We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Jacobite Steam Train
from US$282.40
More Info
from US$576.91
More Info
from US$665.67
More Info
from US$665.67
More Info
Reviews (3,403)
Filter reviews
3,403 results
Traveller rating
1,898
891
357
161
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,898
891
357
161
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glenfinnan viaduct harry potter first class return journey afternoon tea high tea fish and chips hogwarts express trolley service biscuits fishing village left hand side beautiful scenery book in advance months in advance take pictures fort william station
Filter
Updating list...
1,522 - 1,527 of 3,403 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Was given tickets for this trip as a present. Really enjoyed the journey, and a rare sunny September day helped to make the scenery even more spectacular. I agree with other reviewers that the carriages are in need of a face lift but I didn't go on the trip to look at the carriages. The lack of any references to Harry Potter didn't bother me as I took the trip to enjoy the scenery and also the nostalgia of a steam train journey - soot and all!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Grovygranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This is a real must for steam buffs and those who like to admire Scottish scenery. Although I had already booked a seat there appeared to be some seats available on the day. By not pre-booking you can try to take advantage of any good weather that might be available. The short stop along the route at Glenfinnan gives the opportunity to stretch the legs and get a dring and snack at the Glenfinnan railway restaurant car. There's a couple of hours layover at Mallaig when it's possible to take a short harbour cruise. Very reasonably priced and well worth the money, although some younger children did appear to get restless during the trip.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank 2800trucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Lovely train with steam engine. We travelled first class and it was worth the extra money. It was a lovely day and the views were spectacular.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We booked our tickets before we left home to visit Oban. The trip on the steam train was to be the highlight of the week as we are both Harry Potter fans.

We had expected some references to H P but not so. There was no commentary so no info given. The only announcements were to do with badges on sale and a raffle.

Yes the train passes through amazing countryside but our views would have been so much better if we had gone to Mallaig by car.

The train is shabby and in need of a face lift. Very expensive and not recommended. We feel let down by the company as we had looked forward to this for years.

Date of experience: September 2015
4  Thank 279colette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

This was a disappointment, book on line only, and at £34.00 Per adult pricey, it was set up for foreign tourists, did not feel the appeal at all, no wonder harry potter went by car, as we did, great drive, stunning scenery

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews