We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Jacobite Steam Train
from US$282.40
More Info
from US$576.91
More Info
from US$665.67
More Info
from US$665.67
More Info
Reviews (3,403)
Filter reviews
3,403 results
Traveller rating
1,898
891
357
161
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,898
891
357
161
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glenfinnan viaduct harry potter first class return journey afternoon tea high tea fish and chips hogwarts express trolley service biscuits fishing village left hand side beautiful scenery book in advance months in advance take pictures fort william station
Filter
Updating list...
1,428 - 1,433 of 3,403 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2015

The train ride was beautiful! We went in October and the colours were so pretty! The first class was sold out so we did second class. I'm glad we didn't pay the extra as there wasn't a huge difference. We did pre-order the "afternoon tea" and cheese tray. DON'T! What a waste of money! It's a dry sandwich, a piece of dry fruit cake,and a dry scone that is wrapped in plastic and sitting in a box. Your tea is just a paper cup. The cheese tray was 4 tiny pieces of 2 flavours of cheese, some oatmeal crackers and grapes again in plastic and sitting in a box. It was all very disappointing as we were excited to have tea on the train. Turns out you can save a lot of money by just buying a cup of tea and a snack off the trolley .
The town is quaint and I'm sure you could get a lovely meal there! Take a walk down along the water too! Not too much else to do, there are a couple of shops.
The train ride was very nice and you got to see the beautiful countryside just don't get sucked into the idea of being fancy with high tea and scones.

Date of experience: October 2015
4  Thank Shanie1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Despite the price, 4 and a half hours on a steam train for £34 each didn't seem so bad. Couple that with a good meal in Mallaig and it made for a great day. Glenfinnan Viaduct is the main attraction for Harry Potter fans but the scenery on the trip is all fantastic. If you can afford the price them I would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank sejambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

This site is very popular, so be sure to book your passage in advance. A couple of things to note...if you are expecting a distinct "Harry Potter" experience, you will be disappointed. This train and it's various engines were used in the movies; and certain sites, like the Glenfinnan Viaduct, were part of filming. If you're okay with that being the extent of the "Harry Potter" aspect of the experience, then by all means proceed. We opted for the basic fare and were in car E. You will be seated at a table across from others and there are no included perks, though a trolley does come through with munchies, or you can go to the cafe car. We did not purchase food, so have no comment on quality of food. They have other levels of service including afternoon tea, and we did see some with what looked like champagne, so inquire about these things when you book, if it's important to you. This is a wonderful, relaxing trip with terrific views in a unique setting. It was a great break for us, since my husband had been driving for days and it gave him a chance to gawk. You are able to get up and move around and we recommend that when it comes time to go over the Glenfinnan Viaduct that you make your way to one of the door windows if taking some really good photos is important to you. Some of the other reviews express disappointment in Mallaig, which is the end point of the trip. Just keep in mind that this is a transit spot, for ferries and the train, so it doesn't have a lot of interest in itself, but there are plenty of eating spots and a great bakery down to the right as you come out of the train station on to the main street. Keep walking to your right past some shops and all the way around the corner on the left overlooking the little harbor, there's a bakery in the back next to a round building. They have freshly baked goods and coffee. You have plenty of time to walk around and find a bite to eat before the return trip to Fort William.

Date of experience: October 2015
6  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

A great ride if you like steam trains and amazing Scottish countryside.
Carriage that we were in was fairly clean. Price for the 1.5hour trip just about fair with a senior reduction. Lots of stuff to see on the way, locos to be restored, rolling stock and one really old carriage, looked to be made from wood!!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

We booked this mainly for my 15-year old son, as he likes Harry Potter, but LOVES trains. This was the perfect outing. We booked first class, and it is definitely worth the extra money. First class is not crowded, there are tables and comfortable wing-back style chairs (note that seats are assigned, in case a window view is important to you). We had tea and cookies and when the snack trolley came through the lady pushing it was very friendly and informative. The conductor also was a gem, pointing out things we would have missed (such as the island used in Harry Potter for Dumbledores grave and several other geographical points). The views were beautiful and the trip relaxing. We had tea at a tea room in Mallaig which was recommended by the train staff (one of several good tips). I am puzzled by some of the poor reviews I see. The staff was more than accommodating, we had no trouble with the views, and everyone in our car were switching up seats to get good views and photos. We made several new friends that day and swapped contact info and hospitality invitations for our respective countries. This was one of my best family memories, and the one thing everyone wants to do again if we visit Scotland again.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank AMMCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews