We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mini holiday for 1”
Review of Berkeley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkeley House
Ranked #44 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mini holiday for 1”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I came to Fort William on a mini holiday for my birthday and stayed at Berkeley House as it was close to the train station. On arrival, Norrie greeted me warmly and showed me to my room. he also asked what I would like for breakfast and what time I wanted it. When I wanted to change the time for the second morning, I just mentioned it and there was no problem. The room was a small double but was still quite spacious. There was tea/ coffee, tv and a en-suite with a shower which was easy to use and towels to use, which was good as I hadn't planned on having a shower but the weather was so hot it was needed. Breakfast was one of the best I've had when staying in a hotel or b'n'b. Cereals on the sideboard to help yourself to, tea or coffee and toast to the table, OJ on the table and (my choice) full breakfast of 2 bacon, sausage, egg, beans and tomato. it was delicious.
When it came to the day I left, my train was later in the morning but I was allowed to leave my bags at the house while I did a little last minute shopping.

All in all, a fantastic place to base my holiday from and I would recommend it to anyone.

Thanks for looking after me Norrie and May.

Lucinda, Walsall

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucinda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here on our final night of our walking holiday and were met with a warm greeting, warm room and friendly staff who took our very wet clothing and bags to dry them out for us. We enjoyed a good nights sleep and a plentiful freshly cooked breakfast the following morning. Our bags were taken to the room for us and we left them the following morning whilst taking a look around Fort William. A good stay overall

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights last weekend. Weather was atrocious, but the warm welcome extended by Norrie and May certainly helped keep our spirits up. Accommodation and breakfast were second to none. Train/bus stations and town centre within walking distance. Would certainly stay here again. Tom and Catherine, Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We had the small flat attached to the house, which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomdcampbelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This marked the end of our West Highland Way walk and it was good to note its position as we passed it en-route to the very end and realised we wouldn't have far to come back !! Even more fortunate as we fell in with people we had met along the way and celebrated our achievement in the pub at the end !!
Norrie was very welcoming and friendly throughout our 2 night stay. The room was large enough for our stuff, the bathroom clean with a good shower and breakfast was the traditional full-cooked event - no more of those when we get home !!
A good place to stay at the end of a great Walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had been on the road all day from Edinburgh with the Highland Experience Tour, and didn't know where our B&B was before we arrive. We had a warm welcome, and sweet Norris took his time to take our breakfast orders, showed us a trick with the window and recommanded a place to eat dinner. Rooms were big and we slept like babies in comfortable beds. I would recommand this B&B to everyone that visits Fort William.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Losoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I and my friends stayed here this hotel was very clean the rooms are well decorated the breakfast was of good quality parking is available we would definitely go again the owners were friendly close to ammenaties

Room Tip: The owner may was very nice we had choice of rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Would recommend this B&B as a great place to stop either before starting the Great Glen Way or after finishing the West Highland Way. Clean and comfortable room, friendly welcome, tasty (and hearty!) breakfast. Really good B&B

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fr8n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
6 Caberfeidh
6 Caberfeidh
#48 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley House

Property: Berkeley House
Address: Berkeley House Belford Road | Inverness-Shire, Fort William PH33 6BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Berkeley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley House Hotel Fort William
Berkeley House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing