were to do with badges on sale and a raffle.

Yes the train passes through amazing countryside but our views would have been so much better if we had gone to Mallaig by car.

The train is shabby and in need of a face lift. Very expensive and not recommended. We feel let down by the company as we had looked forward to this for years.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank 279colette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacobite Steam Train also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Jacobite Steam Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing