We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Andrews Guest House
Ranked #36 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Fantastic building full of character. Hosts are very welcoming and friendly. Bed was comfy, room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was perfect with a large variety on offer. location is excellent, and provides a nice view over the loch at breakfast. great value for money. Loses a star due to some mould in the bathroom, if this was sorted, and the big old roof beams were sanded down, this place would be perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jammiecowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Situated no more than 5 mins walk from the railway station and bus/coach stands,this delightful house offers excellent service in beautiful surroundings. The property is an old church rectory so is full of charm and character and has been restored/renovated to a very high standard whilst still retaining bags of its original features. The house overlooks the harbour at the entrance to the lock with mountains as a backdrop and is a wonderful view to be greeted by each morning.The proprieters are charming,friendly and welcoming and full of information about attractions both locally and throughout Scotland.The bedrooms are clean,well decorated and the breakfasts are excellent.There is a lovely guests lounge available and the house is surrounded by magnificent gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAULNO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Phoned up and booked when we arrived in Fort William, Sheena was very friendly and welcoming. Showed us to a quiet room (no.1) at the back which was fine. Standard size double bed was cosy. Bathroom a bit on cold side as no heating but bedroom was warm enough. Very quiet location and lovely building. Breakfast was excellent.
If i had to fault anything then:
1. TV needs aerial sorting out as an indoor aerial dangling out of the window just doesn't work!
2. Shower head clamp needs replacing, not just bodging with a bit of string!

These are very minor faults which would not put me off staying again as we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

It was getting late and we hadn't booked, so I prepared for rejection as I negotiated the steep driveway of St Andrew's Guest House; happily, our hosts had rooms available for the four of us (two adults and two kids) and we made the most of them, as well as the en-suite and the shared bathroom. The house itself is magnificent, and being set quite high on a hill behind the town (a very short walk from the Centre) has superb views across the loch. Our rooms were spacious, quiet, well-heated and very clean, with very comfortable beds; breakfast (haggis, black pudding, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, cereals, fruit juices, coffee, tea ...) was voluminous and extremely delicious. Our hosts were as friendly and helpful as you could wish for. At 100 pounds for two rooms and breakfast, this B&B was great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campbell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Don't get me wrong, you can see that the owners do their best for upkeep and maintenance of St. Andrews. However, it's just too massive a place for two people alone. That said, it was still a nice enough stay.

The interior is a bit on the tired, awkward and mismatched side, but clean, comfortable, quiet and not lacking in any of the basic amenities.

It's located up on the hill, away from the hustle and bustle of the high street, but still close enough that you can walk to everything. Also nice is how close it is to the Fort William bus/train station.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but nor was it a bad experience. The owners are quiet and on the more reserved side, but by all means most helpful and engaging in their subtle manner. And again, all of our needs were met.

If you don't expect some grand stay in Fort William, you cannot go wrong with St. Andrews Guest House.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyburdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

St. Andrews guest house is located in the heart of Fort William.
Spacious, clean ensuite double rooms and very good breakfast. Free wifi in the lobby for guests use.
Nice view to the loch. Owners are very helpful in suggesting Ben Nevis or Glen Nevis trekking.
Do not miss Glen Nevis waterfall and suspended bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vialactea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at St Andrews for two nights at the end of August 2011 and found it to be a lovely and extremely well-run B&B. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfasts delicious and plentiful. The couple who run the accomodation are very friendly and obliging. I would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.9 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 2 in Corpach
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
7.2 mi away
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
#1 of 1 in Kinlocheil
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#2 of 111 in Fort William
510 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cuilcheanna House
Cuilcheanna House
#30 of 111 in Fort William
189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#3 of 111 in Fort William
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Guest House

Address: Fassifern Road, Fort William PH33 6BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing