We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkeley House
Ranked #39 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed here in July 2009. This was our first time to Scotland but not our first stay in a b&b. The hosts were amazing. They were very helpful by informing us of all the hot tourist spots to hit. Breakfast was perfect, everything was hot and fresh. We were worried about road noise but in the end it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorso123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Berkely House in 1999 while staying in Fort Wlliam for the weekend for my 40th Birthday. we stayed a total of Three days.. the breakfast was fantastic.. Norrie wow I forgot the fellas name until I glanced at the website he was so friendly. I told him we came all the way from Alaska and my daughters name happens to be Heather, Norrie thought that was so wonderful.. he made our stay very welcoming he even packed a lunch for us for the train ride back to Yorkshire... I would like to go back someday. I left my heart in Fort Willam what a beautiful place...

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskancowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed overnight here and couldn't fault it. The staff were helpful, room was good and the breakfast was great. I would recommend this b&b to anyone. It's located just a short walk into the town centre ( 2 mins). All in all a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
438 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed here on our final night of walking WHW. The room was small but had a comfortable bed. The water pressure in the shower was v. good which I always appreciate. We were leaving early to catch a bus to Inverness and our host kindly made us a packed lunch in lieu of our breakfast. She volunteered this which was appreciated. Very easy walk to train, bus, and into "town" for dinner, shopping, pubs. Our luggage arrived late in the afternoon and they heaved it upstairs for us (it was heavy!!!) as we were out supporting the local economy. We were not bothered by noise but we always travel with ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed with friends before climbing Ben Nevis. Very friendly and clean central location. Would certainly recommend. Lovely breakfast - including the beans.
Ps - got to the summit - just!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD85HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed here on last night of West Highland Way walk. The owner was friendly and helpful and room perfectly comfortable. Only issue was the noise from the traffic on the main road. It was a warm night so we had to leave the windows open which won't have helped with the noise. Otherwise no complains. Short walk to the centre for celebratory dinner and drinks, good breakfast, owners dried boots for us!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bidean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maniago, Friuli, Italy
Level Contributor
196 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

When we arrived in Fort William (a lot of traffic by car, beware) it was cold and about to rain, so we really didn't felt we wanted to pitch our tent.

Looking around a bit in downtown B&Bs, the best value seemed to be at the Berkeley, where we got a room at the top floor with nice views for just GBP 29 per person, including a big and good breakfast.

The room was great and spacious enough, as was the bathroom. Everything was very clean and well kept. The owner was very friendly.

If you walk half a kilometre down the road in the North direction there's a good swimming pool, which is just great for a bit of relax when it rains.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lordarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley House

Property: Berkeley House
Address: Berkeley House Belford Road | Inverness-Shire, Fort William PH33 6BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Berkeley House Hotel Fort William
Berkeley House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing